Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Pear, Kiwi, Berry, Flax Seed Smoothie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pear, Kiwi, Berry, Flax Seed Smoothie

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2009

      I tried this with fresh strawberries, 3/4 pear, 1/2 banana and added 1 T protein powder and a bit of honey. It was very flavorful, but not cold, so I added some ice and that diluted the flavor, so next time, I'll use frozen berries as stated. Never thought of making a smoothie without added liquid. I used my immersion blender and it worked great! Update: I tried this with homemade kefir (need to find more recipes, as you end up with it every day!) and it came out like a tangy, fruity smoothie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I love the idea of using pear in smoothies! It ended up with a really nice, really thick texture, which I loved. I think this confirmed that I just don't like kiwi in my drinks, lol, so not my favourite combination, but still worth trying. Thanks :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      Nice combination of flavors. I used a berry mix (blue, black and raspberries). I had never thought of putting flax seed in my smoothies. Thanks for the good idea! Made for ZWT III.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Good but not my absolute favorite smoothie, HOWEVER: I did find a few new key ingredients- pear and flax seed. I thought every smoothie had to have a banana to get that perfect texture, but I think pear does it too! I have recently discovered the wonders of that little brown seed in other foods, and adding it to smoothies is a great idea! And the photo is to die for- the whole reason I checked out this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      I'm quite new to this community and this is my first post, so "hello" to everyone. I very recently traded in my 15.5-year-old Vita-Mix for an upgrade to the 5000 and couldn't be happier with it--a miraculous machine! Hence, I was delighted that my search for a pear smoothie recipe yielded one developed by another VM owner. I used maple vanilla yogurt and have tried Comice, Bosc, and Scarlett Empress pears; all were great. I've always liked CC Pollen (you can store it in the freezer, BTW), so I used that along with Wyman's frozen blueberries; I like these because they're wild rather than cultivated which they claim makes for more "blue power," as well as a more complex flavor profile. I also added a slice of peeled fresh ginger because I suspected it would complement the pear (it did), as well as a quarter-teaspoon of cinnamon; research indicates that twice this amount taken daily is good for normalizing blood sugar levels (except for Type 1 diabetics). I removed the pear's core and stem, but left the seeds because they contain minute traces of cyanide which kills cancer cells. I also did some research and found that both varieties of flax seeds available in my area (NYC, black and golden) are nutritionally identical, so it really doesn't matter which one you buy. I don't know that one tastes different than the other or if it even matters in a recipe such as this one. Substituting a cup of vanilla soy milk for the yogurt is also good and results in a slightly thinner recipe. This is a really delicious and incredibly healthful way to start the day--thanks, Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      Delicious, very thick smoothie. Filling breakfast that's a good way to start the day with so many servings of fruit and the addition of flax seed. I never would have thought of the delicious pear-kiwi combo. Used blueberries and left off the bee pollen. Lots of good info in the recipe description, too. Thanks, Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      Yuuuuuum. I was really surprised at how well the kiwi and pear go together- I never would have thought! I used frozen organic raspberries for the berries (I think that maybe this is what is in the picture... unless those are lychees?). I left off the bee pollen, but I might try it with sometime because I can buy it from the bulk bin at my health food store. I had to add a little milk to make this drinkable- as it was it was quite thick, and I wanted it to be more drinkable than pudding-like, but I did use a thick yogurt too. I would think the flax probably has a nice role in the thickness of this, which I enjoyed, and its nice to get the nutrition of the flax too. I don't have a vitamix, so I ground the flax in my coffee grinder first. Really yummy and creamy- just delightful. I am not a big fruit person, but I'm trying to add more to my diet and I find it easiest in utilizing my blender to make great smoothies like this one! Note that this does make a LARGE serving, I was able to fill a 12-oz glass full almost twice (it was more like 1 and a half times). I've got a ton of kiwis in the frige and I will definitely want to make this again! One of the better smoothies I've tried so far. I'm looking foward to trying it with blueberries as ellie_ did and strawberries too! Thanks Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2004

      Delicious and filling too, even though I skipped the bee pollen and used blueberries (for the frozen berries) which also gave it a nice color. Thanks for sharing! I will be having this often for breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      This was very nice! I did add a little almond milk to thin it enough to blend because I used frozen strawberries and a few raspberries. Made a great breakfast! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pear, Kiwi, Berry, Flax Seed Smoothie

    Serving Size: 1 (428 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.8
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    23%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 15.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 62.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 34.5 g
    138%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    berries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites