Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Lemon Slice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Slice

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2010

      yummo! have made this a few times,but i have found the top of the slice tasted floury and was firm.Made it again yesterday and only put in a couple tbs of sr flour into the lemon mix and it turned out simillar to lemon curd with a thin crust on top.....excellent! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Awsome I have also tried it with gluten free flour mix and it was just the same so heaps of brownie points scored for me when the mother in law could enjoy it with us for supper.Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      After solving a little confusion over measurements -- fluid ounces versus ounces of weight in the conversion from metric -- this came together beautifully, set up properly, and tastes wonderful. Handles like a cookie (biscuit) because the jelly-like lemon topping is covered with just the slightest crust. Made for the OZ/NZ Swap #22.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      This slice is quick and easy and really tasty. i add about 1/2 cup of coconut to the topping and it tastes delish. i have made this several times and it never lasts more then 24hrs, everyone just gobbles it up. Thanks for posting. For anyone in America making this...icing sugar is powdered sugar and caster sugar is similar to white sugar, just finer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Very good lemon slices (bars). I too used a 9 x 13 pan and they turned out fine. Definitely can tell the difference between these and the packaged mixes. Nice balance between the tartness of the lemon and the sweetness. In case anyone is not familiar with caster sugar it is the same as what we in the US call superfine sugar. This can be bought in the supermarkets or you can make your own with a food processor. Since superfine is much smaller grains of sugar, it measures differently than regular cane sugar. If you use regular cane sugar, you'll have too much sugar in the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      This is so easy to do with the food processor. I used plain sugar (and only 1 cup) instead of caster sugar. I had to add a few minutes of cooking. This is so yummy. Thanks Jewelies :) Made for I Recommend tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      I saw this recipe in the "orange and lemon game" and I had to try it. It is so yummy! Loved it!!=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I had to cook these a little longer than suggested, but that gave us plenty of time to let our dinner settle. These were a huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Very easy and extremely yummy! Thank you very much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      I had a bit of trouble with this recipe and I blame it entirely on the fact that I don't have a food processor. I followed the recipe exactly, but the base didn't come together so I had to add water and lemon juice to make it stay, which made it a little doughy. The top layer was also pretty thin but thickened up with baking. I added some coconut to thicken it up a little. It tasted delicious the first day, we could not stop eating it! It did go a bit sour the second day, I'm unsure why. I would definitely try this again if we get a food processor, and I'd use a different tin, I think mine was slightly too big.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      this was delicious. a perfect snack cake with a cup of tea, and quick and easy to prepare. cooking time was right on too. i wasn't sure of the difference between icing and caster sugars so i used confectioners sugar for both layers. i also sprinkled some on top after this cooled. i will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      Great recipe, thank you, they turned out really well, very tasty and very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      Excellent tasting and easy to make. They are tangy with a crunch. DH loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      Ive made this a few times now, its really good! I like how easy it is to make, and the fact that Ive usually got all the ingredients at hand. Very easy to whip up when the sugar cravings attack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      Delightful. Easy to make, nice texture of the shortbread crust. Amount of lemon and sweetness is just right. I made it in a 13 by 9 pan. My flour/butter/sugar mixture never formed a ball in my food processor, and I did use softened butter. But it just made a crumbly mixture. I just patted it down into the pan and it worked fine. Will definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      LOVED it. Especially DH! I made it with your recommended variation - added a handful of flaked coconut and it was absolutely scrummy! DD liked the base which was more like shortbread. I sprinkled icing sugar on top but DH wanted his with whipped cream (and he's already planned on having some with custard later this evening)! Thank you, Jewelies, for sharing your wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      mmmm one of my favorite desserts. Thank you for yummy easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      W/so many glowing reviews of this yummy recipe, I hope you do not mind that I made an slightly diff flavor version that still stayed true to the heart of your recipe. I love all things lime-flavored & can happily testify this makes a great *LIME SLICE* as well. I followed the recipe exactly (using limes) & dusted mine w/powdered sugar, but DH preferred his w/some spray variety whipped cream. We both loved it! Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      The perfect combination of sweet/tart. My butter must have been too hard because the base didn't come together in a ball until I added a little water. It worked out perfectly after that. Thanks for posting a delicious dessert treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      What a sheer delight...lemon lovers you will love this one!! The base is somewhat like shortbread whilst the middle layer similar to lemon curd and the top is a thin crisp layer. I dusted mine with a little icing sugar. Recipe Reviewed for the ZWT #3. Thanks Jules...it's a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Slice

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.4
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    33%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 59.6 mg
    19%
    Sodium 91.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 22.6 g
    90%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites