Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Saturday Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Saturday Steak

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2013

      mumma this a fine any night steak. I really enjoyed this as my life is a bit hectic right now and needed to make DH something substantial after 1 week of no eating (dentist) He enjoyed this very much and said make again anytime. Normally he is a steak on the plate no "stuff" but the gravy was great so he was good with it. I make boiled baby taters and put yummy gravy in a bowl to drizzle over them. Served with fresh salad greens and asparagus. Will make this again. I did the cookie sheet trick as you did and found this so much easier than foil to be able to get in a stir. Used a 225 degree oven for 2 1/4 hrs. I can see this a crock pot meal in the winter or hot dog days of summer when you want the kitchen cool. Thank you for a great meal. PS- leftover the next day were even better!!!! Sliced steak super thin, put on homemade italian bread rolls, dripped on gravy and wala a 2nd meal with watermelon, cantaloupe and asparagus raw.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Great. Quick and easy as well as being very very tasty. Served with mashed potatoes and brocolli. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap August 2012. Sorry no photo. Didn't look that photogenic when served, but this was surely made up for with the taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      Nice meal without a lot of fuss and the meat turned out nice and tender. DH said he could make a whole meal out of the onion gravy. Made as written using cube steak. Thanks for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Saturday Steak went over very good for us last Sunday! I took all afternoon to cook this with the oven only on about 130C. It warmed the house up and it warmed us up. I had no problems at all with the flour and did exactally as you said, gave it a bit of a whisk with a fork after about an hour. I used real, ripe tomatoes and like Susie, a bit of Worcestshire sauce. Thanks Mumma.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Very good, everyone said I could make this again. It made tons of sauce - next time I'll make it with rice or noodles. I didn't stir the flour in after one hour, so I had clumps, but I just strained it and it was fine. I saved the leftover sauce to put with pasta for lunch. Yummy! Thanks mummamills! Made for Aus/NZ Swap #36 - Go Beetroots!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Oh gosh this was wonderful and very easy. I cooked this on the stove and had moist steak and very good gravy. Browned the sliced steaks, used a can of petite diced tomatoes with the juice, and tomato sauce with basil and garlic. Added beef broth to cover the meat instead of the water and cooked slowly until tender. Served on top of rice and spooned the gravy over it all. So good! Thank you mummamills for sharing this recipe! Made and reviewed for the Aussie/NewZealand Recipe Tag #34.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Simply lovely mummamills. The steak smelled wonderful while cooking and tasted terrific, moist and tender and the gravy was....just over the top. My dh & I enjoyed this tasty, quick and easy to make meal very much. Thank you so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      The perfect dish after a a day spent in the garden -to come in tired and hungry with a meal at hand is as good as it gets - the aroma alone worth five stars! With not being in the kitchen I decided to do as Susan and used the slow cooker. Have to agree it was deliciously savoury, tender and yes the gravy was sensational. Thank you for sharing a recipe so easily made and tastes so good. Made for Aus/NZ recipe swap #30.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      This was a perfect meal to make on a lazy night - quick and tasty! I found that the gravy was too runny at the end, though, and I think now that I should have mixed the flour with the sauce and perhaps taken the meat out and reduced the gravy a little on the stove-top. This is certainly versatile, though and could be endlessly varied with spicy sauces and homemade barbeque sauces, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      This was very nice had great flavour in the gravy made so much of it though! Will make again quick and easy to make apart from cooking time would of liked to known exactly how much water to put in as all pan sizes are different but seemed to work anyway just had to cook it a bit longer to thicken a bit more and I did mix the tomato sauce flour and some water before putting in pan

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      I took this slow cooked recipe a step further and made it in the crock pot. It turned out deliciously savoury and tender, served as suggested over mashed potatoes. I added some Worcestshire sauce when the tomato sauce went in and used less water as is usual with crock pot cookery.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      I really enjoyed this, the meat was so tender but when I checked it after about 1hr 40 min. the sauce was water and the flour had not mixed in to make the sauce, so it was a bit lumpy on top ( I did blend it in and it thickened afterwards). I followed the recipe as above, I used a deep oven tray, I probably had a little bit more that 1 kg steak. Wasn't sure what very slow meant but cooked it on 140 C .Very easy to do, just make sure the water fully covers the meat and veg so the flour mixes in to make the sauce thicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Steak Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Saturday Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (412 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 580.8
     
    Calories from Fat 275
    47%
    Total Fat 30.6 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 187.3 mg
    62%
    Sodium 295.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 54.3 g
    108%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites