24 Reviews

Now that we're seeing asparagus (from Cali) here locally and we enjoy it I've been cooking with asparagus often. This was easy to make and tasted really good. I used dried rosemary and heated up the butter until it was nutty but not burnt. This was served with an omelet and a basic side salad of seasonal veggies. I used a pan grill to prepare the asparagus and local Oregon-made butter. Prepared for Recipe Swap #86 in Australia/NZ forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl March 15, 2014

What a fabulous way to cook asparagus! I didn't have a grill pan so I just put my asparagus ingredients into a foil packet. I made 4x the recipe for 4 people, which worked perfectly. My family didn't like the little rosemary nettles, but I loved them! Thank you for posting a quick, easy way to grill asparagus!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood May 16, 2011

This made a very nice accompaniment to grilled steaks and baked potatoes. I used tender young asparagus tips. The butter was melted and then drizzled over the asparagus. My fresh rosemary was perfect to use in this. I did top it off with a touch of course salt. Made for Aussie Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 07, 2011

Wow! Another great recipe from Peter J! DH and I agreed if we could rate this 10 stars, we certainly would! Our favorite veggie is asparagus, so we're always looking for different ways to prepare it. We have grilled it before using olive oil and seasonings, but we both agreed we like the flavor of butter much better. As stated in a previous review, we felt the serving was much too small for us and adjusted the recipe so that we each had 10 spears. The asparagus turned out crisp-tender with a nice grilled flavor. Thank you for another yummy recipe! (Made and reviewed for NZ/AUS Recipe Swap #28, May'09)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe May 26, 2009

We made this recipe as a side to Cherry-balsamic Glazed Chicken Breasts and found it to be complimentary. I used 1.5 lbs of asparagus as there were three of us for dinner and we love asparagus. We used a stick of butter and approximately a tablespoon of dried rosemary. Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny May 16, 2009

I tripled this recipe for the three of us. I didn't feel that 2 spears per person would be enough for my family. I made as directed and we all enjoyed this. I too used dried rosemary as I didn't have fresh. Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 14, 2009

I loved the asparagus, but I have to wonder about the quantity. 4 spears for 2 people? I would at least double that. That being said, the rosemary was a new idea for us, but a good one. I assumed that you meant dried, since you didn't specify, but I used fresh, since I have it in the garden and used about 1 1/2 teaspoons for 8 spears. I liked it, but I'll cut back a bit next time. What I really like about this recipe is how roasting really brings out the sweet notes in the flavor of the asparagus. You really don't get those when you steam or boil it. Thanks for posting agreat and easy recipe! Made for ZWT5 by one of the Cooks with Dirty Faces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH May 12, 2009

This is fabulous! I really like how they came out nice and crisp and not mushy. Not much worse than a mushy Asparagus spear. The rosemary was a nice change from the usual butter and lemon pepper. I did add some fresh cracked black pepper to mine. This was delicious and simple. Made and Reviewed for ANZ Recipe Swap #25 - Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ February 25, 2009

This was a nice, easy way to made asparagus on a grill. I, like another reviewer, used tin foil to make my own plate. As it is Feb in Nebraska, I made this on an indoor grill. Good flavor, good stuff. Made for I Recommend Tag Game, 2/16/09 - NELady.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady February 17, 2009
Quick BBQ Asparagus