Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Monte Carlos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Monte Carlos

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2013

      I tried Monte Carlos for the first time and loved them so I tried making them for a bake-off at work. This was the recipe I used and I won the bake-off, they were delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Delicious! I used shredded coconut because that's what I had on hand. I got 15 sandwiched biscuits from this recipe. I will add more icing sugar to the filling mixture next time to get a fluffier filling. I subbed vegan spread for the butter and Ogran 'No Egg' for the egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      These biccies taste far better than the bought variety. I am pleased to have found a recipe as I used to make them years ago and lost the recipe - this is the exact same recipe I lost. BEAUTIFUL BICCIES!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      Fantastic, tasted like butter cookies, delicious chewy crunch. I used dessicated coconut. I formed the cookie too big, and didn't change shape when baked. I made 29 cookies (14 sanwiched + 1 extra) i halved the frosting and turned out just enough for the 14 pairs.UPDATE: use a smaller scoop this time and flatten with a glass dipped in flour. Made 15 pairs of cookies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      these biscuits are as grand as monte carlo itself. they are actually very popular in SA as well, where they are even known by the same name. my mom has made this tons of times but i could never quite get a recipe from her as she is one of those intuitive bakers - but this recipe was quite the revelation (even a bit better than mom's, dareisay, but don't tell her!). i used dark brown sugar and sweetened coconut, and i got 24 delicious sandwich cookies (not nearly enough for voracious cookie-killers like DH and i, but i shall double the recipe next time). (updated 2/18/06 - made this several times already, it's failproof, we love it!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      This a good recipe! My husband liked these a lot .. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      These were easy to make, though it took me a while to work out I needed a 'rounded' teaspoon of mixture to to emerge with 24 biscuits. I actually don't like Monte Carlos very much, but I liked these. The biscuits were quite 'short' and we found they improved with keeping. In Queensland's climate the icing became soft when they were stored at room temperature, so I kept them in a biscuit tin in the fridge. Mother Kooka really loved these and I'll definitely make them again. Thanks Jan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      This is a great recipe, just like the original. In fact my sister said they tasted exactly like the original, but better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      Jan - these ARE Monte Carlos!!! They taste like them and they even look like them - I was so happy with how they turned out.I put them on a plate to take a photo and the kids all asked for a Monte (without realising that I'd made them!!)...you can't get more authentic than that!! I made the recipe exactly as written but I left 12 plain and dunked them in melted chocolate...Chocolate Montes. An excellent recipe that I will use a lot as I'm always after something to make for the kids school snacks - as well as a yummy treat with a cuppa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Monte Carlos

    Serving Size: 1 (803 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.7
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    55%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 29.6 mg
    9%
    Sodium 160.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites