Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Leg of Lamb for the Slow Cooker / Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leg of Lamb for the Slow Cooker / Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2009

      THANK YOU for a delicious meal that was no fuss no muss. I must say I have never done lamb in a crock and was a bit nervous. Not anymore! I will do this recvipe often as it came out so temder and juicy. No dry spots anywhere! My DH is is not really a lamb eater but married a Greek so eats it, said it is delicious! He had 2 helpings then I told him what it was. He could not believe it. He said it tasted different. I did not use mint as I usually do and because it was fall off thebone and he did not know I believe tricked him. I did take a bit of license in that I did not use soy but used home made beef stock instead. Came out great. I also added in carrots, sliced lengthwise and a few potatoes to sit the lamb on. I did add in a 1/4 c of lemon as well. The taters soaked up the lemon flavor just right. Served with Vrasta Fasolakia Freska . We had a little bit of Greece here tonight . Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      A leg of lamb is a real treat for us as it's so expensive here (even though I live in a country that has 10 times as many sheep as people!!) But it had been so long since we had a nice Sunday roast and I decided to make this recipe. I used chicken stock and ordinary soy sauce, it wasnt too salty and turned out perfect. Very tasty and we all loved it.
      Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      I'm one of those people who hate lamb.... I don't understand how someone would not know that they were eating lamb.... This recipe doesn't change that fact. However, my husband and daughter love lamb. This recipe is the best. It's quick and easy to prepare. After dinner last night where they stuffed themselves and raved about the dish, my daughter colored in the five star rating at the bottom of the recipe. She specifically requested it for today's lunch. I made about a half recipe. I added 1/2 onion, 1 carrot and 1 parsnip all peeled and cut up and sauteed slightly. I also didn't bother to stuff the roast with the garlic or rosemary and instead just tossed them in the crock pot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      You couldn't ask for a more tender roast; it cut like soft butter after only 6 hours in the crockpot. Chef floWer is right...watch out for the juices...it really tastes salty. I made some gravy from the dark rich broth, but didn't care for it since it was so salty. Next time I will skip the soy sauce, even the reduced sodium. Otherwise the lamb was flavorful and we enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      Finally a crockpot roast where DH enjoyed not just the meat but the gravy made from the juices. I ended up with 5 cups (put one cup full in the freezer to solidify the fat and made gravy with the liquid (very nice) the other four cups will be the bases for a soup. Thank Chef floWer for a keeper. Made for Please Review my Recipe tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      This is such a flavorful and simple way to prepare leg of lamb. The meat is juicy and very tender. I served this with Carrots & Potatoes Roasted w/ Onion and Garlic and some mint jelly and crusty rolls for the perfect meal. I will definitely make this again! Thank you, Chef floWer! I had to edit my review because the second night of this succulent lamb deserved no less than a complete 5 star review : ) Thanks again, Chef floWer!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      This was the first time I have cooked lamb in the crock pot. I used a small 1 kg rolled lamb roast and it has cooked very nicely and is very moist, just falling apart. It took about 7 hours and was very enjoyable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I used a small (0.4kg) boneless joint and cooked it on low overnight. I didn't salt the meat, but did use regular soy sauce. I also didn't bother inserting the garlic and rosemary- just crushed a couple of garlic cloves and added that directly to the slow cooker, along with a couple of sprigs of fresh rosemary and thyme. Everything else was as described.
      I found that the meat was excellent. Super moist and tasty. I made the liquid into a gravy, but I didn't much like how it turned out- too salty and the lamb flavour was very overpowering. If I were to make this again, I wouldn't bother with the gravy at all, and just serve a mint sauce. The meat is juicy enough that it doesn't really need a sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      My husband and toddler loved this! It is so easy to put together, I was done in less than 5 minutes! I didn't add salt and I used chicken stock because thats what I had. I have also made this in the pressure cooker and it was done in 50 mins (My husband likes the meat very soft). Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Awesome lamb! I used a considerably smaller boneless leg because I was only cooking for 2 people and over 5 lb. seemed excessive. I kept the liquid amount the same, however, to make sure it didn't dry out since I was going to be at work all day and it would be in the cooker for 9-ish hours. I used regular sodium soy sauce and stock without adding any extra salt and we didn't find it to be overly salty. I will definitely be making this again. It was so easy and tasty! Thanks floWer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      This is a great way to cook a leg of lamb without turning the oven on. It also left us with a fabulous stock to use in other recipes and a great gravy base. I cooked a 2 1/2 kilo leg in my Breville slowcooker for 7 hours and if it had cooked for any longer it may have turned out a bit dry. It was the perfect cooking time for me. Served with Smashed Potatoes, Roasted Brussels Sprouts! and Vrasta Fasolakia Freska for a wonderful Sunday night dinner. Thanks for posting Chef floWer :) Edited to add that tonight we had the leftovers in Shepherd's Pie using the stock as the gravy base, fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leg of Lamb for the Slow Cooker / Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (434 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 887.3
     
    Calories from Fat 546
    61%
    Total Fat 60.7 g
    93%
    Saturated Fat 24.8 g
    124%
    Cholesterol 279.1 mg
    93%
    Sodium 592.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 78.1 g
    156%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites