117 Reviews

A bit tedious.... but OH so good! I had everyone eating it - even the picky eaters. And to think how nutritious each serving is. It was even better for leftovers. Now on a more personal note, I served mine with the cooked prosciutto, shredded romano cheese, and olive oil drizzled on top. Mmmm.... UPDATE!: I roasted some jalapenos, prosciutto, and garlic drizzled with evoo in the oven on 350 until just a tad bit crispy, removed, and minced. We put a dollop of the final product atop the soup and sprinkled with parmesan cheese. Our new favorite way to eat this dish!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene October 25, 2009

Wow I am surprised how good this recipe is. I've never had lentils before but thought I'd give this a go. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock, cabbage instead of spinach, a can of tomatoes instead of the fresh tomatoes and tomato paste. I sauted the onion, garlic, leek and some bacon then threw it in my slow cooker all afternoon. So easy and yummy! Mine made 10 servings and I will be making it again but leaving out the lentils and trying it with chicken or beef instead, for dietary reasons. Thanks

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newiegirl May 30, 2010

I made this not really knowing what to expect, having never eaten lentils in any form before. As soon as all the ingredients were in and simmering it started smelling really, really good! When it was fully cooked I gave some to my 7year old daughter who is unbelievably picky and she loved it. It is hard to believe it is so low in fat, because it tastes rich and buttery and good. I can't believe it is supposed to be even better tomorrow!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silverwind02 May 11, 2010

very good way to have lentils. I substituted french lentils as that is what I had. also, I sauteed the onions, celery and bell pepper first, added garlic and then began adding the vegetables. it takes time to chop and add them, but do it when you are in the mood, it is not complicated. you can add whatever vegetables you have on hand, I had a zucchini and just threw it in. we are meat eaters, so I added some chopped sausage. I used a squeeze of lemon before serving to pop the flavor. I made compost tea (recipe on this site) with the vegetable peelings to use on my plants. my family enjoyed this dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamma Mia Mamma Mia May 01, 2012

I was looking for something to accompany my protein source for dinner, and with it being so cold outside, salad wasn't appealing. Enter this most deee-lish soup! I think the hint here is to not overcook the lentils. 1 hour simmered on low, along with 8 cups of broth or liquid, resulted in a perfect soup. I too used dried herbs and added 3 bay leaves, and it's just marvelous. Zero fat, low calorie and most important: fills you up. Thank you, Caithi, for sharing this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meli1230 January 08, 2011

I made this on a cold winter day and what a great soup. The whole family loved it and it will be on our regular menu. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkevin December 18, 2010

Oh my goodness!! This was wonderful. I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could! My husband was a little hesitant when I gave him two ladles full but after just one bite he loaded his bowl up! The only changes I made were I left out the red pepper (we don't care for them) and I didn't salt it at all. It really didn't need any, in my opinion. Thanks so much for the new recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brighid November 12, 2010

Excellent recipe. I can see why friends ask you to come over to make it! I am already passing it to my friends. This soup is amazing and has taken top rank over the minestrone my DH makes. I will be making this frequently. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cajun Kitchen August 31, 2010

This soup is DELICIOUS!!! I didn't add all the veggies because I didn't have them on hand but I did add most. I also added the parsley, oregano, and basil dry instead of fresh. My boyfriend and myself both love this soup.. I made it about 3 days ago, I halved the recipe and I had to make it again today!!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christinapna May 05, 2010

Forget the meat... this is good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iknitok May 02, 2010
Lentil Soup for People Who Thought They Hated Lentils! - Meat Op