Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Microwave Fried Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Microwave Fried Rice

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2009

      A - Okay, I even did exactly the same in my rice cooker and it turned out great. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      Really very easy, great for fast meals that can be prepared in advance. Very flexible recipe.
      1 cup of rice and vegetables serves 4 peoples.
      I used a wild rice mix, fresh vegetables (zucchini, carrots and green onions), 1 tablespoon roasted onions and 1 tablespoon vegetable with sesam oil.
      I added 1more tablespoon soya sauce.
      Great thaks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      What a great recipe mummamills. So quick and easy to make and it tasted wonderful. I was unsure about the ketchup but it worked great, the flavor was excellent. We loved this dish. I used long grain rice and for vegetables I added sweet and hot red chilies, sweet onion, frozen peas and garnished with green onions. Into my keeper box this goes, thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I actually used this recipe, added an extra half a cup of water and put two eggs in it at about the 15 minute mark. I love it and will definately use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      How easy is this? And very good. I used long grain rice. I used the ketcup and took your advice and added garlic (1/2 teaspoon) and ginger (1/8 teaspoon). 20 minutes was too long for me and I will shorten it next time and will also add more soy sauce or add sesame oil. The edges of the rice were hard. I didn't want to stir in between because I thought you were not suppose to interrupt rice while cooking. Will definitely try again. Very easy. Thank you much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      No stars -- I think it must be my microwave, and I am VERY disappointed !! All these lovely reviews and suggestions -- some of which I followed. Used Basmati rice; 1/2 chicken broth, 1/2 water; 1 cup Asian stirfry as jewelies suggested. Nuked 10 min, then stirred, as atlfitgirl suggested. Unfortunately, had some hard clumps and the remainder of the rice was "crunchy". So sorry -- hope to try again after DH recovers from my effort. I still have hope !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      I must say, this is certainly a very different way of making fried rice. I took Donna mum's advice and made it in my rice cooker instead of the microwave. I sauteed some shredded cabbage and carrots along with the onions. I put everything in the rice cooker with Jasmine rice. I was afraid it might come out gummy, but it turned out nice and fluffy with a good texture. The flavor was good and it was much easier and less time consuming than making my usual fried rice. I did miss not having some of the other items that I normally use like egg, peas, green onions and meat, but I would definitely make this again when I am short on time. Made for November 2012 Aus/NZ Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      I really like this recipe. I needed to make a few changes because of the high power of my microwave. First off, I did not add bacon, since I like mine crispy and knew it would not happen in the microwave. After 15 minutes of cooking I stirred the rice and had to add more water, another 1/2 cup. Rice was still tough at this point, so cooked another 10 minutes. (I should have checked rice and add more water at the half way point on this last 10 minutes.) After letting it stand the 5 minutes, I took off the lid and found the corners a little on the dry side. So my suggestions are, to stir every 5 minutes and keep an eye on the moisture level of your rice, until you know how your microwave is going to cook this. I will add 1/2 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated the next time I make this. Made for Recipe Swap #62 Australian/New Zealand Cooking game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      5 stars plus for ease and versatility. I have strict doctors orders just now for REST due to slipped disc so this type of meal is a winner. I used a combination of fresh and frozen vegies including a couple of home grown tomatoes and chilli sauce instead of the tomato ketchup - I had a fabulous and tasty meal so many thanks for posting !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      I used 1/2 cup of celery and 1/2 cup of red bell pepper. The taste is really good. But the rice was a bit crispy. So next time I'll add more water. Thanks mummamills :) Made for I recommend tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      To me, this doesn't taste anything like real fried rice, but that doesn't mean it's not a tasty side dish all on its own. I made a half-recipe and added thinly sliced celery and diced red bell pepper. At high altitude, I had to add at least 50% more water and increase the cooking time by 5 minutes. Honestly, it would have been quicker for me to make this on the stove, and maybe I will next time. Because there WILL be a next time. :-) Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Oh so easy!! This dish inspired me to write my first review as my 4 yr old and 2 yr old inhaled it, and the 4 yr old asked if I could make it again the next night..... which of course I did! Hubby also enjoyed, so this is a keeper in our house as a quick and easy way to jazz up plain rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Simple and delicious. Not for meals requiring authenticity (like theme dinners or for company.) Absolutely perfect for lunch when the family is running around and everyone can grab a bowl when ready. Very satisfying. Will make again. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      I do love my convection microwave, and am always happy to add to its repertoire, this is a marvellous and effort-free way to put together delicious fried rice! Very versatile, I was serving this with Peking Style Chicken, and so omitted the bacon, but I would add it if having it alone or with a veggie dish. i added frozen peas and corn, and I made twice the amount because I knew how popular this was going to be, and I was right! Thanks for a marvellous recipe, made for Aussie/NZ 12 Days of Christmas Recipe Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I am one of those people that has a microwave but pretty much only uses it to defrost things and do the odd 'baked' potato. So, I am always a bit skeptical with microwave recipes but I tried this based on the reviews and I am really glad I did because we really enjoyed this. It was really easy to put together and tasted really nice. I used jasmine rice and for the vegetables I went with a mixture of frozen peas and sliced fresh mushrooms. Next time I might skip the bacon and go all veggie. I never order fried rice when we get takeaway because I have no idea how much oil is in it but it certainly has to be more more tablespoon per serving let alone 6 servings. This goes into the keeper file for me. Made for Aus/NZ swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Made this for one of the neighbors for whom I sometimes cook, & they were so pleased! I doubled the amount of veggies (peas, corn, carrots, celery) called for & used Jasmine rice! Very simple & TASTY ~ & next time I make this for myself! [Tagged, made & reviewed as a kidnapped recipe in the Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #20]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      So easy and so very tasty. The simplicity of this recipe would earn it five stars on its own, lol. After a very bad day at work, this was such a great treat to throw together. I used a combination of fresh snow peas, broccoli, carrots, and scallions for the veggies and used 3 slices of bacon and so didn't add the tablespoon of oil. DH enjoyed it very much too. I will for sure be making this again!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Can't get easier than this! if want quick and easy, do not give this a miss! Used spring onion and colourful veggies had in hand true! So QUICK, did I mention EASY too? THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      This was surprisingly easy and good. I only cooked about 13 minutes on my microwave cuz it's really powerful. Next time I'll change up the vegies and sauces. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      I did this to go alongside some meatballs but only did a half batch, I also added some garlic & it took about 12 mins in the microwave. Nice & simple & no having to monitor a frypan. What a great idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Microwave Fried Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 158.9
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    20%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 205.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetables

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites