Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Slow Roast Leg of Lamb Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Roast Leg of Lamb

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2009

      I skipped the water and oil but added white pepper - and cooked it at 305 for 2 1/2 hours. I can't believe how delicious it tasted. This recipe was extremely easy and quick to prepare. This was the first time I ever cooked a lamb leg without garlic and rosemary. It didn't at all taste like cumin. This will be my recipe from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Wonderfully flavoursome: a great blend of flavours which we loved, so post-tour, we'll certainly be making this again. I've always been partial to cumin, but I've never used it in cooking lamb so for us this was a delightful culinary adventure. My only addition was a couple of cloves of minced garlic. I wasn't going to be home until particularly late this evening so left the very-easy-to-follow instructions with my 86 year old mother. As soon as I opened the front door, I was greeted with the most delightful fragrance from the cooked lamb. WOW! Thanks so much for posting this fabulous recipe, Peter. WOW! WOW and WOW again! Made for Ali Baba's Babes for ZWT 5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      The best way to cook lamb. I followed your instructions but covered mine until the last 30mins. I also sometimes cook my lamb from frozen this way but dont add the water for a simialar result. I loved he subtle flavour the spices gave. I usually just use garlic but will use this from now on with maybe a litle garlic powder added. A real 'keeper' in my opinion. Thanks for posting :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      Coriander and cumin is not a combination I'd ever considered for a lamb roast, but it sure is delicious. I got a great deal for our area on a boneless lamb roast. I got rid of the mesh they wrap them in now and retied with butcher's twine. The roast took just minutes to prepare. Mine was just under 2 kg, and the oven I am using only has 25 deg increments for the oven, so that I roasted it at 300 deg and it was done in under 3 hours. I served with just the juices (although I will make a gravy for leftovers), coconut rice and a green salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Cooked this tonight for the family who don't really like any food with flavor. IE they like it basic, just meat. But they enjoyed a change. Cumin goes great with lamb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Well cooking this was a bit of a circus as I knew I had to get it well done but still keep it moist (achieved that) - baked a 1.8K leg at 130C fan forced for 5 1/4 hours [but thought it would take 6 hours, so had to keep it warm - lowered oven to just warm and put a lid on the roast). The vegies were cooking in the second oven and we bought it all together. Did try making a gravy from the pan juices but did not work, tasted awful to be true to fact. The DH was not at all keen on the flavour combination but I expected that and was hoping to convert him but the DS and I loved (but I would still prefer a bit of pink there but is out voted). Thank you Peter, made as a pressie/recipenap for Aussie/NZ forum Swap #39 April 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      I never made lamb with cumin before and I was very pleased with the result. The only thing I added was a little minced garlic. Thanx for a new way to prepare lamb. I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      I've always made lamb with garlic and rosemary, but everyone enjoyed this wonderful variation. A great plus is that, when cooking, it gives the kitchen a wonderful aroma. Made 1/2 a lamb leg, so halved most ingredients (but used 1 1/2 cups water) and cooked it all for only 2 hours. Tender and delicious. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Roast Leg of Lamb

    Serving Size: 1 (417 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 696.3
     
    Calories from Fat 428
    61%
    Total Fat 47.6 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 19.6 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 223.3 mg
    74%
    Sodium 581.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 62.2 g
    124%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites