Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Zucchini Bites Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini Bites

    Average Rating:

    91 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 91

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2008

      These are yummy little bites. They are more like mini, crustless quiches than mini muffins. I wish I would have used paper liners or a non-stick pan as mine did stick quite a bit. I baked them at 375 for 28 minutes but would bake for 30 next time. I think there is huge potential to change out some ingredients depending on your mood. For instance, I might try prosciutto instead of bacon and roasted red pepper instead of carrot and add Italian seasoning for an Italian style bite. Perhaps I would use corn muffin mix instead of flour and add jack/cheddar combo and green chilies for a little Tex/Mex flair. They would also be great with a little seafood and Old Bay. The possibilities are endless. Thanks for posting such a delicious and versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      This was wonderful! I used 2 eggs, and didn't have self rising flour so I used whole wheat flour and 3/4 tsp of baking powder. I added a bit of black pepper too. I think I needed more bacon or a touch of salt with it. I made half the batch with colby jack, the other with pepper jack, and I loved the spice. Will definitely make again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      As a vegetarian and part-time vegan, I used what I had on hand--"Smart Bacon" brand soy "bacon," soy shredded cheddar "cheese," but then still used regular heavy cream instead of soy or skim milk, in order to help maintain some of the original richness of the dish. I think it worked. I also used whole wheat flour, which I made self-rising by using this quick recipe: http://southernfood.about.com/cs/breads/ht/self_rise_flour.htm They turned out super delicious--like little mini quiches. Tasted even better with hot sauce. My boyfriend loved them too. Overall, we were quite satisfied and will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

      These were delicious! I used about 2 cups of grated zucchini. I also added a 1/2 of a chopped jalapeno pepper for some kick and some salt to perk things up. They popped out of the mini muffin pan easily with a plastic knife. I didn't have to grease of flour them for the second batch. They took about 21 minutes to cook in my convection oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      These are very moist and delicious!! One problem I have, is the adjective "large" used with ZUCCHINI. lol So I weighed my veggies with the results of; zucchini 11.75 ounces/320 grams, carrot 4 ounces/115 grams, onion 5 ounces/145 grams. I think I could have baked these for another 5 minutes, since I made 15 regular size muffins. I do have leftover muffins, ONLY because I'm saving some back for my husband. I think I'll make these in bite size form, for next months wine tasting get together. I know they will be a hit. Made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      Absolutely fantastic! Light, fluffy and full of flavor. For the sake of clarifying recipe, here are some proportions and edits:<br/><br/>1 1/2 cups each of the grated zucchini & carrot <br/> (drain the zucchini after grating so mixture isn't too wet--cook mixture for 5 minutes)<br/>1 1/2 cups grated cheese (i used white cheddar)<br/>5 bacon slices, trim off some of the fat and mince bacon before cooking<br/>Add salt & pepper to egg mixture to taste<br/>1 tablespoon minced fresh dill<br/><br/>All other ingredients and measurements stayed the same.<br/>Cooked in a dark non-stick 2" mini muffin tray that was buttered and floured.<br/>325 degrees for 25 minutes<br/>Muffins popped right out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2012

      I couldn't leave these alone. They are so good. I made these for our dinner tonight and this is the dish I kept eating. I loved how the bacon flavored throughout the little muffin. We really liked these gems and I plan on repeating this recipe often......now where are my leftovers!?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      Dear Noo, this is actually 5 star, but I found it difficult (from across the pond) to guess how much veggies to use! We tend to use baby marrows (small zucchini, about 5" long). Still, the recipe made such a lovely side dish! I do get so tired of zucchini and carrots, and this was simple and great. I do suggest you edit the recipe for us fools, and rather put in an approximate weight for the carrots and onions. Also, 3/4 onion: how much is that? :lol:

      Noo, I want to alert you to something. The photo of this recipe was/is on the Home Page, which attracted me. I went to the recipe and printed it out. The print-out differed from your ingredients!!

      On my printout it says: "1 finely chopped onions", "3 slices rindless bacon", "1 large grated carrots", "1 large grated zucchini", and then it says "3 eggs" instead of your 2 eggs.

      It still worked a charm: I used muffin holes, and got 9 lovely golden muffins. Maybe you could also print it and check the ingredients on your print-out: must have something to do with the change-over to Food.com!

