105 Reviews

I made this for my family last night and I was so excited until I took a bite. It was not a good combination for my liking, the cornmeal was not a pleasant texture, and would have been better off using Panko or another breadcrumb instead. Needless to say it was a waste of time and money. I didn't even serve it to my family... it went right into the trash. I also agree with another comment below. The breading stuck on the fish nice, until you turned it over, and then it all fell off in one large chunck. I would NOT reccommend this recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook630 January 30, 2011

Gosh, I am sorry for this low rating but we didn't like this at all. I followed the recipe, only reducing the cayenne pepper to 1/8 tsp as we don't like spicy, hot food. Even though we like all the ingredients used, the spices were not a great combination for our tastes. The coating did seem to stick okay until I flipped it, then most of it fell off. I see that I am a minority with all the great reviews so I am glad that others enjoyed it. Thx for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word January 29, 2010

Absolute outstanding. Within two days I have made it twice. I'm so glad to have made this easy to make, healthy and so deeeelish fish recipe. I have used catfish and tilapia and it was great. The breading is very easy to made and because only "dry" ingredients are used you can make in advance. I love the taste of mustard and the milk mixture gives just the right amount of mustard flavour without overpowering the other flavours. Because I like it spicy, I have added a little more of cayenne pepper and it was fantastic. Love the taste of the breading and the texture of it. In opposite to pan seared fish it remains dry and is not soaked with oil. You can use any of your favorite dips with this fish too, try you favorite salsa or dip. Or maybe try a little dijon mustard with the fish to support this flavour. The fish is easy to make and it really needs not more than 4 minutes from each side. The second time I have made this recipe I cut the fillet into smaller pieces to have more of the breading and the outcome was a fantastic finger food. I tried the leftovers cold and still was so good that I have had it with mustard and salad as a sandwich. Thank you so much Hope for this wonderful recipe. It opens so many possibilities of variations that 5 stars are sure not enough. I will make it now very often.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thorsten March 20, 2006

I have tried and posted many oven-fried type fish recipes and this one is the best of show. The coating was well seasoned. The fish was crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. Very closely resembles real fried fish. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' May 21, 2009

The coating is wonderful - really sticks well. I didn't have any trouble turning it over. I ran out of cayenne, and it really needed it. We ended up needing some tartar sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc January 31, 2015

We give this only a 3 star rating, sorry. Flavor wise everyone loved it! But crispy? Not so much. They were more on the gritty side than crispy because of the cornmeal. Next time I will use planko in the mix, cornflakes or maybe stuffing as someone else posted. <br/><br/>I omitted the pepper and cayenne for the grands but other than that followed this as written multiplied by 4. I have 8 in my household at the moment and we all love fish. I should have read more of the reviews before hand. Had a problem with the coating coming off when flipping them..maybe add an egg? I don't know. Everyone said the flavor was awesome! So maybe with a few tweeks it will get a higher rating from me. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heartspell January 26, 2014

this was a waste of time and money

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Summer B. November 28, 2013

I really liked the idea of broiled "fried" fish. The recipe was fairly easy to prepare, even though we did have some trouble with the breading falling off when we turned it as others have mentioned. We all thought the herbs and spices overpowered the fish. (We used Hake Loin) If we had cut that in half, we probably would have liked it a lot better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) September 12, 2013

Even my two year old likes this. Mild with the cornmeal and just a little kick from the paprika. We left out the hot pepper, though. Thanks for a great recipe. Oh, we used this with Halibut filets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nonperishable March 17, 2013

Very, very good. mixed 1/2 cornmeal w/ 1/2 panko. We used Swai because it is a sweeter fish than talapia, much like basa or catfish. Plus Swai is a really large fillet. Talapia is just too bland, no matter what you do to it, for us. This is now in the rotation. At the table I coated w/ calrified butter and a little lemon juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1emeraldcook February 21, 2013
Yummy Crispy Baked Fish