11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks so much for the recipe Jan, it was so excellent honestly its my new recipe for all things delicious. I have not read all the reviews but could you recommend the red wine you use because I want to do exactly what you did next time.. Its probably been asked before but please let me know. Thanks ever so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna V. November 23, 2014

This is a great recipe that I used often but the nutmeg or spice is a great addition. I have heard of cinnamon being used and I have read it is a Greek addition. My mom used to put it in her sauce once in awhile. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I_Fortuna January 15, 2014

A delightful Spaghetti sauce, we really enjoyed the flavour so much, wine is always a great ingredient and we are then able to enjoy the rest of the bottle with our dinner.

I did not have any thyme in the pantry so added some Italian seasoning in place of it. absolutely on our list to make again, thanks so much Jan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyfulCook November 23, 2011

I let the sauce simmer for almost 1 hour and a half. We felt it was thick enough for our taste. I used a very small red bell peppers. The red wine gives a great taste. Me and DH always like red wine in spaghetti sauce. Great mix of spices. I had to use a can of tomato puree. I didn't have diced tomatoes. I'm sure it would be better with diced tomatoes. I'll try another time. But even like that, it's really good. Thanks Jan :) Made for MakeMyRecipe tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 24, 2011

I have made this recipe 4 or 5 times and it is fantastic every time. We love the deep meaty flavor from the beef broth. It is always good with more peppers and red wine. Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milking Mom October 23, 2009

Yummy! Skipped the bacon (only because I didn't have any on hand), doubled the garlic (we're big fans), & added red peppers (as always). Had enough sauce for 2 meals & lots of leftovers for lunches. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jetje November 19, 2007

ANOTHER keeper Jan, we made this as part of our first go at OAMC. Left out the bacon & wine - Mark's choice & added celery & carrot coz we had it to use up. After a small taste, we packaged up the rest into containers for the freezer. Next time I'm doubling or even tripling this one. FYI, we simmered for about 3 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsSPheonix November 18, 2007

I can't believe I forgot to review this! DH reminded me when he asked if I would make some more of "that spaghetti sauce" again soon. From a gut who rarely asks for anything & contentedly eats what is placed in fron of him without much ado! Anyway the bacon adds a lovely hard to characterize richness & the texure of the sauce is ideal for spagheti. We had enough for lunch the next day with more pasta & it was even better! I did add 1/2 teaspoon of fennel seed - am compelled to do this with tomato sauce & enjoyed seeing you list the 2 secret ingredients given to me years ago when I was a sweet young thing learning to cook in Montana by a spry octagenerian Italian neighbor - mace & nutmeg! Will make this again - double batch & freeze for when I am on contract & have no time to cook. Thank you for posting, Jan! errr...amend "gut" in the above to "guy" so DH won't be offended LOL!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend September 26, 2006

Jan this is a great recipe. The flavour from the bacon is really lovely. Next time I will omit the thyme though as I'm not really a big fan. Thanks for posting a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies September 24, 2006

YUM!! This is the sauce has the perfect blend of flavours!! It's easy to prepare and is very versitile. Thanks for sharing Jan....I'll be using this one often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie August 21, 2006
Spaghetti / Pasta Sauce