11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love It! I did not measure out zucchini, I just grated up two medium ones, probably closer to 3 cups. I subbed the bacon for carrot, omitted the cheese and added salt, fresh ground pepper. I also grated the onion, baked at 175C. I also used self raising flour so I left out the baking powder.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'lotl-love April 22, 2010

Made this for dinner last night and both hubby and little miss DD ate it all up. I was so happy to see that only a smidge of oil is needed as all the other similar recipes to this have a tonne of oil added. I used half zucchini, half carrot and ended up using 4 eggs. I also used wholemeal SR flour so left out the baking soda and grated my onion rather than diced. I topped mine with some tomato slices for a bit of decoration. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** March 17, 2010

It was great to find a low-fat zucchini slice recipe; the one I currently uses a large amount of oil. Cooked wonderfully and tastes great. Thanks for a healthy alternative!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Hungry Mouse January 04, 2010

This recipe should have more than 5 stars!!! I needed a recipe to handle "bumper crop" but I didn't want an overload with calories and carbs. You have a "Winner"! I thin sliced the zucchni and used dry chorizo. (I know bacon or ham will work) I added 2 minced jalapenos peppers, (regular peppers would work.) I added 1/4 C (packed) of my dried tomatoes and 1tsp of Baking Powder. I put it in a 9x13 in. pan and baked for 30 min. The taste and tecture were awsome! Thank you Marli for a "Keeper"!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsygal August 29, 2009

Delicious. So easy to make & ready in no time. I added bacon which gave it a nice flavour. We enjoyed it hot out of the oven & then cold for lunch the following day. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpmurray November 29, 2005

Delicious! This recipe has a really nice flavour and a wonderful colour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alesha September 02, 2005

Great flavor here. I wasn't sure what a slice pan is so I used a 2-quart baking dish, and it turned out fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emily hauer April 25, 2005

We loved this recipe. It was a nice lighter accompaniment to simple grilled chicken and brown rice. We omitted the meat, but I added in a clove of minced garlic and a pinch of cayenne. I baked it in a 9X9 pan at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes. We'll make this a lot. Thank you for posting it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay February 05, 2005

This was good. I stayed true to the recipe but did use whole wheat flour. I liked it and so did the 3yo, but not hubby or 10 yr old. To me it kind of had a seafoody taste to it, like maybe there was shrimp in it. (but there wasnt!) Probably wouldnt make again but didnt mind trying once. BTW cooked it at 350F for 30 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseNC August 01, 2014

This is a great recipe. I added grated carrots as well...no bacon. I also replaced white flour to wholemeal flour. Its was amazing. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginie O. May 11, 2014
Low-fat Zucchini Slice