Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Thai-style Roast Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai-style Roast Chicken

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2012

      This chicken came out very tender and moist. I marinated for 3 hours, and used the marinade to baste for the first hour and a half. I also made sure I pulled the skin up and soaked the meat underneath with the marinade. I didn't get a lot of flavor from the marinade in the meat, so I was disappointed in that. Everything aside, my roast chicken was very moist, and the meat can be used in any recipe calling for cooked chicken. I had just hoped for more flavor from the marinade. Made for Best of 2011 Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      it's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      10 stars for this! I made as written up to the cooking method, and then put it on the outdoor rotisserie instead of the oven. Turned out great. Will make this again during the winter when I don't mind using the oven :) I also think I will make a double batch of the marinade and set half aside to make a sauce from. Would be great over rice to go with the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Our chicken was nice and moist and had a lovely subtle flavour. I will make this again, but use maybe double (or more) of the green curry paste. I can't wait for leftovers (I'm thinking a thai style soup). Thanks Jules.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Very juicy and flavorful fresh out of the oven, as were the leftovers. I used low fat coconut milk, increased the chopped cilantro (stems and all) to 1/2 cup, decreased the fish sauce by half (to lower the sodium content), and increased the green curry paste to replace the heat and flavor from the small fresh chili I didn't have on hand. Since my chicken was over 4 lbs., I roasted it 1.5 hours at 350* and 30 minutes at 375*. Leftover meat was great in a salad with Thai flavors and in a soup (I cooked the chicken carcass in chicken broth for an hour, removed the bones, skimmed off the fat, and added green curry paste, fresh minced cilantro stems, cut green beans, white corn kernals, slivered bamboo shoots, the last of the leftover chicken meat, and a cup of leftover cooked rice to the broth. Brought it to a simmer, and it, too, was fabulous. I can't wait for the weather to cooperate so I can roast the chicken outdoors on my charcoal grill. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, Jewelies! It's a real favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      After seeing the list of ingredients, I thought it would be a recipe that I would really enjoy. However, the combination didn't work for me on a roasted chicken. I was surprised how subtle the flavours were, yet the coconut milk I found overpowering. Very tender. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      Great taste! I used a large chicken so it took a bit longer but it was worth it. I used mild canned chopped chilis (1 large tbsp. Served it with Coconut Ginger rice Coconut Ginger Rice which was great too. Sauteed mushrooms with butter and soy sauce and had a nice salad too. Loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2006

      Big five stars here. I had a very small chicken, and wasn't sure about the roasting time, so I cut it in pieces, marinated the small pieces for almost an hour, then baked them until done. Just excellent. Served with roasted asparagus and polenta. Watermelon for dessert. Perfect meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      This was wonderful Jewelies, I used an organic chicken, red curry paste & cilantro leaves,I also made my own coconut milk. The chicken smelled amazing and tasted just as great. It was moist and juicy with a nice crisp skin. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      I didn't have green curry paste (or the motivation to make any), so I just used a couple teaspoons of curry powder. Good gawd! The aroma that filled my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      Great chicken,Jewelies. I left the chicken to marinade overnight and we had it today for lunch.I made my own Thai green curry paste, used light coconut milk and the chicken was cooked in a pan on the barbecue (hood down)- it turned out a treat, lovely crispy skin and moist flesh!!! I have also used your marinade for chicken breast fillets - made them into Thai Chicken Burgers (with lots of yummy Satay Sauce). Definitely will make both again, a great keeper recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2004

      Great stuff! Loved the flavours and the taste. Did add some garam masala. Thank you. :) Fay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2004

      We loved this chicken! I made it exactly as the recipe is written and the end result was a nicely flavored, but not overly spiced, juicy chicken. I used an organic chicken and light coconut milk. Thanks Jewelies, great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai-style Roast Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (445 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 923.0
     
    Calories from Fat 617
    66%
    Total Fat 68.5 g
    105%
    Saturated Fat 26.8 g
    134%
    Cholesterol 281.2 mg
    93%
    Sodium 505.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 71.1 g
    142%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    green curry paste

    chili

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites