45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Here's a winner. I am not an egg fan at all, and was looking for ways to get more protein in my diet via eggs. Here it is! LOVE it. Made lots of changes, but the basic recipe is just a winner. You can mess with this big time, as I did, and it is still great. I cut the "good stuff" by using egg beaters, skim milk with no cream, promise spread in place of butter, and only 1 cup cheese. Veg = mushrooms, red pepper, cilantro, a can of green chilies, and one tomato sliced on top. Also added a cup of chopped chicken breast from last night's dinner and some spices. Excellent! Will try different ingredients. This is a keeper. Simple and FAST! Thanks.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 August 02, 2010

Made this recipe as small muffin size quiches for school lunches and Little Miss (DD) loved them. She asked for shredded ham and cheese only! They only needed about 35 mins before they started to brown up so I took them out of the oven and they were perfect inside. Thanks Mumma for a easy recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer February 19, 2012

Unmatched in ease! I made this mid week and it made a beyond easy brown bag lunch for the rest of the week! I used pre cooked venison sausage, crumbled, sauteed onions, zucchini, and red bell pepper. Also added about a half tsp salt, some freshly ground black pepper and a bit of garlic paste with the sauteed veggies. Turned out beautifully browned on the edges and with a great creamy texture. I did only use 1/4 C. flour however, since I did spot more than a few reviews about an overly firm texture when the full amount was used...my only change, and it worked great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Captain's Lady July 07, 2012

Loved it! I didn't have self rising flour but you can make your own by adding 3/4 tsp baking soda and 1/4 tsp salt to the 1/2 cup all purpose (or whole wheat) flour. Very forgiving and flexible base recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikki123 January 02, 2012

I own a lodge that has a simple restaurant and we use this recipe often - it's become a staple of our menu. It's great with just about anything (the cooks have come up with some interesting combinations!). I use it often at home for last minute 'what are we going to have for dinner?' times or when you have unexpected guests and need to whip something up quickly with what is on hand.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zamgirl September 21, 2011

I loved the simplicity of this recipe and the appearance, but felt that my quiche turned out a bit too firm and thick in consistency compared to other quiches I have made. I will try adding 1/4 cup self raising flour next time. Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy-O September 13, 2010

Hmmm. The basic idea is good. I enjoyed making them in a muffin tin, as another reviewer suggested. And I thought the amount of flour was good. But I found them bland. I added corn, red peppers, and green onions; smoked paprika, cajun seasoning, and salt and pepper for flavor... but not enough apparently. Hubby said twice that they were too bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn July 18, 2013

If you're hesitant about making this - don't be, just do it! I made this for lunch with a fresh salad and I had rave reviews from my family. I fried some garlic, onions and bacon before adding mushrooms and leftover roasted butternut squash to the egg mixture. The quantities are perfect (I'm always wary when testing a new recipe) and timing is spot on. Next time I'll leave out the butter, I don't think it's necessary with the cheese and cream. This recipe is wonderful, I'm looking forward to making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoogeeCat June 26, 2012

I made them as mini-quiches using muffin tins, tripling the recipe so I ended up with 36 regular muffin sized mini-quiches to bring to a brunch meeting tomorrow--a third are spinach-mushroom (use fresh, coarsely chopped), a third are spinach-tomato (2/3 can of chopped tomato and fresh coarsely chopped spinach) and a third are ham (store-bought cubed). I paid close attention to making the egg mixture, but everything else was sloppy and turned out just great by eyeballing it. Really super, easy, adjustable recipe--this one's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ProfLibertine March 22, 2012

Wow! This came out perfect and easy to transer on a serving plate.
My choice was: mushrooms and artichokes. Yum! thanks a lot for this fast, tasty and filling dish!
Perfect for weekdinners for all busy people.

I think you can transform this as great appetizers cutting it in smaller pieces (when cold!) and arrange on a serving plate. All will love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde February 08, 2012
Wallumbilla Crustless Quiche