14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Divine (or is that DEVINE?) mumma made this for us for brunch this morning topped with her own home grown poached eggs. What a fantastic way to start the day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS August 04, 2012

You're right, this is spinach like I've never had, but I will definitely have it this way again! I made this exactly as posted, using chopped red bell pepper. I have never really used the stems before, but they were actually tasty too. The curry powder is what really makes this dish, I think! The aroma was divine and the taste was delicious! Thanks for sharing! Made for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #65.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! June 12, 2012

This is a great way to make and eat spinach. I loved the flavors of bacon, onion and garlic. It worked so well with the spinach. I used baby spinach and did not chop it up. I probably steamed my spinach a little too long, but it was still delicious. Thank you for posting a new way to fix spinach!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood October 11, 2011

This is absolutely delicious!! And so easy! I also used baby spinach. I'm looking forward to making this again. Thank you! Made for Aussie swap 5/11.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo May 26, 2011

Love spinach so no surprise that I loved this dish. It comes together and makes for a great side dish - as for me this could make for a meal in itself! A must try for spinach lovers.Thank you for sharing. Made for mummamills Cookathon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry August 13, 2010

Yum! I used baby spinach (so I didn't chop them) and left out the bacon. We ate it as a side dish next to grilled chicken (for me) and grilled porterhouse steak (for hubby and Little Miss). We all enjoyed it. Thanks Mumma for a wonderful recipe.. Whoooohooo my first review on food.com

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer July 20, 2010

If you haven't had spinach like this, you certainly should. The flavours are sensational and the dish is ultra-easy to make. I used all the ingredients -- with a little extra bacon and about 6 ounces (180 grams) of baby spinach. Served with rice and a beef curry, and the first thing hubby said was, 'The spinach is really good'. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy July 14, 2010

We've never had spinach (silver beet) likes this before but we will certainly be having it again. I cut 1 small onion chunky so the DH could pull out due to his intolerance if he ingests it but he requested that I cut this back to half a onion and I didn't use the capsicum but only because I didn't have any but will try to make sure I have some for next time. Thank you mummamills, made as a pressie for Recipe Swap 31, August 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 30, 2009

Very enjoyable way to enjoy spinach. I made this for my MIL and family last night and it disappeared. I made it as directed although I did not have any red bell pepper so I did not include it this time. I cooked my onion and bacon until the bacon was crispy and did not add black ppepper since it was pepper bacon. I also did not use olive oil as I felt there was enough from the bacon. The curry was a terrific addition that I would definitely use again. Great dish. Thank you for sharing! *Made and enjoyed for August Aussie Recipe Swap*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva August 27, 2009

I used veggie bacon and just loved it with the red bell pepper and onion and garlic. Thanks! Made for Australian Recipe Swap-May 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 07, 2009
Spinach, Like You Have Never Had