9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Congrats! Your delicious-looking fruit salad was featured as Recipe of the Day on our homepage today! (5/24/2011)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food.com May 24, 2011

This was a tasty and refreshing fruit salad. I used fresh mandarin segments, peaches, strawberries, cantaloupe and green grapes. Since I didn't have the syrup from the can, I used some simple syrup along with homemade mandarin marmalade. I chose the vanilla extract. My children really enjoyed it. Thank you Sharon! Made for the Dining Daredevils & ZWT 5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J May 19, 2009

This recipe was the "base" for what I created to go with our French Dinner for ZWT3. Made the sauce as called for, then had the m. oranges, kiwi, green grapes, and a mango. I wanted the sauce to be thick, so I took some of the reserved mand. o.j. and some cornstarch, heated all the sauce in a small pan, and thickened it a bit...poured it over the fruit (warm) and had sort of a little Sunshiny Fruit Salad Compote. We all thought this was quite delicious! *Made for ZWT 3 Caribbean Tour*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber June 12, 2007

This recipe was my choice for the Australian leg of ZWT 3. This was really good and refreshing for a hot and humid evening. I liked the option to add the almond extract, gave it a unique twist compared to your average fruit salad. I love being able to serve my little one something that he enjoys and is healthy for him too! We'll have to make this again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriInIndiana May 31, 2007

I made this for ZWT 07 for the dessert challenge. It was a very refreshing tasting salad. I loved the orange marmalade dressing on top of it. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 May 29, 2007

We LOVED this!!! With all the great fruit coming in cheap now it was wonderful. We almost could not wait for it to refrigerate. We will make this alot this summer. Made for ZWT 07 a waltzing matilda challenge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping May 26, 2007

We loved this fruit salad! Next time I will need to double the recipe, very easy to put together! Used vanilla extract and chilled for a couple hours in the refrigerator. The orange flavor over the fruit, so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 July 15, 2006

This "wowed" us! We loved it, I used red and green seedless grapes, strawberries, blueberries, peaches, mandarins and melons. Terrific!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ July 13, 2006

This was lovely, I used vanilla extract because I prefer the flavour over almond and had mostly watermelon, apricots, strawberries with a few left over grapes. I also only had a cheapie shop ‘home brand” apricot jam to hand and once mixed it was quite thin and since this sat for a little while before the photo was taken most of the sauce was in a pool at the bottom for the serving dish when I dished dessert up later. (note to self: use a better quality jam next time) Despite this, the flavour was very nice indeed. I found it difficult to rate this because this recipe IS a cut above most “normal’ plain fruit salads.. But it didn’t quite have the WOW factor that I needed to give it 5 stars, So I really hovered between a 4 and 5 star rating. Please see my rating system: I eventually chose 4 stars because it IS good enough that I will make this regularly and the recipe has made it into my family handwritten cookbook… Thanks for an easy and refreshing, healthy dessert !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch July 12, 2006
Sunny Fruit Salad!