Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Mini Potato Gratins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mini Potato Gratins

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2013

      What a treat Pat. We really enjoyed the potatoes prepared this way. The mustard, garlic, onion and thyme give a nice flavor to the potatoes. It was quick and easy to make, the potatoes were tender and delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe which I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      This turns out good even if you are multitasking and screw up - I was potato-light, and endedup with too much sauce for the potatoes - if you could really have too much of this delicious sauce. I followed a suggestion of a reviewer, and cubed my potatoes first, then zapped in the microwave to the proper doneness. Used a combo of fresh and dried thyme, as the thyme has partially died back. Used a white cheddar instead of tasty cheese, which I believe is a velveeta-type of cheese, in any event, not sold in the US. I halved the recipe and cooked this in a 2 cup ramekin, and it was perfect. Well, the crumbs did not quite brown enough, as the excess sauce was bubbling up, but not the recipe's fault. A lovely side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      Very nice potato dish. Coarse grain mustard gives it nice kick. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used just a pinch of dry thyme and used low fat milk. I baked it in casserole dish for 30 minutes. Served with grilled chicken breast. This would be nice with pasta as well. Thank you for recipe will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I made one big gratin and it is gorgeous. I diced my potatoes and left skin on. Also I doubled the amount of mustard and used skim milk.. I just had a sample before heading off to the gym and it is soooo tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      My husband really enjoyed these potatoes, as did I. I took a shortcut and peeled, cubed and microwaved the potatoes and then proceeded with the rest of the steps. Made for Everyday Holiday Tag. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Thumbs up all around! The stone ground mustard was a wonderful addition to the taters. Evem my GD Carly who seldom eats potatoes had a generous serving. Will most likely make this again-and again. Made for the Aussie/NZ RS#37.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      What an easy and tasty potato dish. I peeled and cubed the potatoes before boiling them because I was a little pressed for time. I didn't separate the potatoes into individual ramekins. Instead I put all the potatoes into a little 1-quart casserole dish. I loved the slight tanginess from the coarse grain mustard and the cheese is a definite plus. The only breadcrumbs I had were Italian seasoned breadcrumbs and they worked wonderfully. I will be making this dish over and over again. Recipenapped for the Nov. 2009 Aus/NZ Swap. Update: This recipe is in my Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I loved this! I also sprayed my ramekins, and they turned out wonderful. I halved this recipe with no trouble. I almost left out the breadcrumbs, because I'm really not a fan, but I did add a little. Used spring onions, and probably more garlic than I should have! Made for Holiday tag...thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      This is easy and a lovely presentation, we really enjoyed this lovely potato bake!! I used cream instead of the milk .. yum!! I did spray my ramekins, they didn't stick at all, but we also ate them out of the ramekins. I had enough for my six little ramekin dishes, I don't know their capacity but I would guess about 2/3 of a cup. I forgot the breadcrumbs, but it was lovely with just the cheese! I only had one lonely little spring onion, so I used it plus a small onion, finely chopped. if I'd thought, I would have chopped in some fresh chives, another time. A keeper, Pat!!! Made for Edition 8, Aus/NZ Cooking tag Games.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Nice recipe. Very similar to my scalloped potato recipe. I tasted the sauce just before adding to the potatoes, and found I had to add salt and pepper to give it a bit more flavour, but of course that will vary from person to person. I used old cheddar and panko crumbs. Unfortunately, the crumbs didn't brown for some reason. The recipe didn't specify the oven temperature, so I played it safe at 350*. :) Thanks for a great side dish Pat. Made for Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #30.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      Made this for dinner tonight...it was quite tasty however; the kids said that it was missing a little zip. Don't know what the zip is though. I will make this again however I think I will add some additional herbs next time. Thanks for sharing this recipe Pat. Made and reviewed for the 28th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I also used a sharp cheddar since I have no clue what tasty cheese is LOL I did find the garlic a bit overpowering and I love garlic and I cut the coarse mustard to 1 tsp.Overall a nice side . Made for Everyday is a Holiday

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Very Good. Made these for tonights dinner. I followed the recipe with no changes. a recipe I look forward to making again soon. Thanks I'mPat. recipe swap#24 January/09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      These were delicious thank you Pat and Ruby ate an entire serve all by herself! Instead of the garlic cloves I used a bit of garlic salt. I cooked in a reasonably hot oven and the breadcrumb/cheese mix melted beautifully together. Will definitely make this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      This was very good. Loved the individual servings. I cooked my potates too long and this turned out more like mashed potatoes rather than potato gratins, but the flavor was all there. I too don't know what tasty cheese is so I used a sharp cheddar and that worked well for us. Thanks for sharing. Made for SSC Pet Parade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      These were good, the kids enjoyed having their own mini-casserole. I boiled the potatoes longer than indicated, and until I could easily pierce them with a fork, but with only 15 minutes in the oven, they still were not quite done. We ended up having to microwave them. For my personal taste, it was too mustardy, but everyone else enjoyed them. I don't know what tasty cheese is, so I used a shredded cheddar blend which came out beautifully with the bread crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      The family loved these. I followed the ingredients as written, except for using a blend of cheddar as well as tasty cheese and these were very tasty! I did however do steps 3, 4 and 5 in the microwave (only becasue I was short on time) and it worked perfectly! Love the slight mustard flavour, although next time I might make a bit more sauce (not the recipe only to fit the remekins I have). Everyone loved these and also were very impressed with having an individual ramekin served to them on the plate. I was going to spray the ramekins as suggested in the previous review, but I forgot and was rather worried, but I didnt have a problem with sticking at all... in fact DH decided to invert his onto the plate and it came out perfectly. So maybe when using skim milk, you should spray. Great recipe for me to make again Chef Potts... Thank you again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      These were great spuds that the four of us enjoyed so much. I used a mix of three mustards-a super hot grainy one, mild English and dijon-which were excellent. In school, we used to make a similar potato dish , but the seasoned flour was prinkled over the layers and hot milk poured over all. Often you got gluggy layers of flour. This was far better than that and the onion, garlic and thyme (one of my favourite herbs) added to it too. It made a very elegant (but super simple) mid week family meal and a nice change from my usual cream laden scalloped potatoes. I cooked my medium sized whole potatoes about 20 minutes and used low fat milk but didn't think it resulted in the dish being at all dry. I'll be making these again really soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      These were tasty. The mustard added a great flavor. I overcooked them accidently so were a little dry, but that was my fault not Chef Potts. I liked the idea of individual ramekins. Be sure to spray them well with Pam as mine really stuck. I used skim milk which proabably also lead to the dry texture. Still, overall, good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mini Potato Gratins

    Serving Size: 1 (326 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 460.2
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    46%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 69.9 mg
    23%
    Sodium 386.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 15.9 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    coarse grain mustard

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes