11 Reviews

Made this today, with a few minor changes due to availability of ingredients, everyone loved it, will certainly make again, thanks a lot for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
97grad September 10, 2009

Very, very tasty lamb shanks, indeed! If this recipe is any indication of the food you serve at home -- can I come and live at your house? We all loved this divine dish. So easy to make and so delicious to eat. Our only change was to use 4 teaspoons of cornflour (cornstarch) to thicken the sauce. True comfort food. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy January 19, 2009

I cook Lamb shanks often and have a ton of recipes both my own and others, this will definitely be going into my top recipes for ways to cook shanks. My hubby came out of his office, to ask "what is that wonderful smell." " What I'm hoping will be a wonderful dinner." Well it was wonderful, shanks came out juicy and tender, with so much flavour. The sauce was outstanding, all the ingredients go together so well and create such yummy flavours. I served mine with braised bok choy and wasabi mashed potato, as jan had said you served yours, great combination and one I will be making over and over. Thanks for sharing Jewelies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef December 20, 2007

I wish there were more stars to give these wonderful shanks that Jewelies cooked us tonight. They are an amazing blend of Asian flavours and Jules cooked them perfectly-until they fell off the bones. We ate them with wasabi mashed potatoes and braised bok choy-a fantastic farewell dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS December 11, 2007

I thought I might try this with pork shanks when I saw the ingredients. I got 2 pork shanks (no bone) that weighed 500g each. I then followed the recipe almost exactly except for using less chili and cooking it slightly longer. The shanks were incredibly tender and tasty and fragrant. I served them on jasmine rice with chinese steamed vegetables. We had about 2 serves left over and a lot of sauce. This will be a standard winter dish for our family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef @Oz May 22, 2007

We loved this, but it has SUCH an unusual flavour. I've really never had anything quite like it. It's very savoury, unlike a Thai curry, which is slightly sweet, but it's aromatic like a Thai curry. The flavour is beautifully rich and complex and the lamb was the tenderest I've ever eaten. I made it almost exactly as written except I used 1 teaspoon sambal oelek instead of chilli flakes, and, as I couldn't get whole star anise, I used 1/2 teaspoon of the powdered variety. I also found I needed 4 teaspoons of cornflour to thicken the sauce. I added one small step. After I poured removed the shanks and poured the sauce into a pan for thickening, there was a bit too much oil floating on top. So, I wadded up some paper towel and soaked up the excess oil before continuing. I served the shanks with mashed potatoes and a steamed green vegetable and it was just heavenly. Four big shanks, cut in half, made plenty for eight serves for us. Thanks Jewelies. Another good one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kookaburra December 01, 2006

i had never eaten lamb shanks before, let alone cooked it myself, so i was very surprised at how easy this recipe was. The sauce was delicious, flatmates loved it - said it was the best sauce they have ever had! And the wasabi mashed spuds were really nice as well

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meris August 11, 2006

This is an amzing recipe! I could just drink the sauce, it's actually rather embarassing! I normally don't like shanks at all, but made these for us and some friends who love them and everyone thought they were great. We all ended up gnawing on the shanks Henry the Eighth style, very classy and sophisticated. Served with yummy wasabi mashed potatoes and some corn on the cob - thanks for a great Sunday dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
currybunny August 14, 2005

This actually deserves TEN STARS! We had 2 lamb shanks for just 2 people, so we cut the ingredients in half. Since neither can eat hot stuff anymore, we omitted the chili flakes and szechwan pepper. This is a fantabulous recipe. The meat was very tender and the sauce is to die for. After we finished, we both took more mashed potatoes so that we could finish off the sauce. Thanks so much for posting... Alan Leonetti (leonetti00@aol.com)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alan Leonetti December 17, 2004

This is probably the best lamb I have had in a long time. It was tender but not following off the bone tender. There is a nice blending of flavors. I served it with steamed short grain brown rice and sliced fresh tomatoes. Thank you for sharing this pleasing recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 26, 2004
Tasty Lamb Shanks