10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A nice tomato relish that is very easy to make. Sweet and tangy all at the same time making it a nice side. Made as written cutting down to 2 jars. Read your note about adding tomato paste and wished I had some to add. Thanks for the post. Updating my review from a four star to a five star because DH liked so well he asked to take as part of his lunch. Will make again and add tomato paste. Thanks again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl August 05, 2010

Very easy to make! I didn't have any malt vinegar, so I used cider vinegar. I also used vidalia onions to make this. I don't like tomatoes, but I like this. It has a very nice sweet flavor.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber2925 June 23, 2009

Can't believe no one has rated this, it is so good, not just because your my Mum.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummasgirl March 22, 2009

Absolutely 5 stars for this. Absolutely love this recipe. Have made heaps and will keep making it until i run out tomatoes in the garden. Can't get enough of it. Thank you!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
margmulvaney August 29, 2013

I used white viniger and chili flakes as a 1 jar. YUM.... for my first ever relish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
freyja80 March 09, 2013

This is great way of saving surplus tomatoes. I am sure this will be very good this winter on all kinds of proteins and sandwiches. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbfans July 21, 2012

Well just like to say this is an excellent recipe for relish...delicious with a bit of spice & tang...didn't have malt vinegar so used white vinegar instead...will try the malt next time...thanks so much to you & the other ladies for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aussie Lyn October 20, 2011

Fabulous! Really easy to make, especially as I only roughly chopped the tomatoes and then mashed them down during cooking (the children like it mushier). As I usually do with foods like this, for my second batch I made some adaptations to make it my own. I threw in about 100g finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes (really dried, not in oil); substituted soft light brown sugar for about half the sugar quantity; used 50% red wine vinegar; added another generous teaspoon of chilli powder and thickened it with tomato powder instead of cornflour. The result was a relish with a deeper red colour and a more adult depth of flavour and kick. Also fabulous, if I do say so myself!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elyss May 04, 2015

Just made this 3 days ago, the kids loved it, husband loved it,Now i am making it again, almost out , they really did love it :)<br/>i didn't add thickener, i just reduced it until it was the thickness I wanted it<br/>I added a extra 1/4 tsp of chilli,it really was perfect<br/>Thankyou

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vanessa Atkins February 05, 2015

I Give This Recipe At Least 5 Stars. I have Brought Pickles, Relish, Ect From All Over The Country At Markets, Stalls Ect. And Paid Top Dollar. But Not Any More. This Is The Best Relish me And My Whole family Have Ever Tried. I have Made 5 double Lots So far. And They All Went Just Like That.. Congrats mummamills For A Fantastic Recipe. Its About Time Someone did. Cheers Chris & Candy Smart.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris S. November 28, 2013
Tomato Relish, Aussie Style