11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

delicious, easy and wonderful. Great to have with a drink or as a light lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba February 20, 2008

This was excellent and itt had lots of flavor. I didn't have any tarragon and substituted basil which worked well. Also I added the olive oil and balsamic vinegar to pan and mixed slightly. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BigNanc February 20, 2007

Very nice, quick, easy meal to prepare. I'm not a 100% sure I would add the tarragon next time. This recipe, as posted, definitely makes more than 4 servings, it's more like 8 rather than 4. All in all, a good meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on weekends :¬) January 21, 2007

Very good flavor! I used 1/2 pound mushrooms and a whole small avocado. I did not add olive oil and balsamic vinegar to the top, because it didn't seem to need it. This makes enough for 16-20 baguette slices, not 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue December 28, 2006

delish! we modified it a bit for our diet, but used the same basic ingredients. we opted for crisped tortillas, and i cooked everything in a wok to avoid any oil. i didn't have any cheese or herbs, so i just used onion, mushrooms and avacado and drizzled with balsamic. just wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzieP September 30, 2006

Kate, this was yummy! I used small flour tortillas heated under the broiler instead of bread. I also was out of parmesean, so I used Montrachet goat cheese. Will make this again. (PS. using the new Zaar rating system)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall September 19, 2006

Boy did we ever love this! Except for your bread suggestion, I made this exactly as written. We had it as part of a ZWT appy nite when we tried several things. After adding the avocado & warming it, I stuffed the mix into pita pockets & “dressed” them as directed w/the finishing touches. Was so good that I’ve made it already a 2nd time & will share w/our fishing friends this weekend. Thx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis July 06, 2006

You stole my plans to post this recipe here, Mizz Kate! This is so gooooood!! I love the avocado with all the other ingredients!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl November 09, 2005

I cut back on the oil using 1 tablespoon in total for sauting the mushrooms and onions. Didn`t need to top the toasts with any. I found this will serve more then four you can top a whole loaf with the mixture. I enjoy mushrooms and avocados and never thought to put them together. These are great! I used thyme in place of the tarragon. very good and even better knowing I cut more then 1/2 the oil out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ November 04, 2005

Chef Kate, these were just SO delicious! Served these today as a light – but totally sustaining and satisfying – lunch, and I totally recommend this recipe to all who love mushrooms and avocado: a great weekend brunch/lunch dish, or mid-week supper dish. Quick to prepare, and really scrumptious! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder October 29, 2005
Mushroom and Avocado Toast