Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Sesame Carrots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sesame Carrots

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2002

      This recipe takes an ordinary veggie and turns it inot a fabulous side dish without a lot a work. YUMMY! Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      If you want to try something a little different try this delicious carrot recipe. The smell is indeed wonderful, but the flavour is awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      Jan, these carrots were delightful! I made them exactly as directed as per your instructions and they came out perfectly. I served them with Miss Annie's Crockpot Chicken and Herb Dumplings, Strawberry Coconut Muffins and they proved to be the perfect side dish. Thank you so much for posting a this recipe! I am always looking for a new way to prepare carrots, and you have delivered just that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      This is a really wonderful way to do carrots. They almost caramelize on the bottom while cooking. The only change I would make in future is to leave the carrots in fairly large chunks, as the longer cooking time makes them quite soft, and I would use a little less oil in the initial part of the cooking. Other than that, they are a must try. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      Oven roasted carrots, flavored with sesame oil and topped with toasted sesame seeds. An enchanting flavor combination that is so easy to make. DH cooked them in a foil pan on a covered barbeque gas grill. Well Jan, I guess I will have to elevate you from my "lamb guru" to my "lamb and carrot guru". Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      What a wonderful recipe for carrots! My family often neglects carrots as a sidedish, but these will become a regular at our house. I left the carrots in larger pieces and the texture was perfect! Thanks a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      Yummy! We really enjoyed these carrots this evening. A little too much oil for us in the initial preparation, so next time I will cut down a little. Your instructions turned out perfectly cooked carrots -- and so very flavorful. Thanks, Jan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2003

      I was looking for something to do with carrots, one of the few vegetables my dh likes! This recipe went waaayyyy beyond ordinary, and is of restaurant quality in my opinion. This motivates me to look at other Zaar recipes for vegetables! Thanks Jan for a super technique and preperation!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

    • on February 11, 2013

      Delish! I have such a hard time getting hubby to eat carrots, but he is already planning to take the leftovers for lunch tomorrow, so this one is a keeper. I read the reviews that said the carrots (which I used petite baby carrots) were overcooked at the recipe time, so I checked at 30 minutes, then had to continue cooking until the recipe said anyway, so I think the time is accurate. I added sugar snap peas to this, as well as using soy sauce rather than salt. I left off the sesame seeds, as I didn't have any, but this was super good anyway! Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      These carrots were so delicious! My hubby is not a big carrot fan so I thought I would get to enjoy the majority of this dish for myself, but to my surprise -- he loved them and ate his fair share! We loved the addition of the sesame oil and the sesame seeds -- it just really brought out the flavor of the carrots and made a great presentation. Will definitely make this dish again! Made for the AUS/NZ tag, January, 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

    • on September 19, 2011

      I was looking for a new way to cook carrots, and this was a great one. I think it may be my new favorite way to eat them. The husband loved it, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      These turned out great! I had smaller carrots so I didn't have to cook it as long. A nice change for carrots. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Easy to make and tastes so good thoroughly enjoyed with JustJanS Slow Roasted Leg of Lamb With Oregano and Lemon (just the lamb only though) and *Parsley* Roasted Oregano Potatoes which made for a complete dinner Thank you Jan made for Make My Recipe Edition 11.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      I improvised this in the microwave with a bit of soy sauce thrown in, so the whole thing was done in less than five minutes. Very good! A nice light flavor that was the perfect complement to my Asian tofu/rice dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      this is a roasted carrot taste with sesame flavoring...not one we are used to, but it was GOOD and went well with the other 'Asian' food I made for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I made these the other night and it had mixed reviews. Half my family like the sesame flavor with the carrots and half just thought they were OK. They all dissappeared from the table but they weren't their favorite. I'm still glad I tried them ( I was on the liked them side). thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      These weren't bad, but I don't know that I'd make again. If I do, I'll pan-roast them on the stove. We weren't all that thrilled with the sesame/carrot flavor combination. Maybe some ginger would make a nice addition. Also, cooking for for the specified time in a 350 degree oven made these carrots too soft and mushy for our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sesame Carrots

    Serving Size: 1 (92 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.0
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    66%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 86.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites