Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Marinade for Steak (Porterhouse, Sirloin or Any Beef Cuts) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinade for Steak (Porterhouse, Sirloin or Any Beef Cuts)

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2010

      Very good marinade.Made everything as written and instead of fresh gingeroot i used 1/8 tsp ginger powder.Thanks for the recipe and will do again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      WOW! This is so easy and so good. I switched out the tarragon for basil. DH prefers sirloin and I prefer ribeye so I bought those. Delicious flavor and the carmelization was beautiful and tasty. DH ended up trying to steal part of my ribeye when he ran out of sirloin and has asked that I make it again this week. I served it with a salad and some steamed asparagus and it was a wonderful dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      My husband and I agree that this marinade adds an EXCELLENT flavor to steaks! We wanted to grill some rib-eyes on the 4th of July so I did a search for a yummy sounding marinade recipe. I'm really glad I choose this one! I didn't have any tarragon, so I substituted Grill Mates Montreal Steak seasoning. I used garlic powder because I didn't have any fresh garlic and also used about 1/8 teaspoon of ginger powder. The combination of brown sugar, soy sauce and ginger gave the steaks a nice teriyaki flavor. I only had time to marinate for 1 hour. Next time I would like to marinate for a minimum of 4 hours. I'm looking forward to trying this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      This was perfect for the first year anniversary dinner my husband and I shared. This marinade is very easy and quick to make. I doubled the marinade for 1.77 lbs of NY strip steak. The steaks were marinated overnight and turned over once. 30 minutes before dinner, I brought out the steaks to warm up to room temperature while a cast iron pan was heating up in the oven (oven set to broil) for 15 minutes. Then I seared each side of the steaks for about 2 minutes. After searing, I turned the oven setting to 500 degrees. The steaks cooked within 3 minutes (we prefer our steaks medium to well done). Let the steaks set for 5 minutes before slicing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      This is one recipe to keep in the fav's , my wife and I are very fussy steak critics and this has tickled the taste buds and just as the recipe suggested thanks very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2014

      I've tried variations of this 3 times now and it's always come out nicely. Used combinations of cinnamon, basil, sweet paprika, cumin instead of tarragon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      This was scrumptious! I used it to marinate a little over a pound of petite sirloins. I also am not a fan of tarragon and as one reviewer suggested I was going to use basil only to discover I only had about 1/4 tsp left so I made up the difference with Italian seasoning. The steaks marinated for about five hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      Nice Marinade, the only thing we did different was to double it to fit the large roast we were having fixing for dinner guests. We marinated for about 4 hours and then put on the outside grill rotisserie and it was wonderful. Great flavors that didn't overwhelm the meat. I'm even wondering if next time I might sub some red wine for the vinegar - but this is great as it stands.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

    • on January 12, 2013

      Thank you very much, Chef floWer! This is a great dish. The marinade tastes delicious, and I will definitely cook this again! In addition, I recommend adding cinnamon as the spices, you won't regret it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      I marinated the steaks for 48 hours and grilled them in a pan. When they were nearly done I added all the marinade and used it as a sauce. It was a wondeful dish :)
      Greetings from Germany,
      Joachim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      Made this marinade as written and marinated overnight. The beef tasted so bad. Both me and my husband hated it. The flavors were all wrong and too sweet. I don't know why I had such a different experience than everyone else..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      This was one of the best steaks ever! It turned out so tender and juicy and we loved it. I subbed the tarragon with basil as I don't like the taste of tarragon, but that was the only change.
      Marinated for 2 hours. This is going in the "favourites" book. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

    • on December 17, 2011

      doesn't realy need another review :)
      worked very well. ended up in the marinade for 24 hours, but tasted wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      This is a great marinade recipe. DH bought top sirloin steaks and I marinated them for about 3 1/2 hours. I dont eat a lot of steak but liked how tender the steak was tonight and the flavor was just spicy enough for us. A definite keeper! Made and reviewed for the Australia/NewZealand Forum's - Recipe Swap #42.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Thought I had already reviewed - not seeing a review now gives me the opportunity to add that this flavourful marinade has seen to repeated makings this month and has been added to our family favorites. Loved the tarragon and have used other spices for variety with equally good results. Great on chicken and chops too!) So happy I choose to make this one for the Auz/NZ swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      OMG this was fantastic. I marinated some rump steak for just over 1/2 hour. This was the most flavoursome steak marinade I've ever used, totally delicious. It also made my steaks beautifully tender. I love the additional of tarragon. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      We loved it! Also very nice on pork chops, especially on the BBQ. Have been using it since last summer, but forgot to rate it, so just want to make up for that now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      This is one fantastic marinade. Easy quick and simple and the flavours are wonderful. I used on both beef and lamb, and the family loved the flavour of the meats. I only marinated for 1 hour but next time am going to marinade longer. Outstanding recipe floWer, this is going to be used over and over again! Thanks for a awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinade for Steak (Porterhouse, Sirloin or Any Beef Cuts)

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    15%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2684.9 mg
    111%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 17.5 g
    70%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    porterhouse steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes