28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great, easy dish. I'm a lifetime weight watchers member, so I healthied it up and cut back the calories a lot by making the following changes: use barilla plus whole grain pasta instead of regular, lean ground turkey as the meat, just a slight sprinkle of cheese, and whole milk instead of the cream. I also added some shredded zucchini and mushrooms to it. It was still super easy and absolutely delicious! However, I will say that if I am having company or trying to impress someone, it is AMAZING as is. I followed the recipe the first time, and boy, what comfort food!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teachermisslisa September 27, 2010

Easier than lasagne. Used pasta sauce instead of tomato paste and sauce. Also added mushrooms to onions and garlic. Did not need to simmer for 30 min before preparing for baking. Did not have cream on hand, so sub't 1/2 skim milk and 1/2 low fat sour cream. It was awesome- from what we remember since we ate it so fast! Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misseamissea November 09, 2008

YUMMO! i tweaked it just a little....used fresh basil and oregano and also tin tomatoes instead of soup and white wine as i didn't have red. my bf and daughter loved it! thanks for sharing :):)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
^RoSe^ November 25, 2009

Fantastic, this is quick and easy to make, I made this for work and it was gone in minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trinasw December 01, 2003

Such a delicious recipe! I put bacon only on 1/2 of the casserole as I knew I would like it better without, and hubby said he liked the bacon but would have liked it either way. I upped the amount of ground beef just a little to about 1 1/2 pounds. The only thing I would add is to drain the ground beef before adding the other ingredients. Thanks so much for such a terrific recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady January 24, 2012

Big hit with my three hungry sons and hubby!! I make the mince mixure up as I go - sometimes lots of tomatoes sometimes not. I also add a tin of mixed beans too. I real winner thanks for sharing!! : - )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ange69 September 21, 2010

This was great! I served it for a party with tons of kids. The adults and kids both loved it. I was worried that it would taste like tomato soup. I couldn't even tell. I uses all beef broth instead of wine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha Cooks! August 09, 2009

I tweeked quite abit in this recipe to suit our tastes so I don't think it's fair to give it a rating yet. I used 1/2 can tom soup & 5 oz spaghetti sauce. I'm not a big fan of the red wine/broth/paste flavours so I added a few other spices during the simmering (ie. garlic peppercorn spice, garden herb mix etc) I also cut back the yogurt to 3/4 c & 1 egg for the topping. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 June 23, 2009

VERY delicious pasta recipe, I added mushrooms, carrot and zucchinni on this recipe Wow so yummy and tasty, my french husband like it too,this is another recipe keeper, thanks for posting.Anne

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alinry21 March 28, 2008
Pasta Bake