93 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are yummy little bites. They are more like mini, crustless quiches than mini muffins. I wish I would have used paper liners or a non-stick pan as mine did stick quite a bit. I baked them at 375 for 28 minutes but would bake for 30 next time. I think there is huge potential to change out some ingredients depending on your mood. For instance, I might try prosciutto instead of bacon and roasted red pepper instead of carrot and add Italian seasoning for an Italian style bite. Perhaps I would use corn muffin mix instead of flour and add jack/cheddar combo and green chilies for a little Tex/Mex flair. They would also be great with a little seafood and Old Bay. The possibilities are endless. Thanks for posting such a delicious and versatile recipe.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJ October 16, 2008

This was wonderful! I used 2 eggs, and didn't have self rising flour so I used whole wheat flour and 3/4 tsp of baking powder. I added a bit of black pepper too. I think I needed more bacon or a touch of salt with it. I made half the batch with colby jack, the other with pepper jack, and I loved the spice. Will definitely make again! Thanks!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ezri_B September 15, 2010

As a vegetarian and part-time vegan, I used what I had on hand--"Smart Bacon" brand soy "bacon," soy shredded cheddar "cheese," but then still used regular heavy cream instead of soy or skim milk, in order to help maintain some of the original richness of the dish. I think it worked. I also used whole wheat flour, which I made self-rising by using this quick recipe: http://southernfood.about.com/cs/breads/ht/self_rise_flour.htm They turned out super delicious--like little mini quiches. Tasted even better with hot sauce. My boyfriend loved them too. Overall, we were quite satisfied and will make these again.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfryapathy January 26, 2010

These were delicious! I used about 2 cups of grated zucchini. I also added a 1/2 of a chopped jalapeno pepper for some kick and some salt to perk things up. They popped out of the mini muffin pan easily with a plastic knife. I didn't have to grease of flour them for the second batch. They took about 21 minutes to cook in my convection oven.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge July 03, 2012

Absolutely fantastic! Light, fluffy and full of flavor. For the sake of clarifying recipe, here are some proportions and edits:<br/><br/>1 1/2 cups each of the grated zucchini & carrot <br/> (drain the zucchini after grating so mixture isn't too wet--cook mixture for 5 minutes)<br/>1 1/2 cups grated cheese (i used white cheddar)<br/>5 bacon slices, trim off some of the fat and mince bacon before cooking<br/>Add salt & pepper to egg mixture to taste<br/>1 tablespoon minced fresh dill<br/><br/>All other ingredients and measurements stayed the same.<br/>Cooked in a dark non-stick 2" mini muffin tray that was buttered and floured.<br/>325 degrees for 25 minutes<br/>Muffins popped right out.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cdakint January 11, 2014

These are very moist and delicious!! One problem I have, is the adjective "large" used with ZUCCHINI. lol So I weighed my veggies with the results of; zucchini 11.75 ounces/320 grams, carrot 4 ounces/115 grams, onion 5 ounces/145 grams. I think I could have baked these for another 5 minutes, since I made 15 regular size muffins. I do have leftover muffins, ONLY because I'm saving some back for my husband. I think I'll make these in bite size form, for next months wine tasting get together. I know they will be a hit. Made for Please Review My Recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J October 15, 2011

I couldn't leave these alone. They are so good. I made these for our dinner tonight and this is the dish I kept eating. I loved how the bacon flavored throughout the little muffin. We really liked these gems and I plan on repeating this recipe often......now where are my leftovers!?!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 22, 2012

Dear Noo, this is actually 5 star, but I found it difficult (from across the pond) to guess how much veggies to use! We tend to use baby marrows (small zucchini, about 5" long). Still, the recipe made such a lovely side dish! I do get so tired of zucchini and carrots, and this was simple and great. I do suggest you edit the recipe for us fools, and rather put in an approximate weight for the carrots and onions. Also, 3/4 onion: how much is that? :lol:

Noo, I want to alert you to something. The photo of this recipe was/is on the Home Page, which attracted me. I went to the recipe and printed it out. The print-out differed from your ingredients!!

On my printout it says: "1 finely chopped onions", "3 slices rindless bacon", "1 large grated carrots", "1 large grated zucchini", and then it says "3 eggs" instead of your 2 eggs.

It still worked a charm: I used muffin holes, and got 9 lovely golden muffins. Maybe you could also print it and check the ingredients on your print-out: must have something to do with the change-over to Food.com!

Thanks for (for me) a new side dish!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie July 23, 2010

I'm giving this 4 stars because 1, I think the directions should say to drain the carrot/zucchini mixture after cooking. 2, because I wasn't sure on your take on a lg zucchini vs mine. 3, the recipe says beat eggs, cream & cheese together, season to taste. I wasn't going to taste the raw egg mixture. I added some salt & pepper but once they were done I realized they needed more than I had added. Mine seemed a little "eggy" to me, maybe because of the size of the zucchini I used& I had to cook them for 30 min. I will be making this again, just need to tweek some things. Please don't take this as a negative review, I think it just needs some clarifying. Will be an easy on the go breakfast once I get it right for me.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Verelucky October 28, 2008

I just had to try these...what with all the reviews...hubby loved them hot...I preferred them room temp...I used two eggs like other suggested and I did drain my veggie mixture...I had no problem getting them out of the pan...but I did need to cook them for a full 30 minutes...I also peeled my zucchini and wished that I didn't because I think it would have added a bit more color to the dish...overall a nice tasty dish that I'm glad I tried...thanks for posting it...=)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas September 20, 2013
Zucchini Bites