Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Mustard Sauce for Corned Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mustard Sauce for Corned Beef

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2009

      This is weird because when I tasted this from the pan it was way to vinegar-y for my taste. But, I perservered and put it on my meat anyway. It was AWESOME on the meat. I don't know what the difference is off and on the meat but I am not looking too far into it. I am just going to continue to use it every time I make corned beef. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Served this luscious sauce with our corned beef last night and it was wonderful. Very easy to make (I used about 1/2 cup of the corned beef broth and apple cidar vinegar). I made the sauce about 2 hours ahead of time, let it sit on the stove (which was warm from all the other cooking), then turned the heat on under it just prior to serving. I think this would be great with pork and ham. We surely enjoyed your Mother's recipe and understand why it is a family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      What a great recipe! My corned beef dinner for friends was an added success because of your sauce! Because I wanted to make it the day before, I used beef broth for the liquid without a problem (it may have been better with the corned beef liquid, but I have no complaints). Used corn starch to thicken a little at the end. Thanks for this recipe - I will be using it every year!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      Love Love Love this recipe! I actually use honey dijon mustard with this recipe when I make it. My family flips over it and recently I made my corned beef with potatos, carrots, and cabbage with this sauce and brought it to my church potluck dinner and it was the talk of the evening! This sauce reminds me of when I was a child and my mother would make this dish for us. Thank you for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      this sauce is awsome,I used coarse bottled mustard in place of dry mustard,only change I made,awsome on veg as well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Great! Not only a wonderful match for the corned beef but also the vegetables that go great with it like potato, cauliflower and carrots.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      WONDERFUL! It went so well with our Jigs dinner. I even liked it poured over the vegetables. I will make this any time I make corned beef.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      YUM!! Used on Corned Beef #14537. Subbed some regular mustard for some of the dry since I ran out. Next time I'll make sure I have enough. Sure was tasty!! :O) Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I enjoyed this very much. The other mustard lover at the table also gave it high marks. I did add the tablespoon of flour to thicken it up a little. I also thought it would be very vinegary tasting but on the meat/vegetables it was delicious. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I really thought this was going to be just some ol' mustard sauce but I was soooo wrong. This is DELICIOUS! Will always have this w/ our corned beef from now on!!! Thank you for a great recipe! UPDATE: I tried this sauce w/ BBQ Brats 'n Beer and it was wonderful-in fact, everyone used this sauce and skipped the spicy mustard-thank you again!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      We loved this recipe! We made it with the corned beef Corned Beef and it was a perfect match. For non-metric cooks - 125 ml = 1/2 cup, a pretty easy conversion. I added 2 tsp of flour like a previous reviewer and it thickened it up a little bit. Makes a lot of mustard (1 cup) but it's very tasty with just the right amount of zing. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      I'm not issuing stars because I'm not sure what happened with my sauce. It never sat up and it tasted way too much like vinegar. I used 1/2 cup broth from my corned beef, 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar and everything else exactly like the recipe said. Let it boil forever then finally added a teaspoon of cornstarch dissolved in a little cool water to thicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      Good basic recipe, but needs some adjustment. I agree with the other posters who have said that the balance was too vinegary. Now, I'm not one to shy away from vinegar. I loooove sour things. But a classic mustard sauce should be balanced between the sweet and sour. In my opinion, the recipe for 6 servings should be 4 tablespoons of sugar to 4 teaspoons of mustard and 1/2 cup of beef liquor and 1/2 cup of vinegar. <br/><br/>Like others, I felt that the recipe was too thin. The amount of liquid was too much for one egg. I added two and when they cooked through the texture was right. Because of the strong vinegar flavour, the extra egg didn't unbalance the flavour of the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      I really wanted to like this sauce, but it was just alright. No one was really thrilled about it. I like the idea of it and it was easy to do and healthy but I don't think I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2011

      This is simply a delicious sauce. I have would use it on any savory dish such as English Pasties or pop overs. I make it for my Dad, because he is such a big fan of this sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Excellent Sauce! Very very good! Perfect with Corned Beef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      What a quick and easy sauce to prepare! It tasted great too with our corn beef on St. Patrick's Day! Would make again for sure. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      This was a quick and easy sauce for corned beef. I will be making this again. Thanks for posting JustJanS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Made this for our St. Patrick's day corned beef and found it quite good. Would probably go well with a pork tenderloin as well. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      This was a big hit at my house! My son had requested a corned beef dinner for his birthday and I was looking for something to make it a little special. This mustard sauce did the trick! I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mustard Sauce for Corned Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 33.1
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    34%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 13.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites