Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Outback Steakhouse Gold Coast Coconut Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outback Steakhouse Gold Coast Coconut Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2010

      I HATE to do this but feel I need to as a possible warning to others. I printed and made this recipe (Shrimp only - not the dipping sauce) just a couple of days after the transition between Recipezaar and Food.com. There are many, many complaints of ingredients in recipes not being accurate since the change. I'm not sure if that's the case with this recipe or not but this recipe was a DISASTER for me and I followed it EXACTLY. There was SO much batter it was an absolute waste. Even though the shrimp were very dry the batter still wouldn't stick and I was left with nothing but a big globby mess especially after dipping in the dry coconut. The batter wouldn't even stick long enough to get the shrimp from the platter in to the fryer and just slid right off in to the hot oil. Very disappointing dinner and a waste of some really good ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      This is from Top Secret Restaurant Recipes by Todd Wilbur: topsecretrecipes.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      This was way to much work. After the coconut stopped sticking I had to go to a back up of panko crumbs, which always taste great. You must be a coconut lover because the coconut overpowers the subtle flavor of the shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This was the best coconut shrimp we have ever tried! Made it for Valentines day for 2 couples and now they want it every holday for the rest of their lives!! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      OMG. This was utterly divine. I cooked 28 of these delicious morsels for me and my family, because my DH and I simply adore the ones at Outback... We were definitely not disappointed! The dipping sauce was exactly like it is at Outback, and the shrimp tasted so good. Will make this one again and again. Thank you so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet, since I"ve prepared these shrimp many many times now. my family LOVES the dip, it really is just the right balance of sweet and spicy. The shrimp I have started making in bulk when I make them. As i batter and coat them, I lay them in a single layer on wax paper on a cookie sheet and freeze them. They can then go into an airtight container and brought out as needed. They aren't quite as fantastic this way as they are fresh, but we are far more likely to make them if most of the prep work is done ahead of time. Definitely a winning recipe either way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Excellent, right up with the OBSH version!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      I had fun with this. I made this recipe using defrosted firm tofu! Came out great! The batter is fantastic. Before cooking I thought it was going to be way to hopsy but nope. The tofu has a very similar texture to shrimp so my omni family enjoyed it too! Just make sure the tofu is very well drained, cut it into 1/2" slabs and continue with the recipe as normal. I didn't have orange marmalade so I used apricot preserves gotta tell you, turned out awesome! Thanks Mille!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      WOW!! my man lovvvved these!! Its usually so easy to get the guys to try new things, especially when you tell them it contains beer! lol! Didn't change a thing!! Buh-Bye Outback, Hello Home!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      I thought this a wonderful recipe!!! I made as is, except adjusted amounts as I was only making this to do 4 very large shrimp as part of a seafood platter. All my guests thought they were great and I will be keeping this recipe to make again. Thanks for sharing Mille :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I really can't rate this recipe, since I made the marmalade dipping sauce and not the shrimp. My guests were not too crazy about the dipping sauce, when I served it with a different coconut shrimp. They enjoyed them with a chipotle sauce instead 117297.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      I am deleting the Red Lobster recipe from my cookbook! The Marmalade Dipping Sauce is addictive! Yummers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      I've been looking for a great recipe and this is it!! No more looking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      This recipe definitely hit the spot as far as my craving for my favorite appetizer from the outback. The only thing I change was I replaced the beer with water and about 1/8 cup of white wine. I found it very simple to prepare and cook. The only thing I had trouble with was getting the extra coconut to stay on the shrimp once dropped into the hot oil. I also struggled a little getting the batter to completly cover the shrimp maybe I made the batter to thick perhaps. Either way the shrimp and the sauce were absolutely delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      First let me start by saying that I have been ordering coconut shrimp off menus everywhere for several years. My husband made this for a special Valentine's Day treat and I am pretty sure they are the best CCN Shrimp I have ever eaten. High praise indeed. We both liked the Marmalade dipping sauce, although I understand that many might find the combination of the shrimp and the sauce too sweet. When we make this recipe again we will likely add a touch more beer to the batter to see if it makes the shrimp a little easier to coat. Thanks for the tasty treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      I just finished cooking this tonight. It was fantastic and as simple to make as any fried, breaded recipe can be. I had to use straight yellow mustard, I forgot the stone ground mustard. Still great. I have no idea if the flour I used was "self rising". Still great. Very tasty, and actually it wasn't that messy. I did not use an electric mixer to mix up the batter, I just used a wisk. I organized the coconut right next to the deep fryer, with the batter to the right, and the shrimp to the right of that. I simply used my thumb to submerge the shrimp in the very thick batter, then my other fingers to coat it with coconut flakes (holding the tail with my left hand and doing all the messy stuff with my right) and then I just put it straight into the fryer. 2-3 minutes is a little long for the large (not jumbo) shrimp I used. Basically as soon as they started curling I pulled them out. I also put up to 6-8 in the fryer instead of just 4. Fantastic! Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      Cooked these in deep fat fryer after a batch of buffalo wings for DH birthday dinner & they were fab! DH actually got involved with making dinner! (knock me over with a feather!!LOL) The shrimp being battered were a bit sloppy to work with - picking them up by the tail seemed to set the batter/coconut up to slide off so just plopped them onto coconut & gently lifted them onto aluminum foil covered cookie sheet for transport to the fryer. Our shrimp were only medium & cooked up fine in 2 1/2 minutes at 350 degrees F. They are crunchy on the outside & tender on the inside - perfect! The sweetness of the shrimp & their marmalade dip was nicely balanced by the heat/spice of the cajun buffalo wings (zaar #94959) & the salty smoothness of the blue cheese dressing (zaar #55514). Hmmmm, not a healthy meal but truly yummy with ice cold Rolling Rock lager to wash it all down! It's his birthday & he's happy - will make these again for guests or special occasions! Do balance with spicy/salty/smooth textures for best enjoyment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      this was excellent. i ran short on paprika so I used carolina bay seasoning. I forgot to open the beer this morning to properly flatten it so instead I opened it and vigorously poured it into a 32oz plastic coffee mug and shook it around a bit. It flattened almost instantly and worked great. other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was FABULOUS!! Thanks so much for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      5-star for the shrimp only. I made this for Christmas Eve and it was very good. The shrimp had not been previously frozen and I used Killians Red beer. Instead of using paprika (I was out of it), I used Old Bay Seasoning. I used two types of coconut. The one I added to the batter was shredded into short flakes. It was almost ground and very dense. (I got this in bulk at a gourmet food store.) The one I coated them in was the kind you get in the baking isle (maybe by Bakers??) in a blue bag. It is shredded in long flakes. Next time I will only use the longer flakes. I think the shorter flakes made the batter heavy. I did not care for the sauce, but I think that is just a personal preference. (I don’t care for sweet, chunky sauces.) I whipped up some cocktail sauce and used that instead. It was great with cocktail sauce. I will make this again…

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      Delicious and easier to make than I expected. Might have to go get a deep fryer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outback Steakhouse Gold Coast Coconut Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (283 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 583.2
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    28%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 14.9 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 127.6 mg
    42%
    Sodium 738.4 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 50.6 g
    202%
    Protein 22.0 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes