10 Reviews

Fantastic recipe!!! Used passion fruit and a few drops of yellow colour instead of milk and worked really well. Thanks Jubes for another winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sams1 March 23, 2014

Wonderful recipe! Used it for cupcakes this weekend, and used the leftovers to make a few sandwich cookies. I've been looking for alternatives to my usual butter cream, and this has definately made the list. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mgw68 February 02, 2009

We added 1/8 tsp almond extract and frosted on vanilla cupcakes. Not very healthy but delicious. This is almost effortless. We will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaJuneBug January 24, 2009

Add 1/8 to 1/4 tsp. of almond extract, and this goes from wonderful to fabulous! This is the buttercream icing I use for cake decorating, and I always get raves for it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panakanic January 20, 2009

Like others said, this is the recipe my mother has always used, more or less, and that I use too. You can use vegetable shortening instead of butter for a white-white frosting, and when I do so I add a teaspoon or so of vanilla extract to give it some flavor. Come to think of it, I add vanilla when I use butter, too! Anyway, if your butter is soft but not melty and you add the milk gradually, it comes out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anissa Wolf January 20, 2009

This is the classic butter cream frosting recipe, I have made this for years and years. If your butter is too warm the end result will be runny. I chill my mixer bowl before making this recipe (I live in FL) and the butter comes out of the fridge just 10 minutes before I put it together and it always comes out perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
812789 January 20, 2009

This came out very runny.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriLicious Treats December 04, 2007

Great recipe with good instructions- even my non baking husband managed a great icing! Added cocoa for a tasty chocolate flavoured icing. It was quite warm so we didn't use all the milk. Cheers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickee November 14, 2007

I saw this recipe and don't even need to bake a cake to review it.......This is exactly the recipe I have always used for frosting. It is the one my mother made and I just love it. If anyone wants a quick easy and delicious frosting, they should try your recipe. Donna

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 July 01, 2007
Vienna Cream Frosting (Better Than Cream!)