Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Strawberries & Cream Bread (Strawberry or Blueberry) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberries & Cream Bread (Strawberry or Blueberry)

    Average Rating:

    262 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 262

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2011

      This bread was fantastic!! Moist and flavorful. I used the brown sugar but did not find it to be too sweet, just perfect!! I brought a loaf to our morning playgroup and there was nothing left! I did have to bake about 15 minutes longer than suggested to prevent the center from being soggy but other than that I followed the recipe to a tee. Thanks so much for posting:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Delicious! I made a few changes according to my tastes/diet. I used 1/3 c. coconut oil instead of butter and 1/3 c. agave instead of the sugar. I also made muffins instead of bread for convience sake. I freeze them so I can have one a day for breakfast. Just microwave for 1 min. and it's like having fresh baked muffins each morning! Next time I think I'll use whole wheat flour. Thanks for the delish recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      Wonderful!!! It was very dense, but soft and moist, which is exactly what I was looking for. Very pleasant, smooth flavor. I used half whole wheat flour, frozen blueberries, and no nuts (hubby hates nuts in bread/muffins etc). I used both the brown sugar and the white sugar called for, but for the white sugar I used a half sugar/half splenda blend. I sprinkled some of that blend w/ some cinnamon on top. Hubby absolutely loves this! (Me too, but I made it for him!) I made it in a loaf pan, and it took maybe 20 min longer than the recipe says, but totally worth it! Might try it as muffins next time, or even in a cake pan and drizzle a little glaze over it after. Wonderful recipe! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Well, it's great as Peaches & Cream Bread too! I had peaches on hand so gave that a try instead of strawberries or blueberries. I just had my first piece still warm from the oven - SO GOOD! I'm going to tell my friends about this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      This was the BEST bread I have EVER eaten in my life!!! I made the strawberry version & only had light sour cream instead of regular- it still came out amazing!!! I also chose not to use nuts. I loved it so much I am currently making 2 more loaves for friends & family. I almost want to pick more strawberries for the sole reason of making more of this yummy bread! Perfect combination of everything & this is now my new "forever keeper" recipe! When I took it out of the oven, hubby cut into it & it almost looked slightly uncooked & mushy (probably from all strawberry juices) and I wanted to throw it back into the oven. DO NOT! I decided not to & so glad because when it cooled- it was PERFECT. Moist, easy to cut, etc! The best bread you will ever make- I promise! Thank you for this reicpe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      I made this with fresh strawberries from my garden for a girls movie night. The entire loaf was consumed before the movie was half over. Very good.... everyone loved it. I used all the wet mixture in the recipe and it was the perfect consistency. I think the key there might be beating the ingredients really well so that it is very light and fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      This is an okay recipe eaten warm or a couple hours later, but if you wait until the next day, you will be rewarded! I used half vanilla/half almond extract, increased the strawberries to 2c, and used finely chopped (almost ground) almonds. Since I made two batches, I made muffins and an 8x8 pan. I think the muffins are a bit tastier, but maybe it's because they were scooped first and got more strawberries, not sure. This is great plain, with butter, or with more strawberries on top for a decadent strawberry shortcake! I was also making a double batch of banana bread (muffins & an 8x8 pan), so combined what was left of both batters and baked a loaf of strawberry-banana bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      After reading all the great reviews I decided to go ahead and double the recipe.I'm so glad I did because this is really delicious bread.I've tried other strawberry bread recipes but this one is definately my favorite so far.I used a full 16 oz package of fresh strawberries and I used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. I upped the cinnamon to a full teaspoon and instead of butter I used 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup of oil. I'm not wild about nuts in my bread so I decided to leave them out. Since I doubled the recipe I used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar.I still felt it wasn't quite sweet enough but that's probably because my strawberries were not very sweet.I think it would be good with a brown sugar topping and next time I'll add even more strawberries.I can't wait to make this bread again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      I really loved this recipe! The night that I made it I talked 4 of my friend in to making it too. Next time I make it I am going to post a picture and make some strawberry whipped cream to go with the bread (idea via the posted pic). This is a great morning bread to go with coffee or tea. Thank you so much for posting - instant staple in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      Oddly this is the first time I've made bread and it was wonderful. My neighbor gave me a quart of fresh picked local Maine blueberries. This recipe is perfect, as is, if you are trying to showcase the fruit. Easy to make and it tastes delicious. I followed the directions exactly. I actually had to bake it for an additional 10 minutes. Love it! Thank you so much for a great recipe. I'll definitely be using it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      I added an extra 1/2 cup blueberries and 1 tsp cinnamon and it turned out yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      awesome bread..u experimented and threw a half block of cream cheese, cold, and a half cup more of strawberries..also threw in about a half cup of white choclate pieces and slivered almonds..fantastic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Yummy with decadent strawberry butter. Throws together in a few minutes. Just make sure the toothpick comes out clean even in the middle where it raises. I had to put it back in after I sliced it and it was undercooked. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      Super Yummy! I made 3 of these today -- one with strawberries, one with blueberries and one with peaches and all of them were fantastic. I did use 9x5 pans instead of 8x4 and they were more than well filled. I used vanilla for the strawberries, but I used almond extract for the blueberries and peaches -- just personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      5 stars aren't enough for this recipe! I turned it into a dozen muffins (baked about 22 mins. at 350) and they are scrumptious. I reduced the sugar to about half a cup because I don't like overly sweet muffins. Next time I'll try to get the recipe more fat friendly with nonfat sour cream and maybe nonfat cream cheese instead of butter. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      OH my...these are fabulous. I just picked strawberries for jam making and wanted another recipe to use em up. Now I can't wait to use this with fresh picked blueberries. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and cut the butter amount in 1/2 and used 1/2 cup applesauce in replacement of. TYSM!~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This is the most fantabulous bread I have eaten! Made it this weekend and my husband wouldn't stop talking about it. He told me to make another loaf while he was at work today....bossy thing. We loved it. The butter is fantastic too that goes along with this bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      What can you add after all these great reviews! The folks at work said "that recipe is a keeper!" Made it following recipe to a T. just added some cinnamon sugar crystals to the top before baking, which added a nice crusty crunch to the top. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      This is so good! I followed the recipe exactly the first time, then lightened it up the next. I cut the butter (actually, I use Smart Balance) in half and used applesauce for the remainder. I used light sour cream half and half with non-fat plain yogurt ( you can let it sit in a fine strainer or on paper towels for a bit to thicken up), and then replaced the whole eggs with eggbeaters. Came out great, you would never know the fat was reduced!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Fantastic!! I used 1/2 strawberrys and 1/2rhubarb. Added 1/4c. extra sugar. Will be making over and over. THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberries & Cream Bread (Strawberry or Blueberry)

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.7
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    40%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 67.5 mg
    22%
    Sodium 272.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 21.7 g
    87%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites