Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Yummy Crispy Baked Fish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yummy Crispy Baked Fish

    Average Rating:

    104 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 104

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2011

      I made this for my family last night and I was so excited until I took a bite. It was not a good combination for my liking, the cornmeal was not a pleasant texture, and would have been better off using Panko or another breadcrumb instead. Needless to say it was a waste of time and money. I didn't even serve it to my family... it went right into the trash. I also agree with another comment below. The breading stuck on the fish nice, until you turned it over, and then it all fell off in one large chunck. I would NOT reccommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Gosh, I am sorry for this low rating but we didn't like this at all. I followed the recipe, only reducing the cayenne pepper to 1/8 tsp as we don't like spicy, hot food. Even though we like all the ingredients used, the spices were not a great combination for our tastes. The coating did seem to stick okay until I flipped it, then most of it fell off. I see that I am a minority with all the great reviews so I am glad that others enjoyed it. Thx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      Absolute outstanding. Within two days I have made it twice. I'm so glad to have made this easy to make, healthy and so deeeelish fish recipe. I have used catfish and tilapia and it was great. The breading is very easy to made and because only "dry" ingredients are used you can make in advance. I love the taste of mustard and the milk mixture gives just the right amount of mustard flavour without overpowering the other flavours. Because I like it spicy, I have added a little more of cayenne pepper and it was fantastic. Love the taste of the breading and the texture of it. In opposite to pan seared fish it remains dry and is not soaked with oil. You can use any of your favorite dips with this fish too, try you favorite salsa or dip. Or maybe try a little dijon mustard with the fish to support this flavour. The fish is easy to make and it really needs not more than 4 minutes from each side. The second time I have made this recipe I cut the fillet into smaller pieces to have more of the breading and the outcome was a fantastic finger food. I tried the leftovers cold and still was so good that I have had it with mustard and salad as a sandwich. Thank you so much Hope for this wonderful recipe. It opens so many possibilities of variations that 5 stars are sure not enough. I will make it now very often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      I have tried and posted many oven-fried type fish recipes and this one is the best of show. The coating was well seasoned. The fish was crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. Very closely resembles real fried fish. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      We give this only a 3 star rating, sorry. Flavor wise everyone loved it! But crispy? Not so much. They were more on the gritty side than crispy because of the cornmeal. Next time I will use planko in the mix, cornflakes or maybe stuffing as someone else posted. <br/><br/>I omitted the pepper and cayenne for the grands but other than that followed this as written multiplied by 4. I have 8 in my household at the moment and we all love fish. I should have read more of the reviews before hand. Had a problem with the coating coming off when flipping them..maybe add an egg? I don't know. Everyone said the flavor was awesome! So maybe with a few tweeks it will get a higher rating from me. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      this was a waste of time and money

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      I really liked the idea of broiled "fried" fish. The recipe was fairly easy to prepare, even though we did have some trouble with the breading falling off when we turned it as others have mentioned. We all thought the herbs and spices overpowered the fish. (We used Hake Loin) If we had cut that in half, we probably would have liked it a lot better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      Even my two year old likes this. Mild with the cornmeal and just a little kick from the paprika. We left out the hot pepper, though. Thanks for a great recipe. Oh, we used this with Halibut filets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      Very, very good. mixed 1/2 cornmeal w/ 1/2 panko. We used Swai because it is a sweeter fish than talapia, much like basa or catfish. Plus Swai is a really large fillet. Talapia is just too bland, no matter what you do to it, for us. This is now in the rotation. At the table I coated w/ calrified butter and a little lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      Pretty good recipe! Since I am not a big fan of cornmeal I substituted it for pancake mix, like Bisquick. I omitted the onion powder as well because I was out. It tasted great, however, I did have a problem like previous reviewers with the breading. Good recipe overall.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      I am sorry to say, we just did not enjoy this recipe. We like fish very much, but this one just wasn't for us. None of my kids wanted to eat and they usually love my fish. My husband ate it and said it wasn't bad but I honestly think he was just being nice. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      We really liked this fish. The tilapia was nice and crisp on the outside and had great flavor. The only thing I will try differently next time is to sprtiz the top of the fish coating with Pam so it doesn't get too dry. Loved the flavor and it was nice and healthy, too! Thanks. :) Made for the Healthy Choices tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      Very easy and very tasty! I made it just like the recipe and it was great - no problem with the coating coming off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      Outstanding! The whole family was thrilled with the taste and texture of the dish...wouldn't change a thing and will make it over and over again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      This recipe should not have even one bad review. The texture is perfect. the season is is excellent and well balanced. I was looking for alternatives to frying my fish and this hit the spot Thank you for posting and this is officially my favorite way to make fish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      the tilapia was good but not as crispy as i would have liked. i didn't want to over cook it so i cooked it about 10 min. i will prepare again. thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      A good simple breading recipe for fish. Made this tonight with flounder, and I like the crunchiness of the corn meal. The ingredients are basic pantry items so no need to make a special trip to the food store. The cayenne pepper is a must have ingredient for me, and it lends a nice zing to the recipe. Not a show-stopper recipe, but hey, how much of a wow factor can breading have? It's a solid recipe that goes together fast using basic pantry ingredients, and dinner can be on the table in a snap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

    • on February 09, 2011

      THIS WAS AWESOME and will change the way I eat fish!! Not having any cornmeal, I subbed Pepperidge Farm Cornbread Stuffing and then just used a rolling pin to crush it. I used 1 1/2 c. of this and then used the seasoning amounts called for in the recipe since the stuffing has it's own seasoning. I only had flounder fillets on hand but think you need a better quality of fish for it to taste it's best. I also sprayed the foil really well and had no problems with the breading falling off when I flipped them. Thanks for sharing..this one is a keeper for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      I made this for the second time tonight. My family loves it! It's so easy to adjust the seasonings to taste, I always have all the ingredients on hand and it's SO easy to make! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yummy Crispy Baked Fish

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    15%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 58.8 mg
    19%
    Sodium 654.6 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brown mustard

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites