Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Singapore Chilli Prawns (Shrimp) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Singapore Chilli Prawns (Shrimp)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2007

      Mmmm these were wonderful! Because I was cooking for myself I used the full amount of sauce with half the prawns, but then when returning the prawns to the wok also included some bok choy and chinese noodles (which I'd cooked) and it all went wonderfully with the sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Great taste. Easy recipe to alter according to what was on hand.
      Omitted the bean paste, added more chilli and used cider vinegar.
      Matt made it for dinner last night & if I hadn't seen him put the tomato sauce in the pan I never would've guessed it was in there. I think he used less than stated due to others reviews.
      Thanks for sharing, mate :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Great recipe! I make shrimp stock with the shells for cooking the jasmine rice. I also use Toban Djan instead of Black Bean Paste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      The flavor was really nice. Not as spicy as I thought it was going to be. Hubby tought it needed some veggies, so I will add them next time. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      We had it with Jasmine rice on the side. DH and I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I thought this was just okay. The dish was quick to make, but lacked something in the flavor of the sauce. I was also hoping the sauce would be hotter than it was and thought it was a little too ketchup-y with not enough chili flavor and heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      This was amazing, it was just the right amount of heat and sweetness. I served it over jasmine rice, and it was wonderful. thankyou for your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      The best shrimp dish ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      I used all my ginger yesterday so I didn't use it in this recipe. I couldn't find malt vinegar so I used white vinegar. When I asked the ketchup to DH, he asked me for what. When I told him it was for the shrimps, he was skeptical. Cause he doesn't like ketchup. But he liked this dish. We all loved it. We almost fight for the last one LOL Thanks Jewelies. Made for Zaar Star Game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      I made this with very large black tiger prawns and they were so good! I didn't have black bean paste so substituted with black bean sauce and it worked fine. I think next time I will cut back on the brown sugar as the ketchup was pretty sweet itself. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      didnt have black bean paste so i used the black bean sauce.. still tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      This is really good! It is similar to Chinese sweet and sour sauces. I used a lot of fresh ginger and garlic, and Korean bean paste, but followed the directions otherwise. I served it with soba noodles and steamed edamame. Thanks for the great recipe Jewelies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      This dish turned out wonderful. I used whiting filets that I cut into small strips. I bet it is fabulous with shrimp! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Peter J's photo inspired us to cook this. With rice this fed the two of us - DH and myself. Didn't have black bean paste but used black bean sauce and 3 thai chillies deseeded and finely sliced with 1 tablespoon of hot chillie sauce and garnished the finely slice spring onion and served with steamed doongara rice. Delicious and an explosion of the taste buds in the mouth, a keeper. Thank you Jewelies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      This was outstanding!I didn't have any fresh chilis, so I used about 1/4 teaspoon of chili paste and I had some green onions to use up, so I threw those in with the garlic and ginger. This was so quick, highly flavoful but not overloaded with too many competing factors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      Simple but super yummy! I added chilies or sambal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      This is a 10 star recipe!!! I used black bean paste with garlic and still added the additional garlic. I also used white wine vinegar and forgot to sprinkle with the chives.These are so good, you might consider making extra as my BF finished his serving and wanted more! If you are looking for a quick way to prepare shrimp, this is the recipe for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Delicious -- dh said we should have this every week! And so easy and fast too -- what more can you ask for! The subsitution I made was using cider vinegar (instead of malt vinegar) and white sugar (out of brown sugar). I also only used one jalapeno for the chili which was still hot and spicy enough for us. Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Singapore Chilli Prawns (Shrimp)

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.0
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    41%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 158.1 mg
    52%
    Sodium 896.6 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 17.6 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    black bean paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites