Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Puffed Cheese Omelet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Puffed Cheese Omelet

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2009

      Great Omelet, made this as a special breakfast for DH after he returned from a long trip and he loved it. I followed your advice and didn't add anything additional to it. When making it I always have a hard time turnng the omelette so I started it in a pan with metal handles till the bottom was firm and then placed in a 350 pre-heated oven for the top to become firm. Then when I removed it - was a snap to fold in half. Loved how fluffy and light it was with whisking the whites of the eggs. This was a great tasting, elegant looking and simple to prepare breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      The most delicious omelet I have ever eaten. I was wondering how to use the mascarpone cheese I had leftover from another recipe and this was perfect. I omitted the rosemary as a personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Simply delicious!! A really light and fluffy omelet,obtained with the utmost ease....full of flavour from the chives,and the mixture of cheeses (I went with the sour cream option rather than the mascarpone). An indulgent start to the day that doesn't require much effort...thumbs up from me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      So good! I used fat free sour cream instead of the mascarpone. I will be making my omelets like this from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      I made this as written although 5 minutes on my range yielded a close-to-burnt omelet. So, I quickly moved the pan to a smaller burner and reduced the temperature to low. Fresh herbs from the garden, heavy cream for cream, full fat sour cream for mascarpone, local free range eggs, Irish Dubliner cheddar. Unlike any omelet I've ever eaten. If angels prepared omelets, it would taste like this! Thank you for posting the recipe! It's been added to my newest cookbook: Book #250250! Most importantly however: ~Tasty Dish~ approved! Reviewed for ZWT 2009. Keep the excellent recipes comin', Bluemoon! cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Very delicious! I for some reason could not get the egg white to stiffen but rather just mixed them with the egg yolk and had to be satisfied with that. I also used garlic chives and cream cheese in this recipe. I made this in the one side of our omelet maker so I put the mix in first and then covered with eggs and it really puffed up!! This was delicious! Made for ZWT5 omelet challenge, Dining Daredevils.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I followed your lead with the herbs & included the optional ones, resulting in an ABSOLUTELY GREAT OMELET BREAKFAST! Would definitely make this one again! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged, made & reviewed while touring France with ZWT5]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Oh my goodness- Divine! I do have a few comments though. The taste was thru the roof- easily 10 stars, but my omelette made as directed got way more browned than I normally would like. After beating the egg whites to stiff peaks and folding in the yolk mixture I could not pour the mixture into my pan but rather spread it in. I used 1 tbsp of butter as I didn't see it in the directions and I thought that was a pretty standard amount. I used medium low-medium heat and had to cover the pan as the bottom was cooking so fast and the top not yet done. I couldn't spread the mascarpone mixture because the top was so delicate but rather plopped it on in small spoonfuls. I too added a bit more cheddar and have to say that despite what I feel was overcooked probably one of the best tasting omelettes I have ever eaten. I will perfect this technique for my needs and make again very soon. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT5 Omelette Challenge. eta: I made this again and while it still was very brown, the flavor was as spectacular as the first time I made it! I forgot to mention in original post that I did in fact use all optional ingredients even though I went very light on the sage. I added a star as I craved this omelette for 2 days after originally trying it. So delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Loved it!! I skipped the Rosemary as I am not a huge fan but put a pinch of the sage and all the rest of the ingredients. Made a very tasty breakfast! Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT5 for Ali Baba Babes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      super recipe. Yes it browns on the bottom (i think the other reviewer had the best idea, cover the pan so the top sets more quickly) but the lightness and taste is delightful. I used a gruyere cheese and parmesan, worked out beautifully

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      "Heat the butter"--what butter? There's none listed in the ingredient list. I had to guess the amount, and I think I guessed too much. But that's the only quibble I have with this delicious recipe. I've been looking for a puffy omelet that didn't require finishing in the oven, and this one is perfect. I had to add dried rosemary, but used fresh sage and chives, and added a little fresh savory. I also followed the suggestion to add mushrooms. The result was wonderful, light but very satisfying. My mother used to serve omelets just like this for supper, and I think this would make a wonderful dish any time of day, any time of year. Made for ZWT 5 Omelette challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Oh so good! Made for ZWT 5 and Omelet challenge for Rail Riding Rowdies.Also had to use cream cheese, but was excellent and I'd like to make it next time with the marscapone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      MERP'd for ZWT5 and Omelette Challenge for The Groovy Gastrognomes.This is wonderful!! I had to use cream cheese and no sage but it was still great. Even my biggest critic(DD) loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      This was so good and really hit the spot. Very light and fluffy. I added way more cheddar, but I am a cheese-a-holic. Would never have thought to add sage and rosemary to a cheese omelette but, you know, it worked fine! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      *Reviewed during ZWT5 France visit for the Chow Hounds Team* Wow! Wow! Wow! This was one great omelet :) I used fresh sage and rosemary and included the marscarpone. The filling was divine! SO creamy and rich. Beating the egg whites really did make the moelt puffy. This was an omelet that you could easily make and serve to company. For anyone making this omelet ---its definitely worth including the marscapone cheese. It took this omelet to another level . Photo also being posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Very good. I could not find mascarpone either, so I used cream cheese. Just as good. It was very filling, with great flavors.Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      This was different and very good! I made as directed and enjoyed the lightness of the omelet. I couldn't find marscapone so used cream cheese. Thanks! Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Puffed Cheese Omelet

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 191.6
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    80%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 223.8 mg
    74%
    Sodium 186.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mascarpone

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes