9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Greetings from Anchorage, Alaska, USA where I own and operate a top-reviewed B and B. Thanks for sharing this recipe. We've got a local bakery close by that makes a stellar Birdseed Bar and I've been trying to find a recipe like it.... This one comes close and might even be better. Yay! I mixed up sesame seeds, salted sunflower seeds, flax and pumpkin seeds. Used cranberry flavored raisins (sultanas) and cashews and almonds. I like the soft consistency...and the fact that they aren't baked and crunchy. Good tip to toast the nuts and seeds first... I did it stovetop in a dry skillet. I cooked the butter/honey mix a little longer as some folks recommended and the bars are holding together fine. Delicious. I'm not sure they won't all be eaten before I can serve them up to the guests. Thanks again. Marilyn

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 30, 2015

Yuuumo! I'm trying not to eat it all before the boys come home. I used sunflower seeds instead of sesame and apricots as I dont like sultanas. nom nom nom

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dairytime March 07, 2013

This was perfect! I have been searching for a nutty tasting bar for on the go and have been left disappointed with the store bought ones. This was outstanding! When roasting first 4, the coconut takes like 2-3 mins where as the rest take 10-15 to roast. Do to others comments and suggestions I cooked the butter mixture for about 5 minutes and mine stuck together and made perfect little bars. I will be making this often. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin August 17, 2009

This is a great recipe. I found as long as I keep the ratio's the same, I can substitute different kinds of nuts, fruits, etc. as desired. Dipping the bottom in chocolate rather than adding choc. chips is visually pleasing. For you who say it does not hold together, try boiling the butter, sugar mixture for five minutes. You will find it holds together just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eciej May 26, 2009

These tasted fanatstic but mine had a sticky bottom, so I dipped them into some desicated coconut...this held them together a bit better. I used a combo of walnut, cashew and peanut. Will make again but add some extra's, maybe dried apricots & choc chips. With a little extra bulk it may hold together better. Reviewed for the ZWT 3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie June 01, 2007

This bar is perfect. I can see myself making this quick and simple bar on a regular basis as it does not last long before it's devoured. I used dried apricots instead of sultanas and macadamias. Just lovely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tazibarn December 04, 2005

Well, I just loved this!Crunchy, munchy, sweet, and good for you! I found the bar did not hold together too well, but it was so good, I didn't care! Thank you Jewels!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 02, 2005

Wow- this is really interesting and tasty. Very sweet. We've been munching on these all week for breakfast. Thanks for sharing this recipe- I'll be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker October 27, 2005
New Zealand Birdseed Bar