12 Reviews

We need a 10 star option. Amazing! By far the best pork I have ever had, let alone made. I use a pork loin when I make this. There are only 2 of us so it's still enough food, and I can make it in about 45 minutes that way. (Roasting pan, uncovered, 2- 2.5 lbs, about 400*, about 45 minutes - We like our pork really done). The only other thing I change is that I use Syrah or Malbec from Frontera. It's pretty cheap but really tasty. We get a double bottle and serve it with dinner also. Anyway, this recipe is definitely restaurant quality and makes the perfect at-home date night. We usually have it with a salad and a rice dish, and oh yeah, plenty of wine!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyLynn99 March 03, 2012

Delicious! The hint of anise in the pork is lovely, and it came out nice and moist. This recipe's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flor_enojada February 25, 2014

What an interesting dish!! Asian flavours with the rosemary & port!! Have to say I was a tad sceptical & didn't know what to serve with it. Took note of other reviewers & made your smashed taters (a long-time fave now)& that worked. I cooked about a kilo of stewing pork in my new pressure cooker (any Perthites here, the French lady at Subi has a great sale on now). Soo tender. If I'd been organised I was going to use the crock pot, but I think the pressure cooker gave a more tender result. Despite the mainly Asian flavours, the potatoes went well with it. My husband & son both absolutely RAVED about this dish & want me to make it weekly - and that's high praise indeed. Thank you, mate:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heatherbelle2 January 02, 2008

We are staying with Jewelies for a few days and she cooked this for our dinner last night. It was delicious with parmesan crusted mashed potato balls, carrots and asparagus and the wonderfully flavoured pan juices served over it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS November 22, 2007

Really yummy! I put everything in the crock pot (minus the oil), with a bit more wine. I also added 1 cinammon stick, 1 whole chili, and a head of bok choy. It was super!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito October 24, 2007

I, too, used a tenderloin and so roasted for approximately 40 minutes, as suggested. The spice blend was sensational and I loved the sticky-sweet-tart of the tamarind paste with the brown sugar. Very nice pan juices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 01, 2007

I'm staying at Jewelies' house for a couple of days and she made this for dinner last night. It was wonderfuland the pork was moist and falling apart tender! Jewelies served it with her famous Smashed Potatoes with caraway seeds and peas and corn. Can't wait to try this at home!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kookaburra April 19, 2007

A family favorite. I've made this several times, with great reults. The family loves it, and the leftovers are great too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittymonkey June 11, 2006

I'm in agreement with the first three reviewers-fabulous flavor! I, too, used a small pork tenderloin which I roasted at 400°F for around 40 minutes. Meat was tender and flavorful, and sauce simply wonderful. Don't neglect to eat the onions (and even the garlic cloves!). Only caution is that if you don't use low-sodium soy sauce, be careful with adding any extra salt (recipe doesn't recommend salting anywhere, but you might do so out of habit). Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx June 08, 2005

Terrific flavor. Very easy to put together, I did my roast in the slow cooker. A recipe that I will certainly make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dnbbrimmer January 13, 2005
Pork Roast With Port, Star Anise, Ginger and Tamarind