Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Australian / Our Secret Sirloin Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Our Secret Sirloin Steak

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2007

      As easy as it is to skip the butter/parsley addition, DON'T! It was too hot to bbq outside so I used my grill pan. I only made 1 lb of sirloin for the three of us (which is normally fine) and at the end of dinner we were all looking at the serving platter longing for more. I served this with sauteed crimini mushrooms and roasted asparagus. Just do it as it is written and all will be excellent with your steak!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Pretty impressive. Sirloin isn't my favorite steak-cut, but this marinade makes the meat tender and delicious without overpowering flavors. I'll bet those who say they don't like marinated meat would like this recipe. I used lime juice instead of lemon, and Mrs. Dash Garlic & Herb seasoning for the minced garlic. This recipe is a definite "keeper," and I'm going to experiment with other less-tender cuts of beef like flank steak or round steak. Thank you, Dropbear, for this great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      I tried this recipe on two 1.5 lb sirloin steaks. I substituted the 1/4 c minced onion with 1/8 c granulated onion (not onion powder). I wasn't sure what the substitution ratio should be, but the marinade started getting thick so any more than that would not have worked. I tasted the marinade before pouring it over the beef - delish! I marinated for a little over 2 hours, then broiled 6 minutes on one side, flipped and broiled 5 minutes on the other. I let the steaks rest for about 15 minutes while I prepared the rest of the meal, then sliced against the grain. The meat was tender and flavorful and a perfect medium rare. Served with a steamed broccoli-cauliflower medley and sweet potato fries. Dinner was a big hit. Thank you, Dropbear!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      The marinade was great. I marinated my steaks for about 6 hours and the flavor was deep into the meat. The sauce really complimented the flavors and made this extra special! A do again recipe for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      Great flavor, we used our vacuum sealer marinater for 30 minutes and added a little McCormick's steak seasoning right before grilling. I didn't have fresh parsley so used dried for the butter and it was amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      Followed the receipe exactly. The meat was tender & cooked perfectly, but just lacked any flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      Delicious! Everyone really loved the flavor depth that the marinade provided and the finishing butter/parsley sauce was the perfect ending. Thanks.

      Addendum: Oooh, just made this again and loved it just as much! Didn't have parsley but I did have cilantro and it still was fabulous! You've just got to try this...simple, easy, and wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      This was awesome! I used the lemon juice and broiled them for 7 min on each side. I used filets, but I still marinated it overnight to get all that flavor. The only other change I made was to use fresh onion and garlic. This was my first time cooking steak on my own, and it tasted way better than a restaurant's!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      This was delicious! I didn't marinate my steaks for two hours, just about 1.5 hours. Then when I was pouring the marinade into the bag with the steaks, I left about 2 tablespoons to make the sauce with. I did end up over-broiling my steaks. I am a rare steak person (I like 'em mooing!) but they still tasted good at almost medium-well. I also added about a teaspoon of brown sugar when making the sauce to add a touch of sweetness. It was wonderful! Next time, I will cut down the broiling time, or if Mother Nature will be kind enough, my bbq grill wont be covered in snow!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Okay, I'm convinced. At first I dismissed this very simple recipe, with its dehydrated onions and instant minced garlic, out-of-hand, then I saw all of the reviews and tried it. Yeah, it's awesome. There's almost no reason to buy ribeye or fillet anymore, when one can make sirloin taste this good. (Okay, I did use a small fresh shallot and fresh garlic because I didn't have the dehydrated stuff, but I'm sure it works well either way.)Amazing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      I am on the fence with this one. I marinated 2 large rib eye steaks for about 8 hours. Yes it was flavourful...but I don't know how I felt about the large pieces of onion left on the steaks. I did cut out the butter and parsley sauce as my DH is not a big fan of parsley. I would come back to this recipe in a pinch, but probably not use as much minced onion. Sorry I am the "odd man out"!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Not too bad. I would only use this on a cheaper cut of meat to add flavor. This is a keeper of a recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I used 1/2 c. minced onion in place of the instant and 2 fresh garlic cloves instead of the instant, and it came out great. I think next time I may cut the lemon down to 1 T. and see how we like it. I marinated for about 5 hrs. and grilled our 1 " steaks over high heat for about 3 mins. on each side to come out perfectly med-rare in the middle. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I always feel bad giving a ho-hum review when others rate it so highly, but this wasn't a big hit at our house. I did broil the steak; perhaps grilling would have been tastier. We thought it was okay, nothing more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      We had family from overseas here and dad was persistant that he was making his fast roast pork and apples - I have this thing about pork at the moment so decided to have a steak - used this seasoning - but for one steak only and i didn't use sirloin steak. As the night went on - dad kept making mistake with his pork and we had run out of certain required ingredients. Him and my uncle became very jelous of the beautiful fillet i had marinading. I fryed it in a hot pan and let it rest for 30 minutes before eating it (dad messed up the timing as well) i used the remaining marinade and added a couple of dollops of creme fraiche and a bit of cornflour - it was far to strong just for one person but perfect for croud size as it was very strong. Well my meal was a sucess the others kept eyeing up my plate while trying not to hurt dads feelings. I have been told that i will be making this again and that it will be a regular. Thanks for posting. Fantastic recipe. Happy cooking. Miss Pixie x x x :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      Wonderful recipe! I don't have much experience cooking steak, but this sirloin came out so flavorful. I grilled it to medium-rare (just by chance!) and it was so tender. I highly recommend this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      This is the best recipe ever. This was the best steak ever. All of my family loved the steak. It was sooo tender and had lots of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      This marinade had a lot of great flavors, and for such a short marinating time it was fabulous. I'll use this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      Never cared a lot for Sirloin at home can't make it as good as the restaurants...until now!!! This marinade rocks, so good and so easy. In my permanent recipe file now, not many get in there, it's a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      My son was craving steak and picked up a sirloin at Fresh Market, I'm not a beef eater and I had to substitute the lemon(lime) juice with tangerine juice. Marinated the steak for an hour, only had a 1.5pm steak and broiled for 6 min on each side. He said it was the best he had ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Our Secret Sirloin Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 823.6
     
    Calories from Fat 502
    60%
    Total Fat 55.7 g
    85%
    Saturated Fat 22.0 g
    110%
    Cholesterol 270.4 mg
    90%
    Sodium 847.4 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 69.5 g
    139%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites