19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a treat Pat. We really enjoyed the potatoes prepared this way. The mustard, garlic, onion and thyme give a nice flavor to the potatoes. It was quick and easy to make, the potatoes were tender and delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe which I will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 05, 2013

This turns out good even if you are multitasking and screw up - I was potato-light, and endedup with too much sauce for the potatoes - if you could really have too much of this delicious sauce. I followed a suggestion of a reviewer, and cubed my potatoes first, then zapped in the microwave to the proper doneness. Used a combo of fresh and dried thyme, as the thyme has partially died back. Used a white cheddar instead of tasty cheese, which I believe is a velveeta-type of cheese, in any event, not sold in the US. I halved the recipe and cooked this in a 2 cup ramekin, and it was perfect. Well, the crumbs did not quite brown enough, as the excess sauce was bubbling up, but not the recipe's fault. A lovely side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte December 26, 2011

Very nice potato dish. Coarse grain mustard gives it nice kick. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used just a pinch of dry thyme and used low fat milk. I baked it in casserole dish for 30 minutes. Served with grilled chicken breast. This would be nice with pasta as well. Thank you for recipe will make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hanka November 28, 2011

I made one big gratin and it is gorgeous. I diced my potatoes and left skin on. Also I doubled the amount of mustard and used skim milk.. I just had a sample before heading off to the gym and it is soooo tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew July 11, 2010

My husband really enjoyed these potatoes, as did I. I took a shortcut and peeled, cubed and microwaved the potatoes and then proceeded with the rest of the steps. Made for Everyday Holiday Tag. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama May 30, 2010

Thumbs up all around! The stone ground mustard was a wonderful addition to the taters. Evem my GD Carly who seldom eats potatoes had a generous serving. Will most likely make this again-and again. Made for the Aussie/NZ RS#37.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive February 06, 2010

What an easy and tasty potato dish. I peeled and cubed the potatoes before boiling them because I was a little pressed for time. I didn't separate the potatoes into individual ramekins. Instead I put all the potatoes into a little 1-quart casserole dish. I loved the slight tanginess from the coarse grain mustard and the cheese is a definite plus. The only breadcrumbs I had were Italian seasoned breadcrumbs and they worked wonderfully. I will be making this dish over and over again. Recipenapped for the Nov. 2009 Aus/NZ Swap. Update: This recipe is in my Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 January 31, 2010

I loved this! I also sprayed my ramekins, and they turned out wonderful. I halved this recipe with no trouble. I almost left out the breadcrumbs, because I'm really not a fan, but I did add a little. Used spring onions, and probably more garlic than I should have! Made for Holiday tag...thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 04, 2009

This is easy and a lovely presentation, we really enjoyed this lovely potato bake!! I used cream instead of the milk .. yum!! I did spray my ramekins, they didn't stick at all, but we also ate them out of the ramekins. I had enough for my six little ramekin dishes, I don't know their capacity but I would guess about 2/3 of a cup. I forgot the breadcrumbs, but it was lovely with just the cheese! I only had one lonely little spring onion, so I used it plus a small onion, finely chopped. if I'd thought, I would have chopped in some fresh chives, another time. A keeper, Pat!!! Made for Edition 8, Aus/NZ Cooking tag Games.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth September 25, 2009

Nice recipe. Very similar to my scalloped potato recipe. I tasted the sauce just before adding to the potatoes, and found I had to add salt and pepper to give it a bit more flavour, but of course that will vary from person to person. I used old cheddar and panko crumbs. Unfortunately, the crumbs didn't brown for some reason. The recipe didn't specify the oven temperature, so I played it safe at 350*. :) Thanks for a great side dish Pat. Made for Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #30.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 July 07, 2009
Mini Potato Gratins