10 Reviews

We had this for dinner this evening and DH loved it. I used fingerling potatoes instead of 8 large as that is what I had on hand. Cant wait to try it tom for lunch with some left over grilled shrimp. Even two out of the 3 kids ( all under 6) really enjoyed this dish. Don'ts skrimp on the good cheese as it really makes this dish to use the really good stuff. Made for PRMR Jan 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Chef January 15, 2009

Last night we had this basically as written, aside from less potatoes (only 2 large), more lemon and fresh thyme, and it was 4 stars. Had the leftovers today for lunch with the addition of a little bacon bits and truffle oil, and that definitely brought it up to 5 stars. This makes for a beautiful presentation and a deliciously different meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito December 08, 2008

Very good but there seemed to be something missing. I used 1/2 stock and 1/2 white wine which was a good idea. Everything else I did pretty much as stated except I added some garlic to the potatoes while baking. DH suggested that next time I add some pancetta or bacon and I thought maybe some arugula tossed in at the last moment would be great. Together they may be be exactly what this needs to bring it up to 5 stars. Thanks for posting this, I look forward to playing with it a little.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse June 11, 2007

Just wonderful! I cut the recipe in half (only 2 of us) and used dried rubbed sage, as I couldn't get my hands on the fresh. I can imagine this being even better with fresh sage. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama February 11, 2007

Made this for dinner this evening. Everyone loved it. I used vegetable stock and I also crisped breash breadcrumbs which I sprinkled on the top. I think this adds a lot to the dish. Thanks for a really interesting recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy's Kitchen May 01, 2006

Carb heaven. Used stock this time, looking forward to trying this with white wine. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samcp4 April 07, 2006

We enjoyed this thoroughly. I left my potatoes in for 20 minutes and they were well browned (at a 400 Fahrenheit equivalent of 200 Centigrade). I also used half stock and half wine, but used white not red. Like MarieAlice, I topped with shaved parmesan. I thought the outcome was a bit dry, even though I quartered the recipe (this seemed like 8 generous servings to me and there are only two of us) but used 1/3 (or 1/2 cup) of the wine and stock. It was delicious otherwise though; I particularly liked the sage and lemon combination. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend November 08, 2005

Yum! This was a great combination of flavours. I was worried that the pasta would go soggy after cooking it in the stock, so I had it very al dente when it went in and in the end it was perfect. The only problem I had was that the potatoes still weren't golden after 30 minutes, but they went in anyway. I'll make this again. Thanks Bluemoon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo C October 23, 2005

Love those carbs! This was a really great vegetarian main meal and DH has requested that I do it again asap! I used veggie fettucine as that's what I had on hand, and doubled the garlic as I normally do. I didn't measure the thyme, just sprinkled over the potatoes. I used 1/2 red wine, 1/2 veggie stock for the liquid and used a little more lemon juice than called for. This is really delicious, thank you so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
currybunny September 06, 2005

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this different side dish. I made exactly as the recipe stated, substituting half the vegetable broth with red wine. I was not sure if the sage should be left whole or what, so I cut it slightly into large pieces. I also cut the recipe in half, quite successfully, as there are only two of us. Thanks for a great taste experience!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr September 01, 2005
Spaghetti With Potato, Sage and Lemon