Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Veg-Out Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Veg-Out Soup

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2008

      This soup was very good with lots of flavour. I didn't have a bay leaf or parsley so I left them out. I added zucchini and orzo pasta. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      This soup was easy to make and made for a tasty and filling meal tonight. As somebody who is always watching the fat grams it was also nice to see a soup recipe that didn't start with oil. I used all the veggies but chopped them a bit bigger as we like chunky soups and other than that the other changes I made were to used canned chopped tomatoes, used a brown sugar substitute and threw in a bit of garlic powder. I also skipped the pasta because the soup was hearty enough and I used those calories to have some bread instead. Made for the Family Picks portion of the ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Great soup and fast to prepare;just what I needed this morning.I did add some frozen vegetables from the freezer.Love the stewed tomatoes; I never think of using those,but I did have a can in the pantry.Thanks for posting.I made it for WT4. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Made this yesterday almost exactly to recipe, although used two small red onions instead of white one as just prefer sweetness, and I left it in my slow cooker in the morning so it was ready for when we got in for lunch. My son (whos two in a few days) ate two large bowlfuls! He loves veg, pasta and tomatoes so i guess it was bound to be a big hit. But it was nice to give him something that I knew was bursting with goodness and had no junk in, thank you very much :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This soup is amazing, and so colorful and beautiful! I loved that I had all the ingredients on hand! I did make many alterations to the recipe, though. As I'm not the hugest fan of chunks of tomatoes, I subbed some tomato paste for the stewed tomatoes. I also omitted the sugar, and added a generous amount of basil and oregano and a couple huge cloves of garlic. I happened to have some veggie pasta spirals that were absolutely perfect for this dish. I had to knock off a star because the cooking time was way off-- the vegetables took a couple hours to get soft, and in that time, the broth reduced to almost nothing. I used four cups of chicken stock, but next time I'll use probably twice as much. It could have been that I didn't saute the vegetables long enough initially, and that is why they didn't soften as fast as they should have. All in all, this soup is terrific, and I will be making it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Very good, easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      I used 3 cups of chicken stock but I had to add water 2 or 3 times cause it was too thick. And after 30 minutes my veggies were not done. It was at medium-low heat for almost 3 hours. The taste is really good. Thanks Mama :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      Just got done making and inhaling this soup... I did do things a bit different, but it couldn't have been made with out your recipe as the BACKBONE.. So for that- I THANK YOU!!! :) Instead of stewed tomatoes, I used diced, I also used 2 bay leaves, Johnny's seasoning salt, crushed red peppers, and instead of the chicken broth I used 2 heaps of chicken base plus 6 cups water to give it added broth.. (I am HORRIBLE at measuring things out, I usually just eyeball it) Before adding the veggies to the pot, I sauted them in oil.. I also used red potatoes because that is all I had on hand.. Warmed my HEART and fed my SOUL!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      This is nion identical to my mums deli soup, I had to try this recipe, we do it with beef bones so I was so intiged by the chicken stock technique. I really enjoyed this, as did the rest of the family. Thanks for posting. Miss Pixie x x x :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      We had this for lunch today and it is a perfect soup for a light dinner or a lunch. I used pasta in the soup which came out great! The only thing I would prefer to see is for it to have a little more broth. Next time I make this I will add more broth/water to cook. Other than that, superb!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      Hay mama your soup is so good that I make a lot and freeze some for later it is so yummy my hubby just loves it I've made soup in the past but none as good as yours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      Yummy, yummy mama!! You are the best and so is your soup!! Congrats!! Love Me & Alex :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      We liked this soup okay but it seemed to be lacking in alot of flavor. DH said he liked other vegetable soups I had made alot better. It was okay just needs alot more seasoning. Thanks for sharing though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This is a great soup! I added the zucchini and used alphabet shaped pasta for the little ones. My DW and I enjoyed this with a loaf of french bread. I will make this again. I joined Zaar to rate this recipe! Good luck to you chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Did I ever love this soup, it was so good. I know the zucchini was optional, but I used it anyway, because I love having zucchinis in soup. I did use pasta - I used orzo, and it wnet very well with this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      reviewed for RSC 9. This is a simple and easy recipe to put together for a quick lunch or as an addition to dinner. Light and fresh tasting. I used low sodium, low fat chicken broth, chopped up the stewed tomatoes and it came out great! I like just plain veggies but family wants more substance. I do see this as a very versatile recipe, changing rice for noodles, adding meat, or additional veggies, even lentils to it. Will definitely make this again. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      We really enjoyed this soup! I did add the zucchini and used the vegetable broth. Very easy to make, inexpensive, and simple ingredients. The only thing different I would do next time is add a can of red beans. Thank you for a great meal and good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Reviewed for RSC # 9. I loved the fact that this was low fat, but was a little concerned at the amount of sodium there too, but I’m certain that shop bought broth/stock would be mostly responsible for that, so I used my own homemade chicken stock instead. Just for personal taste I would cut back on the tomatoes a bit,as they were a little overpowering ompared to the rest of the balance and maybe the potatoes too if I was looking for lower carb dish. The rest was fine and it was a filling healthy lunch several days in a row as I strive for an healthier eating pattern. Please see my rating system: a lovely 4 stars for a low fat recipe that isn’t short on taste, and which as a chop and simmer recipe was very easy to put together. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I made this for my "contest judging" dinner party night - everybody liked this, but I didn't find it significantly different from any other vegetable soup - I also subbed vegetable stock for chicken stock, because it seemed a shame to ruin a potentially vegetarian dish. Again, I liked this - but it just wasn't terribly special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      My BF thought this soup was exceptional, but although it was a nice veggie soup I felt there was nothing about it that set it apart. I did use a can of fire-roasted tomatoes, and that helped. The pasta I used was orzo. Also used veggie stock and white sugar as I did not have brown. It was sort of like a tomato soup with extra veggies. Best of luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Veg-Out Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (416 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.8
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    45%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1261.2 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 15.0 g
    60%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites