32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Served this luscious sauce with our corned beef last night and it was wonderful. Very easy to make (I used about 1/2 cup of the corned beef broth and apple cidar vinegar). I made the sauce about 2 hours ahead of time, let it sit on the stove (which was warm from all the other cooking), then turned the heat on under it just prior to serving. I think this would be great with pork and ham. We surely enjoyed your Mother's recipe and understand why it is a family favorite.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie March 18, 2011

This is weird because when I tasted this from the pan it was way to vinegar-y for my taste. But, I perservered and put it on my meat anyway. It was AWESOME on the meat. I don't know what the difference is off and on the meat but I am not looking too far into it. I am just going to continue to use it every time I make corned beef. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender March 14, 2009

What a great recipe! My corned beef dinner for friends was an added success because of your sauce! Because I wanted to make it the day before, I used beef broth for the liquid without a problem (it may have been better with the corned beef liquid, but I have no complaints). Used corn starch to thicken a little at the end. Thanks for this recipe - I will be using it every year!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol B. March 18, 2011

this sauce is awsome,I used coarse bottled mustard in place of dry mustard,only change I made,awsome on veg as well!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianne #7 August 27, 2010

I really thought this was going to be just some ol' mustard sauce but I was soooo wrong. This is DELICIOUS! Will always have this w/ our corned beef from now on!!! Thank you for a great recipe! UPDATE: I tried this sauce w/ BBQ Brats 'n Beer and it was wonderful-in fact, everyone used this sauce and skipped the spicy mustard-thank you again!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Jack August 21, 2008

Good basic recipe, but needs some adjustment. I agree with the other posters who have said that the balance was too vinegary. Now, I'm not one to shy away from vinegar. I loooove sour things. But a classic mustard sauce should be balanced between the sweet and sour. In my opinion, the recipe for 6 servings should be 4 tablespoons of sugar to 4 teaspoons of mustard and 1/2 cup of beef liquor and 1/2 cup of vinegar. <br/><br/>Like others, I felt that the recipe was too thin. The amount of liquid was too much for one egg. I added two and when they cooked through the texture was right. Because of the strong vinegar flavour, the extra egg didn't unbalance the flavour of the sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
craigknowles August 25, 2013

Love Love Love this recipe! I actually use honey dijon mustard with this recipe when I make it. My family flips over it and recently I made my corned beef with potatos, carrots, and cabbage with this sauce and brought it to my church potluck dinner and it was the talk of the evening! This sauce reminds me of when I was a child and my mother would make this dish for us. Thank you for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meggiekate17 October 04, 2010

Great! Not only a wonderful match for the corned beef but also the vegetables that go great with it like potato, cauliflower and carrots.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J April 11, 2010

WONDERFUL! It went so well with our Jigs dinner. I even liked it poured over the vegetables. I will make this any time I make corned beef.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Smiley7 March 18, 2010

YUM!! Used on Corned Beef #14537. Subbed some regular mustard for some of the dry since I ran out. Next time I'll make sure I have enough. Sure was tasty!! :O) Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins March 27, 2009
Mustard Sauce for Corned Beef