Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Turkish Coffee - Kahve Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Turkish Coffee - Kahve

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2010

      I made my turkish coffee...Cok Sekerli. It was excellent. Found the directions easy to follow. Thanks for sharing this treat flower.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I've tried making this a few times now, following the directions exactly, and the coffee seems awfully weak for Turkish style coffee. I used 6 tbsp (3 fl ozs) of water, 1 heaping tsp of Turkish coffee powder, and 1 sugar cube (= 1 tsp sugar). It's okay, but I'd like it a lot stronger. Also, I am not getting much crema. I think maybe I'll leave this to my DH, who has been making it quite well for years! Thanks anyway, Chef floWer! Made for Comfort Cafe January 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      I got given some Turkish coffee in a swap so thought that Ortu Sutlu sounded like me, yep I was right. I used skim milk so I didn't get the froth that I should have but this is great tasting coffee. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I LOVE this coffee! My ex-husband is of Macedonian descent. My dear, sweet (ex)MIL taught me to make this coffee many many years ago. I loved it from the first cup. She always made it very sweet (Cok Sekerli) and so this is the version I made today. I made a cup for myself and my step-daughter and she too now loves this coffee. Thank you so much for posting this simple but delicious coffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      This is coffee that all Middle East's countries and Greece share. So its the most common coffee in Greece. I had mine sade (sketo in Greek). Its common here that we serve it to our guests with a glass of cold water and a homemade sweet in syrop (spoon sweet). As you can see in the photo I had in hand, grape in syrop by my mum. A great evening beverage and snack! Thanks Chef floWer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Turkish Coffee is the only coffee I enjoy black, but when I saw Orta Sutlu I just had to try it! I loved it! Go ahead, give it a try! You will love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      I made the orta sutlu 'cause I was curious what the coffee would be like made directly with milk rather than adding milk to the finished coffee. It was tasty and very rich, but next time I would cut the sugar in half. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      I can still buy Turkish Coffe from a supplier in Poitiers - and I STILL have all the numerous size coffee pots too! So, I was delighted to make this for ZWT3....when I lived in Cyprus I was given instructions on how to make this - and my frothy head was perfect after all these years! I am an ORTA person - always was - so I made this orta and it was Cok Guzel!! Thanks for posting and reminding me to make this, as an after dinner boost! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      This is authentic! Easy to follow directions, because the measure is the espresso cup you will ultimately drink from. I have Turkish coffee, finely ground with roasted cardamum, and I was glad to use it with this recipe! Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Great coffee. I have been intending to try this Turkish coffee for quite awhile now. I even found a place in Regina to get the coffee powder! Wonders never cease. I went with Orta Sutlu and Turkish coffee definatly has it's own personality but it's one I quite like. I was hard pressed not to add a cinnamon stick and a star anise but I wanted to have the first cup "straight". The spice will go into the next one *wink*. I made a double, wheeeeeeeeeee. Thanks floWer. Made for ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      I love this stuff! The first time I was introduced to Turkish coffee was when I first came to Israel as a student when I was 17. At the time, brewed coffee was practically non-existant (as was Starbucks, etc.), instant coffee was horrific (the country had yet to discover Taster's Choice) and the only way to get a decent cup of coffee was to go the Middle Eastern route, brewed in an authentic Turkish coffee pot. I prefer my Turkish coffee sweet, so I went with Cok Sekerli. I also like the local method of mixing cardamom with the coffee and actually buy it in the supermarket already mixed it. You need a tiny bit of patience for the grounds to settle on the bottom of your cup, but once you do, mmmmmmmmm, that first sip is nirvana. There are some old-fashioned coffee houses in Israel that will even read the grounds for you after you finish. Warning: this stuff is really strong, don't drink this after hours if you don't want to stay up all night. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Turkish Coffee - Kahve

    Serving Size: 1 (969 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.0
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    37%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 133.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 14.6 g
    58%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    turkish coffee powder

    turkish coffee powder

    turkish coffee powder

    turkish coffee powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes