8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I skipped the water and oil but added white pepper - and cooked it at 305 for 2 1/2 hours. I can't believe how delicious it tasted. This recipe was extremely easy and quick to prepare. This was the first time I ever cooked a lamb leg without garlic and rosemary. It didn't at all taste like cumin. This will be my recipe from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
t.settlemyre June 14, 2009

Wonderfully flavoursome: a great blend of flavours which we loved, so post-tour, we'll certainly be making this again. I've always been partial to cumin, but I've never used it in cooking lamb so for us this was a delightful culinary adventure. My only addition was a couple of cloves of minced garlic. I wasn't going to be home until particularly late this evening so left the very-easy-to-follow instructions with my 86 year old mother. As soon as I opened the front door, I was greeted with the most delightful fragrance from the cooked lamb. WOW! Thanks so much for posting this fabulous recipe, Peter. WOW! WOW and WOW again! Made for Ali Baba's Babes for ZWT 5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder May 20, 2009

The best way to cook lamb. I followed your instructions but covered mine until the last 30mins. I also sometimes cook my lamb from frozen this way but dont add the water for a simialar result. I loved he subtle flavour the spices gave. I usually just use garlic but will use this from now on with maybe a litle garlic powder added. A real 'keeper' in my opinion. Thanks for posting :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T November 26, 2008

Coriander and cumin is not a combination I'd ever considered for a lamb roast, but it sure is delicious. I got a great deal for our area on a boneless lamb roast. I got rid of the mesh they wrap them in now and retied with butcher's twine. The roast took just minutes to prepare. Mine was just under 2 kg, and the oven I am using only has 25 deg increments for the oven, so that I roasted it at 300 deg and it was done in under 3 hours. I served with just the juices (although I will make a gravy for leftovers), coconut rice and a green salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte April 20, 2014

Cooked this tonight for the family who don't really like any food with flavor. IE they like it basic, just meat. But they enjoyed a change. Cumin goes great with lamb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hard62 October 17, 2010

Well cooking this was a bit of a circus as I knew I had to get it well done but still keep it moist (achieved that) - baked a 1.8K leg at 130C fan forced for 5 1/4 hours [but thought it would take 6 hours, so had to keep it warm - lowered oven to just warm and put a lid on the roast). The vegies were cooking in the second oven and we bought it all together. Did try making a gravy from the pan juices but did not work, tasted awful to be true to fact. The DH was not at all keen on the flavour combination but I expected that and was hoping to convert him but the DS and I loved (but I would still prefer a bit of pink there but is out voted). Thank you Peter, made as a pressie/recipenap for Aussie/NZ forum Swap #39 April 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat April 12, 2010

I never made lamb with cumin before and I was very pleased with the result. The only thing I added was a little minced garlic. Thanx for a new way to prepare lamb. I loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* May 14, 2009

I've always made lamb with garlic and rosemary, but everyone enjoyed this wonderful variation. A great plus is that, when cooking, it gives the kitchen a wonderful aroma. Made 1/2 a lamb leg, so halved most ingredients (but used 1 1/2 cups water) and cooked it all for only 2 hours. Tender and delicious. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy December 04, 2008
Slow Roast Leg of Lamb