Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Pork Roast With Port, Star Anise, Ginger and Tamarind Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Roast With Port, Star Anise, Ginger and Tamarind

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2012

      We need a 10 star option. Amazing! By far the best pork I have ever had, let alone made. I use a pork loin when I make this. There are only 2 of us so it's still enough food, and I can make it in about 45 minutes that way. (Roasting pan, uncovered, 2- 2.5 lbs, about 400*, about 45 minutes - We like our pork really done). The only other thing I change is that I use Syrah or Malbec from Frontera. It's pretty cheap but really tasty. We get a double bottle and serve it with dinner also. Anyway, this recipe is definitely restaurant quality and makes the perfect at-home date night. We usually have it with a salad and a rice dish, and oh yeah, plenty of wine!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      Delicious! The hint of anise in the pork is lovely, and it came out nice and moist. This recipe's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      What an interesting dish!! Asian flavours with the rosemary & port!! Have to say I was a tad sceptical & didn't know what to serve with it. Took note of other reviewers & made your smashed taters (a long-time fave now)& that worked. I cooked about a kilo of stewing pork in my new pressure cooker (any Perthites here, the French lady at Subi has a great sale on now). Soo tender. If I'd been organised I was going to use the crock pot, but I think the pressure cooker gave a more tender result. Despite the mainly Asian flavours, the potatoes went well with it. My husband & son both absolutely RAVED about this dish & want me to make it weekly - and that's high praise indeed. Thank you, mate:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      We are staying with Jewelies for a few days and she cooked this for our dinner last night. It was delicious with parmesan crusted mashed potato balls, carrots and asparagus and the wonderfully flavoured pan juices served over it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Really yummy! I put everything in the crock pot (minus the oil), with a bit more wine. I also added 1 cinammon stick, 1 whole chili, and a head of bok choy. It was super!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      I, too, used a tenderloin and so roasted for approximately 40 minutes, as suggested. The spice blend was sensational and I loved the sticky-sweet-tart of the tamarind paste with the brown sugar. Very nice pan juices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      I'm staying at Jewelies' house for a couple of days and she made this for dinner last night. It was wonderfuland the pork was moist and falling apart tender! Jewelies served it with her famous Smashed Potatoes with caraway seeds and peas and corn. Can't wait to try this at home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      A family favorite. I've made this several times, with great reults. The family loves it, and the leftovers are great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2005

      I'm in agreement with the first three reviewers-fabulous flavor! I, too, used a small pork tenderloin which I roasted at 400°F for around 40 minutes. Meat was tender and flavorful, and sauce simply wonderful. Don't neglect to eat the onions (and even the garlic cloves!). Only caution is that if you don't use low-sodium soy sauce, be careful with adding any extra salt (recipe doesn't recommend salting anywhere, but you might do so out of habit). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2005

      Terrific flavor. Very easy to put together, I did my roast in the slow cooker. A recipe that I will certainly make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2004

      This was really delicious, I used Roast Pork Scotch Fillet and only 750g of it. I browned the meat and fried the onions then transferred all to a casserole dish and cooked this in my microwave on the casserole setting for 1hour and it turned out perfect. This is much the same as red cooked pork - the addition of tamarind paste and rosemary give it a different flavour. I was skeptical about the rosemary as the ingredients are typical asian but it turned out perfect and I will cook this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2004

      simply delicious! i used a tenderloin so that reduced the cooking time to 40 minutes. the flavor of the sauce is excellent. i plan on slow roasting this with a loin during the winter months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Roast With Port, Star Anise, Ginger and Tamarind

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.2
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    42%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 160.0 mg
    53%
    Sodium 805.2 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 55.1 g
    110%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger

    rosemary

    star anise

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites