Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Tasty Lamb Shanks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tasty Lamb Shanks

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2009

      Made this today, with a few minor changes due to availability of ingredients, everyone loved it, will certainly make again, thanks a lot for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Very, very tasty lamb shanks, indeed! If this recipe is any indication of the food you serve at home -- can I come and live at your house? We all loved this divine dish. So easy to make and so delicious to eat. Our only change was to use 4 teaspoons of cornflour (cornstarch) to thicken the sauce. True comfort food. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I cook Lamb shanks often and have a ton of recipes both my own and others, this will definitely be going into my top recipes for ways to cook shanks. My hubby came out of his office, to ask "what is that wonderful smell." " What I'm hoping will be a wonderful dinner." Well it was wonderful, shanks came out juicy and tender, with so much flavour. The sauce was outstanding, all the ingredients go together so well and create such yummy flavours. I served mine with braised bok choy and wasabi mashed potato, as jan had said you served yours, great combination and one I will be making over and over. Thanks for sharing Jewelies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      I wish there were more stars to give these wonderful shanks that Jewelies cooked us tonight. They are an amazing blend of Asian flavours and Jules cooked them perfectly-until they fell off the bones. We ate them with wasabi mashed potatoes and braised bok choy-a fantastic farewell dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I thought I might try this with pork shanks when I saw the ingredients. I got 2 pork shanks (no bone) that weighed 500g each. I then followed the recipe almost exactly except for using less chili and cooking it slightly longer. The shanks were incredibly tender and tasty and fragrant. I served them on jasmine rice with chinese steamed vegetables. We had about 2 serves left over and a lot of sauce. This will be a standard winter dish for our family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      We loved this, but it has SUCH an unusual flavour. I've really never had anything quite like it. It's very savoury, unlike a Thai curry, which is slightly sweet, but it's aromatic like a Thai curry. The flavour is beautifully rich and complex and the lamb was the tenderest I've ever eaten. I made it almost exactly as written except I used 1 teaspoon sambal oelek instead of chilli flakes, and, as I couldn't get whole star anise, I used 1/2 teaspoon of the powdered variety. I also found I needed 4 teaspoons of cornflour to thicken the sauce. I added one small step. After I poured removed the shanks and poured the sauce into a pan for thickening, there was a bit too much oil floating on top. So, I wadded up some paper towel and soaked up the excess oil before continuing. I served the shanks with mashed potatoes and a steamed green vegetable and it was just heavenly. Four big shanks, cut in half, made plenty for eight serves for us. Thanks Jewelies. Another good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      i had never eaten lamb shanks before, let alone cooked it myself, so i was very surprised at how easy this recipe was. The sauce was delicious, flatmates loved it - said it was the best sauce they have ever had! And the wasabi mashed spuds were really nice as well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      This is an amzing recipe! I could just drink the sauce, it's actually rather embarassing! I normally don't like shanks at all, but made these for us and some friends who love them and everyone thought they were great. We all ended up gnawing on the shanks Henry the Eighth style, very classy and sophisticated. Served with yummy wasabi mashed potatoes and some corn on the cob - thanks for a great Sunday dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2004

      This actually deserves TEN STARS! We had 2 lamb shanks for just 2 people, so we cut the ingredients in half. Since neither can eat hot stuff anymore, we omitted the chili flakes and szechwan pepper. This is a fantabulous recipe. The meat was very tender and the sauce is to die for. After we finished, we both took more mashed potatoes so that we could finish off the sauce. Thanks so much for posting... Alan Leonetti (leonetti00@aol.com)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2004

      This is probably the best lamb I have had in a long time. It was tender but not following off the bone tender. There is a nice blending of flavors. I served it with steamed short grain brown rice and sliced fresh tomatoes. Thank you for sharing this pleasing recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2004

      I wish I had some more of this. I used baby rack of lamb. Seasoned it with just five spice and grilled it. I skipped #9-11. Then added the ribs to the sauce and put it in the oven for 10 minutes.I also sliced portabella mushrooms along with the onions. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tasty Lamb Shanks

    Serving Size: 1 (588 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 731.1
     
    Calories from Fat 370
    50%
    Total Fat 41.1 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 14.9 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 242.1 mg
    80%
    Sodium 1650.6 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 75.6 g
    151%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Chinese five spice powder

    star anise

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites