Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Vegetable and Lentil Hotpot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetable and Lentil Hotpot

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2011

      I made this for a bunch of folks and all enjoyed immensely. We used zucchini, squash, carrots, and potaotes and this turned out very lovely & filling. One person has been fighting a cold and said this really helped. I served with garden salad & a nice loaf of crusty bread. Thanks for an easy filling meal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      Good flavor. My DH really liked it, which surprised me because he doesn't care for sweet potatoes! I was afraid that it was going to be too spicy for me so I just added the chili powder a little at a time until I had the whole amount in. I was amazed that there was little to no heat at all. Thanks for a new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      This is great! I am really digging it right now...especially with added dollops of plain yogurt. I went with a combo of sweet potato, orange bell pepper, celery, and carrot. Also used veggie stock. I think next time I will opt for fresh ginger since I prefer that taste to the powdered stuff. Really good, well-spiced recipe! Thanks so much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I adored this dish and the only change I made was to use fresh ginger rather than crushed. It's great with almost any vegetables that you enjoy and very good on a diet too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This was great, I think I overestimated 5 c of raw veggies, but I added some extra water and bouillon and it turned out great. I used sweet potatoes, yams, carrots, and green beans. Even the picky kids liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I wasn't expecting much. I've tried a lot of highly-rated recipes lately that were pretty disappointing. So the fact that this one was so enjoyable was a happy surprise. I used a potato, sweet potato, parsnips, carrots and green beans. Instead of red lentils I used green, because I had an open package I wanted to use up. I used ginger paste for the ginger. And I used homemade vegetable broth instead of the bouillon. I did add some salt. Very very tasty and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      What a lovely easy dish to make. I used low fat cooking spray rather than the oil so it would fit in with my eating plan. I had never had lentils in anything other than soup and will certainly make this dish again. Like most things it tasted even better the second day, especially when served with a dollop of very low fat fromage frais and chopped fresh corriander. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Stardustannie, thank you we loved it,ans I mean the kids ate it. My son even said it was one of his favorites! we did add a little parmesan cheese and a small dalop of sour cream. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      What a great, healthy, versatile recipe!! I used pumpkin, carrots, green beans, zucchini and swede. I meant to use sweet potato and red pepper, but I ran out of room. :D I'll save that for next time. Thanks Shaz!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      What a great, healthy and versatile recipe. It's so simple to make, with ingredients I usually have on hand and it's so flavoursome. I used potatoes, butternut squash, zucchini, green beans and some carrot. I halved the recipe without problems. Thanks for sharing, I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      I LOVED THIS! I LOVE that this recipe is so versatile and easy. I made it in the crock pot using butternut squash and zucchini and it was awesome. (I sautéed the onion and garlic first, then added everything to the crock pot on high about 4 hours). I served it with mashed potatoes and Crowd Pleasing Light Oat Bread (Bread Machine). THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      This is a really nice recipe. I can definitely see it getting on the rotation here. I used sweet potatoes, pumpkin, carrot, zucchini and beans. Next time I make it, I will add more green stuff, maybe baby spinach leaves. Very, very nice with a slice of fresh homemade wholegrain bread for an easy weekday dinner. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      Delicious! I used 1 russet potato, 1 sweet potato and some green beans substituting prepackaged vegetable stock for the cubes. Sauteed the onion in a little stock instead of oil, a great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2005

      Very good indian-style dish. Extremely easy to fix and convenient! I used two red potatoes, half a butternut squash, a red bell pepper, some brocoli and a big carrot (diagonally sliced ; make thin slices, no more than 1/4'' thick, otherwise they will take longer to cook than the other veggies). My stew took about 40 minutes to cook. I think the addition of salt was necessary to bring out all the flavours. It also tasted better after standing for a while, so if you can, make this a little in advance and keep it warm at minimum heat until you serve it or make ahead and reheat. I served it with chopped cilantro and a dollop of yogourt - I recommand it but it is not essential to enjoying this dish. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      Went with the suggested vegetables and really liked the spices in this healthy stew. This was done in under half an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      I used yukon gold potatoes, sweet potato and string beans, along with my roasted vegetable stock. The flavors are rich and the stew is so satisfying that it is hard to believe it is as low in calories and fat as it is. I had a double portion and a glass of wine and it made for a wonderful and healthy meal. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetable and Lentil Hotpot

    Serving Size: 1 (298 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.1
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    15%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetables

    vegetable bouillon cubes

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes