Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Lentil Soup for People Who Thought They Hated Lentils! - Meat Op Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil Soup for People Who Thought They Hated Lentils! - Meat Op

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on October 25, 2009

      A bit tedious.... but OH so good! I had everyone eating it - even the picky eaters. And to think how nutritious each serving is. It was even better for leftovers. Now on a more personal note, I served mine with the cooked prosciutto, shredded romano cheese, and olive oil drizzled on top. Mmmm.... UPDATE!: I roasted some jalapenos, prosciutto, and garlic drizzled with evoo in the oven on 350 until just a tad bit crispy, removed, and minced. We put a dollop of the final product atop the soup and sprinkled with parmesan cheese. Our new favorite way to eat this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Wow I am surprised how good this recipe is. I've never had lentils before but thought I'd give this a go. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock, cabbage instead of spinach, a can of tomatoes instead of the fresh tomatoes and tomato paste. I sauted the onion, garlic, leek and some bacon then threw it in my slow cooker all afternoon. So easy and yummy! Mine made 10 servings and I will be making it again but leaving out the lentils and trying it with chicken or beef instead, for dietary reasons. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      I made this not really knowing what to expect, having never eaten lentils in any form before. As soon as all the ingredients were in and simmering it started smelling really, really good! When it was fully cooked I gave some to my 7year old daughter who is unbelievably picky and she loved it. It is hard to believe it is so low in fat, because it tastes rich and buttery and good. I can't believe it is supposed to be even better tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      very good way to have lentils. I substituted french lentils as that is what I had. also, I sauteed the onions, celery and bell pepper first, added garlic and then began adding the vegetables. it takes time to chop and add them, but do it when you are in the mood, it is not complicated. you can add whatever vegetables you have on hand, I had a zucchini and just threw it in. we are meat eaters, so I added some chopped sausage. I used a squeeze of lemon before serving to pop the flavor. I made compost tea (recipe on this site) with the vegetable peelings to use on my plants. my family enjoyed this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I was looking for something to accompany my protein source for dinner, and with it being so cold outside, salad wasn't appealing. Enter this most deee-lish soup! I think the hint here is to not overcook the lentils. 1 hour simmered on low, along with 8 cups of broth or liquid, resulted in a perfect soup. I too used dried herbs and added 3 bay leaves, and it's just marvelous. Zero fat, low calorie and most important: fills you up. Thank you, Caithi, for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      I made this on a cold winter day and what a great soup. The whole family loved it and it will be on our regular menu. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Oh my goodness!! This was wonderful. I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could! My husband was a little hesitant when I gave him two ladles full but after just one bite he loaded his bowl up! The only changes I made were I left out the red pepper (we don't care for them) and I didn't salt it at all. It really didn't need any, in my opinion. Thanks so much for the new recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      Excellent recipe. I can see why friends ask you to come over to make it! I am already passing it to my friends. This soup is amazing and has taken top rank over the minestrone my DH makes. I will be making this frequently. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      This soup is DELICIOUS!!! I didn't add all the veggies because I didn't have them on hand but I did add most. I also added the parsley, oregano, and basil dry instead of fresh. My boyfriend and myself both love this soup.. I made it about 3 days ago, I halved the recipe and I had to make it again today!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Forget the meat... this is good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      I would give this 10 stars if I could. I have to watch salt intake so I used water instead of the broth but I still ended up with a rich, flavorful soup that tasted so sinful...very hearty. I am in LOVE with this soup and it will be in my regular rotation. The fact that it is also healthy is a bonus...thank you for posting this awesome recipe!!! Note: I added some red pepper flakes, doubled the tomato paste and subbed cayenne pepper (just a dash) as I didn't have any red peppers. PERFECTION. Can't believe I am going on and on about a bowl of SOUP...but it is truly that good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Outstanding! Made the recipe exactly as written except that I only had dried oregano. It smelled amazing after cooking so I had a sample bowl before sticking it in the fridge and it was GREAT...THEN I had it the next night for supper and it was taken to a whole nother level :) Absolutely worth the wait to let it sit overnight!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      This turned out really good! I didn't change much about the ingredients, just their preparation. I used a 6 oz bag of spinach, 8 oz sliced mushrooms, frozen green beans (chopped into 1" pieces), frozen pepper strips (left as is), and sliced the carrots and celery. I wanted a chunkier soup and this way I only had to spend time chopping a couple ingredients. I added an extra cup of chicken broth. I only cooked this for about 35 minutes after all the veggies were in because I didn't want the veggies or lentils to get too soft. I cooked it until the lentils and veggies were tender, but weren't falling apart or mushy. Oh and I used regular lentils instead of red ones because I couldn't find them. It tasted just fine, though probably not as pretty. Don't skip the parmesan, it adds a lot of flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2014

      oh, This is my NEW favorite soup! I have made this once, with brown lentils...all I had on hand...running to store today, to get red lentils...I would have NEVER thought I loved Lentils! So glad I tried this! Yum......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      A delicious soup! I didn't add a couple of vegetables. I first sauted the onion, carrots, celery, leek and garlic before adding the lentils and broth. Also, added extra fresh parsley and 1 tsp. dried basil and oregano. I added some sauted mushrooms and the spinach at the end. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      This is the best lentil soup I've ever tried - I can't take too many tomatoes and this recipe contains just a tad of tomato paste. I didn't even bother to use fresh herbs, but it was still delicious. Well worth the effort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      Yummy and versatile. I used what I had on hand. Instead if vegetable stock I used home-made lamb stock with the addition of water, extra organic garlic, organic onion, no red capsicum, carrots or celery but I did add one organic Swiss chard stock cut up, organic spinach from our weekly local organic produce basket, no tomatoes, just organic tomato paste, no leek but I put organic garlic whistles also from the CSA basket in place of the green beans which added some extra flavour, chopped zucchini instead of mushroom, organic fresh flat leaf parsley, dried oregano in a lesser amount, the fresh basil, grey sea salt, a perfect salt, a bit of home-made garlic whistle and spinach pesto made with Romano cheese, ate right when cooked with a square of organic butter on top and Cucumber Yogurt Dip With Greek Pita Chips served on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      Excellent! This is so good! Who knew something so healthy could be so good? I recently read that ONE serving of lentils per week can cut your cholesterol in HALF. I sure hope that is true:) I cut this recipe in half because I am only serving 2 people. I made it as close to the original as you possibly can when cutting ingredients in half & I did sub a few ingredients to save a trip to the store. I tasted it - Oh Yum! - But I still added a few things that would make it more to our tastes. Also I did not cook it an additional 60-90 minutes after adding the last ingredients because the lentils were already soft. I left it simmer about 5 minutes longer & served. Parmesan & hot sauce add a nice kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      Fantastic flavour and so easy. I made this by using a 19oz can of spicy tomatoes and ommitted the fresh tomato and tomato paste. As I was out of mushrooms, I left them out too, but my goodness this was good and it made so much. What a wonderful soup so packed full of flavour. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      Awesome soup that doesn't need the bacon or cheese IMO. Used kale instead of spinach, veg broth, can of tomatoes instead of fresh, and dried parsley/oregano.I left out the green beans because the soup was looking pretty full. I did leave it over night in the fridge and when I woke up this morning. . . AMAZING. I can't believe this soup is vegan, it is THAT good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil Soup for People Who Thought They Hated Lentils! - Meat Op

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.1
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    20%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 61.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    prosciutto

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites