Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Perfect Rice Every Time We Cook It! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Rice Every Time We Cook It!

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2003

      Jan, I have cooked many different styles of rice using this method and it works perfectly every time once you get use to the cooking time changes for each style of rice. It produces the perfect grain of cook rice. Thank you for posting the method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      I made it just like Dreamer in a veggies steamer and I used long grain rice.At step 5 I added herbs to make Green Herb Rice .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      I don't have a double boiler so I used a vegetable steamer in a large saucepan. My Basmati rice came out perfect. Thanks for posting, JJS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Came out great! I cooled a little and moulded in a small dish and served with a bit of sweet chilli sauce over the top as a side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      This worked so well. My rice cooker has broken and I wanted rice to serve with tonights dinner. Remembering your recipe I tried this and the rice was just perfect. A keeper, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      A great way to cook rice perfectly. I did my rice this way to take to a pot luck......It was much much nicer than the other dish of rice I saw on the buffet table!!!!Thanks for a 'keeper' for me :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      If you like your rice fluffy as dh does, than this is the way to do it. I used regular long grain rice. 15 min. was not long enough. Will do 20 min. next time.sure it will be prefect. thanks, Jan Round Oz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      Perfection! I boiled the rice first for 5 minutes, emptied it into a colander, and then placed the colander filled with rice over the pot with water, covered it, and allowed to steam for 10 minutes. I used 1 cup of rice and filled the pot 1/3rd of the way with water. This was so easy and absolutely the best rice I've made (and I am an avid cook). Thanks, JanS, for this new preparation technique.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      Jan, considering how often we eat rice, I feel ashamed to say that I had never perfected getting those fluffy grains, each one separate. Mine usually clumped together.. but not any more! Since I saw your recipe yesterday, I have made rice 3 times just to perfect it. So-o very excited. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2005

      Perfect rice & perfect timing! My rice steamer gave up the ghost last nite but I remembered seeing the photo or a previous review for this recipe. It was quick, easy & just the way we like our rice - I won't be rushing out to buy a new steamer. Thanx Jan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2004

      My rice usually turns out kind of soggy and tastes somewhat overcooked but tonight, my rice was just perfect. Thanks for posting this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2004

      I love the great rice that a "rice steamer" makes...but I don't have one. This recipe is wonderful...I never thought to use the pans I already have to make perfect rice...Thank You Jan S! I don't have to put a rice steamer on my Christmas list any more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      I have always had to steam this a bit longer than called for but that could be personal taste. This is a wonderful way to cook rice. No more sticky nasty blobs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Rice Every Time We Cook It!

    Serving Size: 1 (585 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes