Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Chicken

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2011

      Wow, this is a fabulous recipe.
      The family really loved this. I almost followed the recipe as written. I doubled the recipe and the only change I made was to add carrots and snow peas, as this family loves vegies added. However that was the only change. I did use white vinegar, but next time I think I might use the cider vinegar as suggested just to see if there is any difference.
      Served with white rice this made for an excellent dinner, we all loved the thick sauce. The leftover's were to take to work next day, which we forgot, and DH was not impressed he had forgotten as he was really looking forward to it next day!
      This is a recipe I will be making again for sure. This is one of the best Sweet & Sour recipes I have made.
      Thanks Peter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      This was so tastey!! I made it the same way we order it; without peppers and it was better than most of the takeout places we have tried! Made exactly as written (even found the corn flour) and served with white rice. Putting this in my Best of 2010 book! Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #47.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      OUTSTANDING !! We loved this. Made this as posted and took the advice from another reviewer and cooked some white rice and added the sauce to this. One of the best sweet and sour chicken recipes we have had in a very long time. Made for Recipe Swap #47.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Lots of thick rich tasty sauce. Once the chicken was gone, DH went back and ate the leftover sauce with rice. For people who like their green peppers more soft, I would suggest cooking the green peppers with the onion. Made for Aus/NZ recipe swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      Reviewed for Aus/NZ Forum Recipe Swap Nov 2010- loved it! My whole family give you 5 stars for this delicious Sweet and Sour Chicken. I doubled everything. Awesome sauce- way better than a bottled sauce, twice as much and super easy too. Photo also to be posted

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      One word...YUMMY! I had company from out of town and we had this for dinner one night. It was a huge hit! The flavors blended nicely and the leftovers were amazing! Thanks for the creation! Made for the October 2010 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      I made this using fake "chicken" to make it vegetarian, adding more onions and peppers. Yummy and filling. Thanks! Made for Australian Swap March 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2012

      Very good and very easy recipe for sweet and sour chicken. This tastes very similar to the Sweet and Sour Chicken with Pineapple that I get at the Chinese restaurant by work. Made as directed with the exception of leaving the onion and bell pepper in bigger chunks instead of sliced or finely diced and I also added about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. This dish comes together quickly and I had dinner on the table in a snap. I will be making this dish againa and again. Made for June 2012 Aus/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      *Made for Australia/NZ Swap #65* Super easy and super yummy ! Can't recall the last time I made sweet and sour, but will save this sauce for any future dish ! I follows directions exactly, and served with chard from the garden, and dried spaetzle from Aldi's -- whuch WASN'T so great -- will do Israeli couscous next time ! Thanks for posting, Peter !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      Loved, Loved and Loved!!! This was just wonderful Peter and I agree with other reviewers this is one of the best sweet and sour recipes we have tried.. I followed the recipe as written except adding both red and green peppers, carrots, snow peas and bean sprouts, the bean sprouts were just because I had some to use up.. This recipe was so quick and easy to put together and the sweet and sour sauce was exceptional.. I served ours over basmati rice for a truly delicious meal and one that we will definitely be enjoying again.. Cheers Peter for a real winner of a recipe for my family...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      5 Stars! The sauce is fabulous! I had only one boneless chicken breast, but it weighed in at just under a pound. So I used it, and doubled the sauce. This was wonderful. I mixed red and green bell peppers for color. Made for Best of 2011 Cookbook Tag....easy to see how this recipe ended up there! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      Very good. Made as directed with tarragon wine vinegar. Very quick to put together for lunch today -- Christmas day! Thanks, Peter J. Made for Aussie Kiwi Recipe Swap #59.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      Yum! This was so easy to make and it was on the table within 25 mins... I used both green and red capsicum's to make the dish colourful. I served it with basmati rice. I also did the order of the cooking different, first the chicken. Thanks Peter for a wonderful recipe. We all enjoyed it..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      Brilliant, I have made this exactly as instructed twice now (apart from adding carrots) and it is the best Sweet and Sour I have had. My wife's only complaint is that she eats too much when I make it! I will try and find some baby sweetcorn or water chestnuts for next time, not any easy task here in France, I haven't managed to find any garam masala yet.
      Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      One word from me.....Excellent :) Made as written. I used a mix of red & green peppers for colour contrast. Served over Basmati rice. Would make for guests as well as family. Will be making this again for sure as it was so easy.
      Made for Aus/NZ recipe swap July 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 549.5
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    37%
    Total Fat 23.1 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 96.0 mg
    32%
    Sodium 442.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 43.4 g
    173%
    Protein 32.9 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes