Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary and Garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary and Garlic

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2002

      I tried Jan's recipe. What two better flavors are there then garlic and rosmary? Wonderful, mouth watering taste, this lamb dish is a must do.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2003

      Would you please pass the jelly? The mint jelly, that is! Jan, this recipe turned out a moist, succulent lamb which had the most pleasant flavor. I served with roasted potatoes and mint jelly as you suggested, also a broccoli casserole and egg twist dinner rolls. Thank you, Jan, for a wonderful supper tonight!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! I've made this using both bone-in and boneless leg of lamb and it's fabulous. It made the perfect Easter dinner with tiny new red potatoes and asparagus with hollandaise sauce. As an added bonus we have enough leftovers to make lamb curry. A wonderful, wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      This lamb had very good flavor. We used fresh rosemary and it was delicious! Very easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      If you are lamb loves like we are then you will love this one! I loved the rosemary and how the flavors went so well together. I look forward to making this for company coming in a few weeks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      This turned out amazing!! The rosemary and garlic stuffed into the roast make such an impact! I had planned to serve it for a family dinner-the power went out & so, we resorted to using the bbq. We seared it first and then put it into a roasting pan. We placed the roasting pan right on the bbq and it turned out amazing!!!! The juice in the bottom was outstanding! Wonderful tasting lamb roast!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      This is the perfect way to make a roasted leg of lamb, have been doing for 20 years+ and has never disappointed, I just cook a little longer (I'm outvoted on doneness I like mine pink but the rest like well done). Tonight I served with roasted and steamed veg and French Tarts Traditional Gravy for Roast Beef, Lamb, Pork or Duck which is the way I have also been making gravy for 20 years+. So tonight was a very memorable meal. Thank you to Jan for the lamb (was going to post only to found already here - as I did for the gravy). Made as a recipextra for Recipe Swap #26 March 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      Great! Everyone loved it. I dissolved a beef bouillon cube in the water that I added to the bottom of the pan. I think I would have liked mint jelly with it but I was out. It was nice with the drippings though too. Thanks for suggesting it! I am happy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This lamb was such a great choice for our dinner entree! We loved the spices on it and it gave it so much flavor. I haven't found a better recipe for lamb as of yet, so this is my new favorite! This will be enjoyed by my bunch many times down the road!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      I wanted to try my hand at cooking some lamb and chose this recipe because it looked simple and sounded great. It had awesome flavor, was tender and delicious and now that I have made it with success, I will make it again for my family to enjoy. Thank you for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      This is just the best way to roast a lamb. It all crisps up on the outside and the smells while cooking are amazing. Served with roast potatoes and steamed veggies. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      i made this for dinner using a 2 lb butterflied leg of lamb that was rolled and tied. this is the classic way to roast a leg of lamb, and was delicious. i cooked this in a convection oven for 1 1/4 hours because it was a small roast and it was perfect for all of us, as dh prefers his meat rarer than i.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      This roast was a delicious addition to my dinner over the weekend. We had with roasted potatoes with balsamic vinegar, garlic and rosemary. Excellent flavors that went over very well with my company. Everyone gave this 5 stars and would have given it more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      I know I can't go wrong with any lamb recipe by JanRoundOz this was no exception -delicious. I had an unexpected guest for dinner so lovely leg in freezer got defrosted in a hurry. This recipe is so easy to prepare and the end result was rave reviews from everyone. I added water to the pan twice as it baked. It was golden on the outside and just pink on the inside - A winner of a recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      I have always made my roast with an almost similar recipe and it turns out absolutely fantastic each time! I put an onion, cut in half, in the bottom of the roasting tin and place the lamb on top and cover the tin loosely with foil and bake for 1 1/2-2 hours depending on the size of the leg and then cook for another 30 minutes with the cover off. Rosemary and lamb is the perfect combination. I always serve it with a onion and rosemary gravy or mint jelly, roast potatoes and peas to go with it. Made it last night and served it with gravy and FT's fabulous My Mum's Easy and Traditional English Yorkshire Pudding! For a succulent, tender and flavoursome lamb dish, I highly recommend this recipe. Thank you, Jan, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Wouldn't expect anything less from you Jan - oustanding and easy! I used beef stock, garlic, onion & celery under the rack to give flavour. Used a lot more garlic & rosemary but that's just a personal preference & I do feel the stronger flavour of lamb can handle it. Our oven is very uneven in terms of heating so cooked for about an hour very tightly covered with foil, then about another hour uncovered with a slight increase in oven temp. Served with a garlic onion & rosemary jus I made up & some crispy roast potatoes. Delicious, flavoursome, tender & juicy - shame there were no leftovers between 3, but hey there's always next time. Thanks Jan :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      WOW! What a great meal. Even the leftovers (after zapped in the microwave) were fantastic. We had this with apple-mint jelly (mint jelly is apparently unavailable where we live). The lamb was great with or without. I cooked mine in a roaster for about 2 hours. 1 1/2 on 350 degrees then reduced for the next 30 minutes. I had a 3 lb. boneless leg of lamb. It was sooooo moist and sooooo tender. I would highly recomend this recipe to everyone who ever has the luxury of indulging in lamb. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      I made this about a month ago using a 5lb lamb roast and it turned out great! I was a little scared to try it because I've never made lamb before and I'd invited my in-laws over for dinner. I think I ended up cooking it for about 15-20 minutes longer because of the size but other than that I didn't change anything. Everybody loved it! My mother-in-law still talks about it and she wants me to make it for Christmas dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      This was so good! I used a 4-pound boneless leg, and it came out just delicious. I had never roasted lamb, and am so happy I chose your recipe--thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      This was wonderful! I served with my Bulgur Salad#148499. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary and Garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 692.2
     
    Calories from Fat 425
    61%
    Total Fat 47.2 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 19.6 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 223.3 mg
    74%
    Sodium 190.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 62.0 g
    124%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites