Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Australian / Old Fashioned Gingerbread Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Gingerbread Loaf

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2011

      really easy to make, did'nt have any golden syrup so used tbsp of maple syrup and tsp of honey, only used half the amount of brown sugar (not enough left...ha), then equal portions of cinnamon raw suar, and vanilla sugar, and added a tbsp of orange zest for extra freakyness.
      all worked perfectly.
      thanks heaps bol
      a keeper for sure

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      Very, very good. So easy to make and it came out perfect. My mixed spice was 1/4 teaspoon each of cinnamon, cloves, cardamon and ginger (a little more ginger can't hurt.......). It smelled wonderful while baking and was even nicer when cooled. I also liked the fact that the syrup was not overpowering, just a hint. All in all a gingerbread I will surely make again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Loved it! Gingerbread is one of my favourite things and this is an excellent loaf. I used honey instead of the golden syrup - different, but where was I going to find golden syrup here? My mixed spice included cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and allspice - lovely baking. Even better the next day after the flavours had mellowed together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This is really a wonderful gingerbread. I used an 8x4 loaf pan and got a higher rise. The sugar was cut to 1/8 cup of Splenda Brown Sugar and as I wasn't really sure what was meant by mixed spice I used 1 tsp of Penzeys Cake Spice. It turned out very well and the baking aroma is pure pleasure. Added it to my Keepers Cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      this loaf turned out amazing!!! I hunted everywhere for a recipe that didnt have a ridiculous amount of golden syrup and butter and this was the result.
      I added 3 teaspoons of ginger instead of 2 but next time I will double it.
      Well done Jewelies this was great and I will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      Excellent! So good it will be going into regular rotation. I loved it everyone I know loved it, which I know because I felt the need to pass it around. Only changes I made were using molasses instead of golden syrup and halving the flour with whole wheat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I love this!! Reminds me of growing up in NZ - I always triple the ginger and double the other spices. In Canada I actually use ginger and then pumpkin spice mix for everything else. Great recipe!! Let it sit and cool before eating. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Mothers Day morning, Mum's asleep and the present list is looking a bit light. Kids expect Dad to organise everything. This recipe saved our bacon. 15 minutes to throw all the ingredients together, 5 minutes of fighting over who gets to lick the spoon. A perfect result. 10 out of 10 from me for this good old kiwi classic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      This was very easy to make. My work collegues loved it. Actually - they thought i had bought it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Great, great gingerbread! Couldn't decide whether to add it to my bread or cake cookbook, so copied it to both! I was going to sub corn syrup for the golden, then a friend supplied me with some, so... I managed to have two different toppings on hand [a raisin sauce AND a lemon sauce], & the bread went very nicely with each one! Will definitely keep this recipe close by!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      Nice flavor! I served this with a dollop of lemon yogurt (I love lemon and gingerbread!) Thanks for posting this! This is baked in a 9-inch loaf pan, and is "low" in height!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      Ive been looking for this loaf for ages, pretty sure its the one my mum use to make, really easy and ymmmy too

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Gingerbread Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (554 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1494.6
     
    Calories from Fat 478
    32%
    Total Fat 53.1 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 31.5 g
    157%
    Cholesterol 318.4 mg
    106%
    Sodium 2185.0 mg
    91%
    Total Carbohydrate 232.7 g
    77%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 113.2 g
    453%
    Protein 26.0 g
    52%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed spice

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes