12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

mumma this a fine any night steak. I really enjoyed this as my life is a bit hectic right now and needed to make DH something substantial after 1 week of no eating (dentist) He enjoyed this very much and said make again anytime. Normally he is a steak on the plate no "stuff" but the gravy was great so he was good with it. I make boiled baby taters and put yummy gravy in a bowl to drizzle over them. Served with fresh salad greens and asparagus. Will make this again. I did the cookie sheet trick as you did and found this so much easier than foil to be able to get in a stir. Used a 225 degree oven for 2 1/4 hrs. I can see this a crock pot meal in the winter or hot dog days of summer when you want the kitchen cool. Thank you for a great meal. PS- leftover the next day were even better!!!! Sliced steak super thin, put on homemade italian bread rolls, dripped on gravy and wala a 2nd meal with watermelon, cantaloupe and asparagus raw.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie June 27, 2013

Great. Quick and easy as well as being very very tasty. Served with mashed potatoes and brocolli. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap August 2012. Sorry no photo. Didn't look that photogenic when served, but this was surely made up for with the taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kathy August 07, 2012

Nice meal without a lot of fuss and the meat turned out nice and tender. DH said he could make a whole meal out of the onion gravy. Made as written using cube steak. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl April 09, 2011

Saturday Steak went over very good for us last Sunday! I took all afternoon to cook this with the oven only on about 130C. It warmed the house up and it warmed us up. I had no problems at all with the flour and did exactally as you said, gave it a bit of a whisk with a fork after about an hour. I used real, ripe tomatoes and like Susie, a bit of Worcestshire sauce. Thanks Mumma.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies July 20, 2010

Very good, everyone said I could make this again. It made tons of sauce - next time I'll make it with rice or noodles. I didn't stir the flour in after one hour, so I had clumps, but I just strained it and it was fine. I saved the leftover sauce to put with pasta for lunch. Yummy! Thanks mummamills! Made for Aus/NZ Swap #36 - Go Beetroots!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buzymomof3 February 01, 2010

Oh gosh this was wonderful and very easy. I cooked this on the stove and had moist steak and very good gravy. Browned the sliced steaks, used a can of petite diced tomatoes with the juice, and tomato sauce with basil and garlic. Added beef broth to cover the meat instead of the water and cooked slowly until tender. Served on top of rice and spooned the gravy over it all. So good! Thank you mummamills for sharing this recipe! Made and reviewed for the Aussie/NewZealand Recipe Tag #34.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 14, 2009

Simply lovely mummamills. The steak smelled wonderful while cooking and tasted terrific, moist and tender and the gravy was....just over the top. My dh & I enjoyed this tasty, quick and easy to make meal very much. Thank you so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato November 24, 2009

The perfect dish after a a day spent in the garden -to come in tired and hungry with a meal at hand is as good as it gets - the aroma alone worth five stars! With not being in the kitchen I decided to do as Susan and used the slow cooker. Have to agree it was deliciously savoury, tender and yes the gravy was sensational. Thank you for sharing a recipe so easily made and tastes so good. Made for Aus/NZ recipe swap #30.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry July 28, 2009

This was a perfect meal to make on a lazy night - quick and tasty! I found that the gravy was too runny at the end, though, and I think now that I should have mixed the flour with the sauce and perhaps taken the meat out and reduced the gravy a little on the stove-top. This is certainly versatile, though and could be endlessly varied with spicy sauces and homemade barbeque sauces, too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda in Adelaide June 07, 2007

This was very nice had great flavour in the gravy made so much of it though! Will make again quick and easy to make apart from cooking time would of liked to known exactly how much water to put in as all pan sizes are different but seemed to work anyway just had to cook it a bit longer to thicken a bit more and I did mix the tomato sauce flour and some water before putting in pan

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oriana February 14, 2007
Saturday Steak