8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Pat, this is an outstanding recipe! It is so easy and quick to make and tastes lovely!
The pumpkin (I used hokkaido squash) goes great with the rosemary and parmesan cheese and the walnuts add such a great crunch on top.
I loved the flavour of this savoury loaf and will surely make this often again during this fall.
I only had dried rosemary on hand, so I used 2 ts of that, but will only use 1 1/2 ts next time as I found it a little too prominent.
Also I would suggest adding the topping after half the baking time or covering the loaf with the topping already applied as mine got quite dark and I had to scrape some off.
Other than that though I really enjoyed this recipe and so did my family! :)
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing another winner with us, Pat!
Made and reviewed for PRMR September 2010.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 15, 2010

Wow Pat you have out done yourself with this one! This is fantastic and will be making often this winter. The tasty combo of rosemary, parmesan, walnuts mixed into a savory squash bread makes this the tastiest of treats all on its own, but pairs beautifully with other foods such as soup or roasted veggie dinner. Made using butternut squash which I did not mash to much as want to be able to see pieces in the bread and used the olive oil option. Would not change a thing. Thanks for the post.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl October 10, 2010

Thank you for a really outstanding recipe. I joined Food.com just to be able to rate it! My second loaf is in the oven as I type!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allcraz June 12, 2011

This is wonderful! I have been on the search for a savory pumpkin bread recipe for years after enjoying one in Santa Fe, NM. This one does not disappoint! We enjoyed this alongside our soup for dinner yesterday. This recipe will be a great inspiration for other savory combinations. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms December 22, 2010

STUNNING! I love savoury scones and breads and this was a winner! The combo was SPOT on and my parents loved it! Made it whilst back in the UK on holiday, sorry for being late! Made for Recipe Swap in OZ/NZ forum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart November 08, 2010

This was excellent. I love cooking and baking with pumpkin. It's so nice to find wonderful savory pumpkin recipes like this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana October 09, 2010

Very nice flavor! For the pumpkin I used leftover roasted butternut squash that had been seasoned with a bit of garlic and red pepper flakes, and I added some chopped toasted walnuts to the batter. Most of my cheese cracked off the loaf when I sliced it, but it made a great topping for my salad! Tagged under the 24-hour rule for 1,2,3 Hit Wonders ~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle August 12, 2012

I have never been great at following rules and this was no exception! Instead of pumpkin, I used acorn squash because I happened to have one here (doesn't everyone?) and bought a bag of walnuts that ended up being pecans! Even with these changes, this was a wonderful loaf! A very delicious and savoury loaf! You could use the basic recipe and change the herb to another one or use a different kind of cheese - it's very change-friendly. Made for Went to the Market tag game. Thanks I'mPat! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif December 12, 2010
Pumpkin, Parmesan and Walnut Scone Loaf