15 Reviews

Wow, this is a fabulous recipe.
The family really loved this. I almost followed the recipe as written. I doubled the recipe and the only change I made was to add carrots and snow peas, as this family loves vegies added. However that was the only change. I did use white vinegar, but next time I think I might use the cider vinegar as suggested just to see if there is any difference.
Served with white rice this made for an excellent dinner, we all loved the thick sauce. The leftover's were to take to work next day, which we forgot, and DH was not impressed he had forgotten as he was really looking forward to it next day!
This is a recipe I will be making again for sure. This is one of the best Sweet & Sour recipes I have made.
Thanks Peter.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme July 15, 2011

This was so tastey!! I made it the same way we order it; without peppers and it was better than most of the takeout places we have tried! Made exactly as written (even found the corn flour) and served with white rice. Putting this in my Best of 2010 book! Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #47.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH December 13, 2010

OUTSTANDING !! We loved this. Made this as posted and took the advice from another reviewer and cooked some white rice and added the sauce to this. One of the best sweet and sour chicken recipes we have had in a very long time. Made for Recipe Swap #47.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker December 14, 2010

Lots of thick rich tasty sauce. Once the chicken was gone, DH went back and ate the leftover sauce with rice. For people who like their green peppers more soft, I would suggest cooking the green peppers with the onion. Made for Aus/NZ recipe swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn November 27, 2010

Reviewed for Aus/NZ Forum Recipe Swap Nov 2010- loved it! My whole family give you 5 stars for this delicious Sweet and Sour Chicken. I doubled everything. Awesome sauce- way better than a bottled sauce, twice as much and super easy too. Photo also to be posted

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** November 03, 2010

One word...YUMMY! I had company from out of town and we had this for dinner one night. It was a huge hit! The flavors blended nicely and the leftovers were amazing! Thanks for the creation! Made for the October 2010 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast November 01, 2010

I made this using fake "chicken" to make it vegetarian, adding more onions and peppers. Yummy and filling. Thanks! Made for Australian Swap March 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 08, 2013

Very good and very easy recipe for sweet and sour chicken. This tastes very similar to the Sweet and Sour Chicken with Pineapple that I get at the Chinese restaurant by work. Made as directed with the exception of leaving the onion and bell pepper in bigger chunks instead of sliced or finely diced and I also added about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. This dish comes together quickly and I had dinner on the table in a snap. I will be making this dish againa and again. Made for June 2012 Aus/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 June 30, 2012

*Made for Australia/NZ Swap #65* Super easy and super yummy ! Can't recall the last time I made sweet and sour, but will save this sauce for any future dish ! I follows directions exactly, and served with chard from the garden, and dried spaetzle from Aldi's -- whuch WASN'T so great -- will do Israeli couscous next time ! Thanks for posting, Peter !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney June 11, 2012

Loved, Loved and Loved!!! This was just wonderful Peter and I agree with other reviewers this is one of the best sweet and sour recipes we have tried.. I followed the recipe as written except adding both red and green peppers, carrots, snow peas and bean sprouts, the bean sprouts were just because I had some to use up.. This recipe was so quick and easy to put together and the sweet and sour sauce was exceptional.. I served ours over basmati rice for a truly delicious meal and one that we will definitely be enjoying again.. Cheers Peter for a real winner of a recipe for my family...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef January 31, 2012
Sweet and Sour Chicken