      Thanks for (for me) a new side dish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      I'm giving this 4 stars because 1, I think the directions should say to drain the carrot/zucchini mixture after cooking. 2, because I wasn't sure on your take on a lg zucchini vs mine. 3, the recipe says beat eggs, cream & cheese together, season to taste. I wasn't going to taste the raw egg mixture. I added some salt & pepper but once they were done I realized they needed more than I had added. Mine seemed a little "eggy" to me, maybe because of the size of the zucchini I used& I had to cook them for 30 min. I will be making this again, just need to tweek some things. Please don't take this as a negative review, I think it just needs some clarifying. Will be an easy on the go breakfast once I get it right for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2013

      I just had to try these...what with all the reviews...hubby loved them hot...I preferred them room temp...I used two eggs like other suggested and I did drain my veggie mixture...I had no problem getting them out of the pan...but I did need to cook them for a full 30 minutes...I also peeled my zucchini and wished that I didn't because I think it would have added a bit more color to the dish...overall a nice tasty dish that I'm glad I tried...thanks for posting it...=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      Absolutely love it. I've made it several times, once as an appetizer at a christmas party, it was a hit every time. Delicious and nutritious too. I suggest buying pre-shredded carrots or to use a food processor - it takes a lot of muscle to shred carrots with a grater! Also, you can substitute milk for the cream if you'd like to save calories (and money).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      These mini-quiches are delicious and deserve all these five-star reviews. I had to make half a batch, as I only had one muffin tin and did not have time to use the same tin twice. I halved all of the ingredients, and used one egg and egg white. I also used bacon fat instead of olive oil when sauteing the bacon & veggies, and topped each zucchini bite with a sliver of sliced bacon before putting them in the oven. The extra bacon and bacon fat really made these taste incredible and super-savory! These were the perfect breakfast bites for the road trip I went on... I just wish I had made more, as they're fairly tiny and got eaten quickly! [Made & Reviewed for PRMR]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      WOW: these really are every bit as delicious as everyone's been saying in the PRMR thread, and I'm just so delighted to have found a recipe that I can make for flavoursome and healthy on-the-run (i.e in-the-car) breakfasts and lunches, and that will also be great to make for morning teas at work, family gatherings, whatever.... I'm going to be making these often, and what I'm also really excited about is the scope for varying them slightly each time. On this occasion, I made them pretty much to the recipe, but added some garlic, rosemary and sage, and about a 1/4 of a cup of sunflower seeds (an ingredient I throw into lots of recipes). I'm planning to make my next batch with spinach (in place of the zucchini) and pinenuts. Thank you so much for sharing this already super-star recipe, Noo! Made for PRMR!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      My whole family LOVED these. Made them for a picnic in the mountains. Changed things a bit...substituted turkey bacon for the regular, used egg substitute and low-fat cheese. Made the mini size, but will make more in a regular muffin pan so my girls can have them for breakfast. Oh, instead of sauteeing the bacon and vegetables, I drizzled them all with the olive oil and softened them in the microwave. Just didn't feel like dirtying a fry pan, I guess, but it worked nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      After reading all the reviews, I made sure to use my best non-stick mini tart pan, and I greased it liberally. The muffins still stuck horribly. I've never had anything stick like that and I don't know why that seems to be a problem with this recipe. The taste was quite good so I will try this again, however I plan to use a glass 9X13 dish and then cut it into squares when it cools. At least that pan will be easier to clean than tiny muffin cups. Thanks for the recipe NOO!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      These are delicious!! I was looking for finger foods for a party and found the recipe. It wasn't something I would usually make but I decided to give it a try and I am glad I did, everyone thought they were mini quiches and they disappeared very quickly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      I read the recipe & reviews before making these tasty little gems; fresh out of the oven when the family arrived home for dinner & these were Woofed down in no time. I used silicone muffin trays & the recipe yielded 12. No sticking issues so it will be a favourite in our family. BTW, I only used 2 eggs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      This little bites are heavenly. I cooked the bacon first, then added the onion. After the onion wilted, I added the zucchini and carrot. I also added baking powder to all purpose flour instead of using self-rising flour. Next time I will probably add a pinch of cayenne pepper to give them just a little kick. These are my new "go to" appetizer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      The flavour is excellent, however:

      1) the texture is like quiche - it can be eaten out-of-hand at room temperature but not when it's still warm
      2) even on my very non-stick muffin tin these stuck - badly

      As I said, the flavour is terrific (I used chorizo btw). Next time I will add an extra egg and reduce the cream to 1/8 cup or possibly eliminate the cream altogether. I will also use muffin paper liners.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      Tasty little things! I made 1/3 of the recipe and made 12 mini muffins. I peeled the zucchini to hide the fact that it was in there! ;) The only change that I would do next time is add some salt and pepper. Made for PRMR. Thanks Noo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini Bites

    Serving Size: 1 (904 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 51.3
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    55%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 29.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 91.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rindless bacon

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites