7 Reviews

Not going to leave stars because I had to make some subs, and I'm sure that effected the flavor. I've never been able to find rice WINE vinegar in this area, so I tried subbing seasoned rice vin. Probably not the best idea. Just wanted to state the obvious that I totally missed for others who may be as oblivious.. The recipe calls for 1 kg FRESH rice noodles (2lbs!). Me = dumbie, looking at the package of DRIED noodles that's only 8oz , thinking I don't have enough lol After cooking the whole box I had an "oh yeah!" moment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma April 12, 2011

I loved this! I didn't have fresh rice noodles, so I bought the thin ones in a bag and cooked them before adding them. Used the minced garlic and ginger you find in the little bottles in the fridge section. Didn't have peanut oil, I used EVOO. Couldn't find Chinese rice wine anywhere, so I left it out. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SLaveault December 27, 2009

Chef floWer this was great and easy. I had all the ingredients on hand so this made a simple tasty dinner. I did added chicken but it isn't necessary. Lots of flavor here. [Made and reviewed for NZ/Aus recipe swap #31, August '09].

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHILI SPICE September 01, 2009

Wowsier! This was delicious! I had never had black bean sauce, and let me say, this was a treat. My rice noodles were thin-ish, stir-fried the spring onion (red ones from the garden) along with the garlic and gingerroot. Added noodles for about 3 minutes in wok and added rest of ingredients and my lunch was done in a flash! I also added some thin stick carrots and mung bean spouts but other then that stuck to the recipe. We didn't find this saltly at all, so we didn't adjust the seasonings. Thank you so much, floWer, oh boy yum! Made for ZWT4 June 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 03, 2008

I love thick fresh rice noodles and this was a great way to use them. i added some cut up bok choy and tossed in fresh bean sprouts and scallions for the last few seconds for crunch. very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia April 30, 2007

We enjoyed this! I didn't have any problem with it being salty - in fact I added a splash more of each of the sauce ingredients - maybe because I added a bit of vegetables, some napa cabbage and carrots, as well as some cooked chicken. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. April 08, 2007

Made this with chicken for a quick supper last night. Loved the taste (the mix of black bean sauce, soy sauce and sesame oil), but, don't know if I did anything wrong, but it was way too salty. It's a nice quick super and, with the added chicken, makes for a full meal! Thanks Chef floWer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie March 09, 2007
Stir-Fried Rice Noodles With Black Bean Sauce