Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Spinach, Like You Have Never Had Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach, Like You Have Never Had

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2012

      Divine (or is that DEVINE?) mumma made this for us for brunch this morning topped with her own home grown poached eggs. What a fantastic way to start the day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      You're right, this is spinach like I've never had, but I will definitely have it this way again! I made this exactly as posted, using chopped red bell pepper. I have never really used the stems before, but they were actually tasty too. The curry powder is what really makes this dish, I think! The aroma was divine and the taste was delicious! Thanks for sharing! Made for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #65.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      This is a great way to make and eat spinach. I loved the flavors of bacon, onion and garlic. It worked so well with the spinach. I used baby spinach and did not chop it up. I probably steamed my spinach a little too long, but it was still delicious. Thank you for posting a new way to fix spinach!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      This is absolutely delicious!! And so easy! I also used baby spinach. I'm looking forward to making this again. Thank you! Made for Aussie swap 5/11.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      Love spinach so no surprise that I loved this dish. It comes together and makes for a great side dish - as for me this could make for a meal in itself! A must try for spinach lovers.Thank you for sharing. Made for mummamills Cookathon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Yum! I used baby spinach (so I didn't chop them) and left out the bacon. We ate it as a side dish next to grilled chicken (for me) and grilled porterhouse steak (for hubby and Little Miss). We all enjoyed it. Thanks Mumma for a wonderful recipe.. Whoooohooo my first review on food.com

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      If you haven't had spinach like this, you certainly should. The flavours are sensational and the dish is ultra-easy to make. I used all the ingredients -- with a little extra bacon and about 6 ounces (180 grams) of baby spinach. Served with rice and a beef curry, and the first thing hubby said was, 'The spinach is really good'. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      We've never had spinach (silver beet) likes this before but we will certainly be having it again. I cut 1 small onion chunky so the DH could pull out due to his intolerance if he ingests it but he requested that I cut this back to half a onion and I didn't use the capsicum but only because I didn't have any but will try to make sure I have some for next time. Thank you mummamills, made as a pressie for Recipe Swap 31, August 2009.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Very enjoyable way to enjoy spinach. I made this for my MIL and family last night and it disappeared. I made it as directed although I did not have any red bell pepper so I did not include it this time. I cooked my onion and bacon until the bacon was crispy and did not add black ppepper since it was pepper bacon. I also did not use olive oil as I felt there was enough from the bacon. The curry was a terrific addition that I would definitely use again. Great dish. Thank you for sharing! *Made and enjoyed for August Aussie Recipe Swap*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      I used veggie bacon and just loved it with the red bell pepper and onion and garlic. Thanks! Made for Australian Recipe Swap-May 2009.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      This is a delicious way to cook spinach and is a great alternative for those times when you want a more assertive taste. The only thing I will do differently next time is to cook the bacon ahead of time until it is nearly done, and then add the onions/garlic/ capsicums to it and finish cooking the mixture -- my bacon was still rather uncooked when everything else was done, so I took out as many of the onion and garlic pieces as I could, and continued to cook the bacon & capsicums. Then I added the onions and garlic back and steamed the spinach with with them -- we enjoyed it very much! Thanks, mummamills for a wonderful and tasty new way to make spinach!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      I love silver beet and never cook with it enough. This made a delicious side dish with great flavour. Made as written using the capsicum and a nice amount of curry powder! YUM

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      Good spinach. I left out the bacon for religious reasons (no pork). The next day I mixed the leftovers in with some steamed chopped leeks and it was just as good. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      Delicious spinach! I did use the red bell pepper and thought it was a perfect addition. My curry powder was mild and added a great flavor. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach, Like You Have Never Had

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 95.0
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    77%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 151.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    silver beet

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites