27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I HATE to do this but feel I need to as a possible warning to others. I printed and made this recipe (Shrimp only - not the dipping sauce) just a couple of days after the transition between Recipezaar and Food.com. There are many, many complaints of ingredients in recipes not being accurate since the change. I'm not sure if that's the case with this recipe or not but this recipe was a DISASTER for me and I followed it EXACTLY. There was SO much batter it was an absolute waste. Even though the shrimp were very dry the batter still wouldn't stick and I was left with nothing but a big globby mess especially after dipping in the dry coconut. The batter wouldn't even stick long enough to get the shrimp from the platter in to the fryer and just slid right off in to the hot oil. Very disappointing dinner and a waste of some really good ingredients.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe July 28, 2010

This is from Top Secret Restaurant Recipes by Todd Wilbur: topsecretrecipes.com

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M.Baca September 30, 2013

This was way to much work. After the coconut stopped sticking I had to go to a back up of panko crumbs, which always taste great. You must be a coconut lover because the coconut overpowers the subtle flavor of the shrimp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheftess June 04, 2010

This was the best coconut shrimp we have ever tried! Made it for Valentines day for 2 couples and now they want it every holday for the rest of their lives!! LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pvtnob February 15, 2010

OMG. This was utterly divine. I cooked 28 of these delicious morsels for me and my family, because my DH and I simply adore the ones at Outback... We were definitely not disappointed! The dipping sauce was exactly like it is at Outback, and the shrimp tasted so good. Will make this one again and again. Thank you so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvviLoo October 07, 2009

Can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet, since I"ve prepared these shrimp many many times now. my family LOVES the dip, it really is just the right balance of sweet and spicy. The shrimp I have started making in bulk when I make them. As i batter and coat them, I lay them in a single layer on wax paper on a cookie sheet and freeze them. They can then go into an airtight container and brought out as needed. They aren't quite as fantastic this way as they are fresh, but we are far more likely to make them if most of the prep work is done ahead of time. Definitely a winning recipe either way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
verybaddmom August 18, 2009

Excellent, right up with the OBSH version!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John in Durango August 17, 2009

I had fun with this. I made this recipe using defrosted firm tofu! Came out great! The batter is fantastic. Before cooking I thought it was going to be way to hopsy but nope. The tofu has a very similar texture to shrimp so my omni family enjoyed it too! Just make sure the tofu is very well drained, cut it into 1/2" slabs and continue with the recipe as normal. I didn't have orange marmalade so I used apricot preserves gotta tell you, turned out awesome! Thanks Mille!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma March 25, 2009

WOW!! my man lovvvved these!! Its usually so easy to get the guys to try new things, especially when you tell them it contains beer! lol! Didn't change a thing!! Buh-Bye Outback, Hello Home!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes February 17, 2009

I thought this a wonderful recipe!!! I made as is, except adjusted amounts as I was only making this to do 4 very large shrimp as part of a seafood platter. All my guests thought they were great and I will be keeping this recipe to make again. Thanks for sharing Mille :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef August 25, 2008
Outback Steakhouse Gold Coast Coconut Shrimp