36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A - Okay, I even did exactly the same in my rice cooker and it turned out great. Thanks

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna mum October 15, 2009

Really very easy, great for fast meals that can be prepared in advance. Very flexible recipe.
1 cup of rice and vegetables serves 4 peoples.
I used a wild rice mix, fresh vegetables (zucchini, carrots and green onions), 1 tablespoon roasted onions and 1 tablespoon vegetable with sesam oil.
I added 1more tablespoon soya sauce.
Great thaks for sharing this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde February 09, 2011

What a great recipe mummamills. So quick and easy to make and it tasted wonderful. I was unsure about the ketchup but it worked great, the flavor was excellent. We loved this dish. I used long grain rice and for vegetables I added sweet and hot red chilies, sweet onion, frozen peas and garnished with green onions. Into my keeper box this goes, thanks so much for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 16, 2011

I actually used this recipe, added an extra half a cup of water and put two eggs in it at about the 15 minute mark. I love it and will definately use it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms Lady LoLa October 04, 2009

How easy is this? And very good. I used long grain rice. I used the ketcup and took your advice and added garlic (1/2 teaspoon) and ginger (1/8 teaspoon). 20 minutes was too long for me and I will shorten it next time and will also add more soy sauce or add sesame oil. The edges of the rice were hard. I didn't want to stir in between because I thought you were not suppose to interrupt rice while cooking. Will definitely try again. Very easy. Thank you much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana January 20, 2009

No stars -- I think it must be my microwave, and I am VERY disappointed !! All these lovely reviews and suggestions -- some of which I followed. Used Basmati rice; 1/2 chicken broth, 1/2 water; 1 cup Asian stirfry as jewelies suggested. Nuked 10 min, then stirred, as atlfitgirl suggested. Unfortunately, had some hard clumps and the remainder of the rice was "crunchy". So sorry -- hope to try again after DH recovers from my effort. I still have hope !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney December 21, 2008

I must say, this is certainly a very different way of making fried rice. I took Donna mum's advice and made it in my rice cooker instead of the microwave. I sauteed some shredded cabbage and carrots along with the onions. I put everything in the rice cooker with Jasmine rice. I was afraid it might come out gummy, but it turned out nice and fluffy with a good texture. The flavor was good and it was much easier and less time consuming than making my usual fried rice. I did miss not having some of the other items that I normally use like egg, peas, green onions and meat, but I would definitely make this again when I am short on time. Made for November 2012 Aus/NZ Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 November 17, 2012

I really like this recipe. I needed to make a few changes because of the high power of my microwave. First off, I did not add bacon, since I like mine crispy and knew it would not happen in the microwave. After 15 minutes of cooking I stirred the rice and had to add more water, another 1/2 cup. Rice was still tough at this point, so cooked another 10 minutes. (I should have checked rice and add more water at the half way point on this last 10 minutes.) After letting it stand the 5 minutes, I took off the lid and found the corners a little on the dry side. So my suggestions are, to stir every 5 minutes and keep an eye on the moisture level of your rice, until you know how your microwave is going to cook this. I will add 1/2 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated the next time I make this. Made for Recipe Swap #62 Australian/New Zealand Cooking game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J March 10, 2012

5 stars plus for ease and versatility. I have strict doctors orders just now for REST due to slipped disc so this type of meal is a winner. I used a combination of fresh and frozen vegies including a couple of home grown tomatoes and chilli sauce instead of the tomato ketchup - I had a fabulous and tasty meal so many thanks for posting !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew February 01, 2012

I used 1/2 cup of celery and 1/2 cup of red bell pepper. The taste is really good. But the rice was a bit crispy. So next time I'll add more water. Thanks mummamills :) Made for I recommend tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 25, 2011
Microwave Fried Rice