42 Reviews

This was good, but dare I say, a bit too rich for my taste (and for most of my guests). It also had quite a bit of separated oil/butter upon re-heating, so I think I'll keep looking (if only for the sake of my arteries).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KVasanth December 27, 2010

Made it for an office potluck, everyone loved this recipe, I thought that it was a bit too much to add in 8oz of the sour cream and cream cheese but it worked out. I also sauteed more garlic and put it in for better "garlic-y" flavor. The recipe as it stands didn't have enough in my opinion. Asked to make it again for another potluck!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CCuz December 21, 2010

To DIE for... I do not like mashed potatoes but my family loves them. I try to find a happy medium so that I can enjoy my meal as much as they do. This recipe does it. From a self professed mashed potato hater these are wonderful. I try to cook heart healthy in the house as my hubbies has high cholesterol. I substituted fat free plain yogurt for the sour cream and low fat cream cheese for the regularly cream cheese. I still used the butter as I prefer the taste but cut it to 1/4 cup. these potatoes were creamy and delicious. I have never not whipped my potatoes with a mixer. This recipe does NOT need to be whipped. They mashed beautifully. I barely got the dish to the table before the family started digging in. thanks for a marvelous recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby, Sarah & Eli's Mom March 06, 2010

Wanted a make ahead mashed potatoe casserole for Thanksgiving dinner, but too much cream cheese for our liking. Next time might even skip it and just use the sour cream and some extra butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lillian's grandma January 05, 2012

Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TapsGrl19 January 21, 2011

My go to recipe for garlic mashed potatoes. Turns out great every time. I like to add a little season salt while mashing. I also sprinkle a little on top for looks along with a couple of pats of butter before baking. Don't be shy with the garlic, I add a bunch and still think it's light on the garlic flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWendyMG December 04, 2010

I love mashed potatoes plain, but this Garlic Mashed is so good. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a good potato dish for turkey day.

Regards, Food Review

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodreview November 15, 2010

These really are sinfully good!! I used 12 russet potatoes, 10 cloves of garlic, and added the exact amount of sour cream, cream cheese, and butter as specified. Placed the potato mixture in a 4-quart oval glass baking dish, which I had already sprayed w/a no-stick cooking spray, then I topped the taters with pats of butter, (2 Tbsp) and sprinkled on a bit of the paprika. I baked this in a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes. At the dinner table, my husband proceeded to sprinkle a bit of flax seed on his taters. He said it made the taters taste even better, so I proceeded to sprinkle some on mine as well. These taters taste great as is, but I also think they taste even better by sprinkling on the flax seed. It was a great way to add more fiber to our diet. Anyhoo mama, thanx for the yummy garlic tater recipe. It's a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess March 04, 2010

I cut this recipe down for 5 potatoes. I did not used as much cream cheese, sour cream, and butter as the recipe calls for though. I just added a small spoonful of each. I thought they were pleny rich this way. I did have to thin them out with a little milk, and also added salt and pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj February 24, 2010
Sinfully Delish Garlic Mashed Potatoes