Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Lemonade Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemonade Scones

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2007

      I always make these scones the exact same way and they turn out perfectly each time. The trick is not to over mix it - use a knife to combine the ingredients until it forms a sticky ball (no dry ingredients left) in the bowl, and it is supposed to be a fairly wet sticky mess - just dump it out of the onto a well floured bench and stretch it out to the thickness with well floured hands, and make sure your cutter is well floured too. The less kneading you do, the fluffier the scones will be! The lemonade is not the lemonade we know here in US - it is the lemon-lime soda to use (eg sprite), but the cheaper the brand, the better... - no lemon flavour. It's purpose is the sweetness and fizz - a traditional scone recipe has sugar added. The cream is the substitute for the butter in a traditional recipe. Yes they are very similar to the biscuits you know here, bland-ish, but that is why they are served with jam and cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      ok this was good , i added zest and next time i would cut them into biscuit shapes cause the middle was a little wetter than i liked i added some lemon juice to my cream but i think i would add some butter to the mix , it was great with blackberry jam my friend didnt care for these ,but he doesnt like anything

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      Great recipe, thanks for posting. I'd heard of lemonade scones before but never tried to make them, always rubbing butter into the flour instead but these were so super easy to make and so much quicker. They rose superbly and tasted good though as I never had self raising flour I had to make my own and don't think I got quite the right mix as it was a little baking powder-ish. Will definitely make these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Yes, the dough was sticky, but as I was making date scones (using about a dozen cut-up dried dates), it needed a bit more moisture. I baked them in a 12-hole x 1/2 cup muffin tin at 250C fan-forced for 25 minutes. Superb!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I'm really sorry but these just didn't work for us at all. The dough was just far too sticky and although I baked it anyway, there was just not enough flavour. I was desperate to rate these hightly but I'm afraid I just can't.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      So easy and simple to make, Buy the time i finished cleaning the mess, whipped up the cream and got out the jam and butter, there were almost done. I added sultana's to mine and there were perfect! 5 Stars

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      thanks for posting such a great recipe. I remember my mum making scones with flour and cream but I couldn't for the life of me figure out what else. The lemonade must have been it. It doesn't leave a lemon taste - these are not lemon flavoured, it just helps the dough rise. Produced a sticky dough but a well floured board and cutter with very little kneading and this shouldn't be a problem. Perfect ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I was sadly disappointed by this recipe,as the idea of a lemonade flavored scone really appealed to me. I found these to be more of a rich baking powder biscuit, but rather bland and chewier in texture. The lemonade flavor did not come through at all; I even brushed some on top in hopes of having extra flavor. After seeing all the comments about having to add more flour, I just cut back on the liquids starting with a half cup of each and adding in slowly more of each until the dough was of proper consistency (I made a 2/3 recipe).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      These were really yummy, very rich tasting. Probably the cream! :) I did sub strawberry lemonade, but the flavor was so subtle, I don't think I could tell the difference. Also, I did have to work in almost a full extra cup of flour (humidity). A lovely dessert, and breakfast! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      A true winner in my book! I had never heard of making scones this way, but it really worked out very well. Loved how quick and easy it was to prepare and how delish the scones turned out. I used my own home-made self rising flour, a sugar free lemonade and reduced fat cream, which worked out super nicely. Like others I, too, had to reduce the liquid a tad to make this dough workable. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, Jessica K!
      Made and reviewed for on recommendation of Sydney Mike November 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      Outstanding scones. These are very delicious. I did find that I needed to add more flour (about 1/2 a cup!) before I could work and cut the dough. They turned out fantastic and were simply perfect with morning coffee, the lemon is clear and definite without being overpowering. I would recommend baking in the lower part of the oven if you have double layer "insulated" sheets. Thanks Jessica for a lovely warm brekkie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      Don't make scones much, but these are soooo easy & taste very nice, & they make a nice change from muffins! Although I didn't do it this first time, I'm big on zest, so the next time I make these, I MIGHT add some lemon zest as well! Thank you for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      Very easy to throw together. I wasn't sure if the lemonade was supposed to give it a noticeable lemony flavor or not. These made lovely, fluffy scones that are perfect with jam. A definite keeper. Thanks for posting, Jessica K!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      top scones so so easy and so so yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Fantastic, easy to make, in and out of the oven in no time! Mixture was a little sticky and probably absorbed 1/4 of a cup of extra flour once I turned it out. After kneading it was fine. I used thickened cream (in Australia- cream thickened with gelatine) and this was fine. I also used a smallish cutter (2 inches or so) and it made 22 scones. I'll post a photo soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      I have been making these for a few years now.....daughter gave me the recipe......and its still my favourite way to make scones. So easy. Thanks for posting for others to share.:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      This is such a simple recipe yet it produces the most wonderfully light and fluffy scones. Totally quick and easy, a great recipe to use when unexpected guests turn up.Thanks Jess for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemonade Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 280.9
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    36%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 40.7 mg
    13%
    Sodium 627.2 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes