Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Spaghetti / Pasta Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti / Pasta Sauce

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2014

      This is a great recipe that I used often but the nutmeg or spice is a great addition. I have heard of cinnamon being used and I have read it is a Greek addition. My mom used to put it in her sauce once in awhile. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      A delightful Spaghetti sauce, we really enjoyed the flavour so much, wine is always a great ingredient and we are then able to enjoy the rest of the bottle with our dinner.

      I did not have any thyme in the pantry so added some Italian seasoning in place of it. absolutely on our list to make again, thanks so much Jan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      I let the sauce simmer for almost 1 hour and a half. We felt it was thick enough for our taste. I used a very small red bell peppers. The red wine gives a great taste. Me and DH always like red wine in spaghetti sauce. Great mix of spices. I had to use a can of tomato puree. I didn't have diced tomatoes. I'm sure it would be better with diced tomatoes. I'll try another time. But even like that, it's really good. Thanks Jan :) Made for MakeMyRecipe tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      I have made this recipe 4 or 5 times and it is fantastic every time. We love the deep meaty flavor from the beef broth. It is always good with more peppers and red wine. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Yummy! Skipped the bacon (only because I didn't have any on hand), doubled the garlic (we're big fans), & added red peppers (as always). Had enough sauce for 2 meals & lots of leftovers for lunches. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      ANOTHER keeper Jan, we made this as part of our first go at OAMC. Left out the bacon & wine - Mark's choice & added celery & carrot coz we had it to use up. After a small taste, we packaged up the rest into containers for the freezer. Next time I'm doubling or even tripling this one. FYI, we simmered for about 3 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      I can't believe I forgot to review this! DH reminded me when he asked if I would make some more of "that spaghetti sauce" again soon. From a gut who rarely asks for anything & contentedly eats what is placed in fron of him without much ado! Anyway the bacon adds a lovely hard to characterize richness & the texure of the sauce is ideal for spagheti. We had enough for lunch the next day with more pasta & it was even better! I did add 1/2 teaspoon of fennel seed - am compelled to do this with tomato sauce & enjoyed seeing you list the 2 secret ingredients given to me years ago when I was a sweet young thing learning to cook in Montana by a spry octagenerian Italian neighbor - mace & nutmeg! Will make this again - double batch & freeze for when I am on contract & have no time to cook. Thank you for posting, Jan! errr...amend "gut" in the above to "guy" so DH won't be offended LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Jan this is a great recipe. The flavour from the bacon is really lovely. Next time I will omit the thyme though as I'm not really a big fan. Thanks for posting a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      YUM!! This is the sauce has the perfect blend of flavours!! It's easy to prepare and is very versitile. Thanks for sharing Jan....I'll be using this one often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      Jan, once again you provide me with a keeper recipe that I use regularly! This is similar to your Pasta Bake recipe (which I make every week without fail!), today, however, I am making lasagne. The only thing I do different is omit the bell peppers simply because I don't like them, I tend to be heavy handed with the herbs to make up for it ;) Also, I only add the red wine when I have it. Anyway, I love this recipe - very versatile & I like that you can have it in 30 minutes OR 2 hours depending on how much time one has on one's hands. I am returning to work soon & plan on making this up on Sundays to freeze for use through the week. You know what else? I have NEVER bought preservative-laden pasta sauce in a jar since coming across this recipe (& your Pasta Bake recipe) - so thanks Jan :) You're a legend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti / Pasta Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (474 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 497.1
     
    Calories from Fat 308
    62%
    Total Fat 34.3 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 11.3 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 91.4 mg
    30%
    Sodium 848.7 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 26.3 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites